Elvis Cole Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Elvis Cole (Series by Robert Crais) features in an investigative series of novels as the main character who probes into various investigative cases. The “Elvis Cole” series of books was authored by the American novelist and screenwriter Robert Crais. Elvis Cole first appears in Robert Crais’ 1987 novel titled ‘The Monkey’s Rain Coat.’ The series of stories are in the thriller and mystery genre. Elvis Cole is a Vietnam veteran with a wealth of skills in various types of martial arts, which form part of his daily routine. After his military career, Elvis settles on his passion for investigation as a full-time job. He serves as a private Holly Wood detective and works alongside Joe Pike a retired Marine and owner of a gun shop that also serves as muscle for hire.

Get notified when Robert Crais releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Elvis Cole & Joe Pike Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Monkey's Raincoat ( By: Robert Crais) 1987 Description / Buy
2 Stalking the Angel ( By: Robert Crais) 1989 Description / Buy
3 Lullaby Town ( By: Robert Crais) 1992 Description / Buy
4 Free Fall ( By: Robert Crais) 1993 Description / Buy
5 Voodoo River ( By: Robert Crais) 1995 Description / Buy
6 Sunset Express ( By: Robert Crais) 1996 Description / Buy
7 Indigo Slam ( By: Robert Crais) 1997 Description / Buy
8 L. A. Requiem (By: Robert Crais) 1999 Description / Buy
9 The Last Detective ( By: Robert Crais) 2003 Description / Buy
10 The Forgotten Man ( By: Robert Crais) 2005 Description / Buy
11 The Watchman ( By: Robert Crais) 2007 Description / Buy
12 Chasing Darkness ( By: Robert Crais) 2008 Description / Buy
13 The First Rule ( By: Robert Crais) 2010 Description / Buy
14 The Sentry ( By: Robert Crais) 2011 Description / Buy
15 Taken ( By: Robert Crais) 2012 Description / Buy
16 The Promise ( By: Robert Crais) 2015 Description / Buy
17 The Wanted ( By: Robert Crais) 2017 Description / Buy
18 A Dangerous Man ( By: Robert Crais) 2019 Description / Buy
19 Racing the Light (By: Robert Crais) 2022 Description / Buy
20 The BIg Empty (By: Robert Crais) 2025 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series of novels starts with ‘The Monkey’s Raincoat’ story in which Ellen Lang visits Elvis in his Disney-Deco office to report the disappearance of his young son and husband. Ellen’s case appears simple, but the whole story does not thrill him and Joe Pike. Elvis and Pike begin a search for the lost father and son in Hollywood, and the search leads them into the netherworld full of sex, murder, and drugs. The beginning of the search makes the turn of events interesting, but at the same time, the turn of events become ugly as the crooks and law enforcers declare war against Elvis and Ellen. The story continues with a mix of thrill and mystery as Robert Crais weaves an investigative piece that earned him the 1988 Macavity and Anthony awards.

Elvis Cole Awards:

The Elvis Cole (Series by Robert Crais) books have already gotten some awards. The first novel -‘The Monkey’s Raincoat’- was nominated for the Shamus, Edgar, Macavity, and Anthony Awards, but it only won the Anthony and Macavity Awards. Apart from these four awards, the series of novels has also been nominated for other awards including the Dilly’s, Audie, Barry, Gumshoe, and the International Thriller Writers awards. Some books in the series have won some of these awards with the ‘L.A Requiem’ winning the Dilly’s Award and ‘The Watchman’ winning the Barry and Gumshoe Awards. Robert’s work on the Elvis Cole series and other novels has also won him the 2006 Ross MacDonald Literary Award and the 2014 Grand Master Award from the Mystery Writers’ Association of America.

Elvis Cole Books Into Movies:

Some novels in the Elvis Cole series have been adapted for the big screen. For example, the “Option’ City Baby” is a film adaptation derived from the first novel in the series – ‘The Monkey’s Raincoat,’ in 1991. The film stars Sam Elliot and Kurt Russell as Joe Pike and Elvis Cole.The novel ‘Hostage’ by Robert Crais was also adapted into a movie titled ‘Hostage’ in 2005 although that did not feature Elvis Cole but was a standalone novel.

Best Elvis Cole Books:

The Monkey’s Raincoat, which is the first novel in the Elvis Cole series is one of the best books and multiple award nominee and winner. The story won the Macavity and Anthony Awards, and it was also nominated for the Shamus and Edgar Award. The novel plays a significant role in bringing Elvis Cole and Joe Pike to the light, and it was a good starter for Robert Crais’ career launch. ‘The L.A Requiem’ and ‘The Watchman’ are also some of the best novels the series. Both books got four nominations for awards. The ‘L.A Requiem’ won the Dilly’s Award and got three nominations for the Edgar, Anthony, and Shamus Awards. On the other hand, ‘The Watchman’ won the Barry and Gumshoe Awards while also getting nominated for the Anthony and International Thriller Writers’ Awards.

Other Book Series You May Like:

Apart from the Elvis Cole series by Robert Crais, Robert has also written other interesting stories that have also won various awards. Other books by Robert include ‘Demolition,”Suspect,’ ‘Hostage,’ and ‘The Two-Minute Rule.’ Readers thrilled by the Elvis Cole series may also find the “Jack Reacher” series an equally fulfilling read. This set of novels authored by Lee Child is also investigative thrillers featuring an ex-military police with a background that is similar to Elvis Cole. The series is akin to the Elvis Cole series, and the two series share the same genre, and they are both equally thrilling. As such, readers of the Elvis Cole series are highly likely to enjoy reading the “Jack Reacher” series.

What Is The Next Book in The Elvis Cole & Joe Pike Series?

The next book in the The Elvis Cole & Joe Pike Series by Robert Crais is The BIg Empty and will be released on January, 14th 2025.


1 thought on “Elvis Cole”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *