Joe Pike Books

Having being featured often as a character in thrilling novels by Robert Crais, Joe Pike has become a celebrated icon by Crais’s fans. Initially Crais had no aim of making a sidekick and had planned to murder Pike off in that first trip. Pike, in any case, ended up being to a great degree difficult to eliminate in Crais’s series ; an act which would have left many of Pike’s fans utterly dissapointed. Acting as the solid quiet accomplice of Robert Crais’ Elvis Cole, Pike in 2007 took a more central and overwhelming role in The Watchman, a novel that unintentionally denoted the twentieth commemoration of The Monkey’s Raincoat, the novel which presented both Cole and Pike.

Order of Joe Pike Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Watchman 2007 Description / Buy
2 The First Rule 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Sentry 2011 Description / Buy
4 Taken 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Promise 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

All things considered, Crais has managed to put together a Cole that is bounty intense however basically a friendly kindred who together with Pike a complex, quiet and distanced warrior work tirelessly to fight the enemy. In the greater part of the books, Pike’s primary part has been to watch Cole’s back.

If there is anybody that can smoothly juggle this constantly extending cast, it’s Crais. Before swinging into novels, Crais composed for TV, most strikingly for character-driven shows as Hill Street Blues for which he got an Emmy award-nomination, Cagney and Lacey, Miami Vice, and not forgetting the famous “Equalizer”.

Although there are three books that have Pike as the principle character: ‘The Watchman’, ‘The First Rule’ and ‘The Sentry’; Robert Crais has a decent series that elements LA private investigator Elvis Cole where Pike is Cole’s accomplice.


The Joe Pike and Elvis Cole series of novels has won numerous recompenses and awards. As such, the Elvis Cole –Joe Pike series has as of now grabbed an Edgar, a Macavity, a Shamus, an Anthony and the 2006 Ross Macdonald Award which is offered to the California novelist whose work raises the standard of abstract brilliance.


There have been no Joe Pike books that have been turned into movies just yet.


Important to note, Crais sees every one of his books as a component of “one major series.”

In The Watchman, Elvis is still recuperating from wounds maintained in The Forgotten Man, takes a rearward sitting, permitting Pike to become the overwhelming focus. In order to repay an old debt obligation, Pike is pressured into securing Larkin Barkley, a youthful heiress whose life is in risk after she finds herself in the wrong company that rapidly heightens and turns wild. The adversary is shadowy, savage and tenacious—yet furious Pike, one of the most grounded characters in crime fiction, is fit for the test.

In another of Joe Pike’s book “The First Rule” we see him on his usual enemy hunting spree: to demonstrate his companion’s innocence, and to rebuff those who killed him. This happens immediately after Frank Meyer and his family are executed in their home, and the police start examining the mystery life they’re certain Meyer had. What begins as a straightforward trail gets contorted quickly by repressed hostilities, deceives, blood retribution, and a wrongdoing so repulsive even Pike and his accomplice Elvis Cole have no real way to gauge it.

In the latest book “Taken” Crais yet again has given his fans a fast-paced, action-packed thriller! Cole brings in Joe Pike and Jon Stone to get Krista Morales back when she goes missing! Things get more serious when Cole when human traffickers are involved in the kidnapping. Nothing stops the three from getting her back!


The character that numerous Joe Pike fans find most like Joe Pike is “Jack Reacher“. It is one of the series you will love on the off chance that you’ve been searching for another mystery-crime fiction read similar to that of Robert Crais. Also, there are two or three scholars of crime series whose style of composing isn’t far from Crais’s and you will discover most Joe Pike’s fans perusing their series. This includes James Lee Burke, James Patterson , and Harlan Cobin. Ultimately, it would be unreasonable not to mention Stephen J Cannell‘s “Shane Scully” series, which is a recommendable read for all Joe Pike’s fans as it would fit most Crais’ fans criteria pleasantly.

What Is The Next Book in The Joe Pike Series ?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Joe Pike Series . The newest book is The Promise and was released on November, 10th 2015.