David Rosenfelt Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

David Rosenfelt is an American author with 19 novels and three movies to his name. He was born in Paterson, New Jersey, where he had a normal upbringing, before he proceeded to New York University (NYU). After graduating from NYU, he went on to pursue a career in the movie business after performing brilliantly in an interview conducted by his uncle – a then president of United Artists. He would eventually rise up the corporate ladder to become President of Marketing at Tri-Star pictures, before leaving to pursue a career in writing screenplays for television and movies.

Order of Andy Carpenter Series

1Open and Shut 2002Description / Buy
2First Degree 2003Description / Buy
3Bury the Lead 2004Description / Buy
4Sudden Death 2005Description / Buy
5Dead Center 2006Description / Buy
6Play Dead 2007Description / Buy
7New Tricks 2009Description / Buy
8Dog Tags 2010Description / Buy
9One Dog Night 2011Description / Buy
10Leader of the Pack 2012Description / Buy
11Unleashed 2013Description / Buy
12Hounded 2014Description / Buy
13Who Let the Dog Out? 2015Description / Buy
14Outfoxed 2016Description / Buy
15The Twelve Dogs of Christmas 2016Description / Buy
16Collared 2017Description / Buy
17Rescued 2018Description / Buy
18Deck the Hounds 2018Description / Buy
19Bark of Night 2019Description / Buy
20Dachshund Through the Snow 2019Description / Buy
21Muzzled 2020Description / Buy
22Silent Bite 2020Description / Buy
23Dog Eat Dog 2021Description / Buy
24Best in Snow 2021Description / Buy

Order of Doug Brock Series

1Blackout 2015Description / Buy
2Fade to Black 2018Description / Buy
3Black and Blue 2019Description / Buy

Order of The K Team Series

1The K Team 2020Description / Buy
2Animal Instinct 2021Description / Buy
3Citizen K-9 2022Description / Buy

Order of David Rosenfelt Standalone Novels

1Don't Tell a Soul 2008Description / Buy
2Down to the Wire 2010Description / Buy
3On Borrowed Time 2011Description / Buy
4Heart of a Killer 2012Description / Buy
5Airtight 2012Description / Buy
6Without Warning 2014Description / Buy

Order of David Rosenfelt Non-Fiction Novels

1Dogtripping: 25 Rescues, 11 Volunteers, and 3 RVs on Our Canine Cross-Country Adventure 2013Description / Buy
2The Puppy Express 2014Description / Buy
3Lessons from Tara 2015Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

David Rosenfelt eventually gravitated towards the writing of novels where he has become a roaring success. He is most famous for the Andy Carpenter series of books that has 14 titles. The first book in the series was Open and Shut published in 2002, followed by 13 titles released every year up to 2015. With 19 books, the Andy Carpenter series is one of the most popular novels in the mystery genre.


David Rosenfelt books have been finalists and winners of many awards throughout his career. The first book – Open and Shut was a finalist for the Shamus Award for Best First Novel, the Nero Award, and the Edgar Award for Best First Novel. The 2005 novel Sudden Death was a finalist for the Barry Award for Best Novel. His 2014 release Hounded was the winner of the Shamus Award for Best Novel.


None of Rosenfelts books have been made into movies or for television as of yet. However David has written 3 TV movies which are To Live, Honor and Deceive, Deadlocked and Deadly Isolation.


Three of the most popular mystery books by David Rosenfelt in the Andy Carpenter series are:

Open and Shut: The first novel of the series, this mystery narrative is a page-turner that every David Rosenfelt fan needs to read. Whether it is dueling with the local old boy’s network or the forensics department, Andy Carpenter is never at a loss for how to get the upper hand. Andy prefers to hang out with his golden retriever Tara over human companions and colleagues, as he believes the dog has more smarts than half the attorneys in the county courts. However, his idyllic life is interrupted when a legendary ex-New Jersey D.A. dies in front of his eyes at a game. It gets worse when he finds out his father has left him a mysterious $22 million inheritance. With a racial murder linked to political infighting threatening to tear apart City Hall, he must serve justice to the killers while trying to decipher a family secret that could make him a target. The book is an excellent thriller that was rightly nominated for the Shamus and Edgar Award for Best First Novel in 2003.

The Twelve Dogs of Christmas: The 15th book of the series portrays Andy, the defense lawyer that does not like taking any new cases, having to, even eager to take up this particular case. He feels the need to help his longtime friend Martha Pups, who has just been reported to City Hall for having more than the legal number of dogs according to local regulations. While Andy feels confident that he can win the case easily, things take a turn for the worse when Randy Hennessey the man who filed the complaint against his client suddenly turns up dead. All the evidence seems to indicate that Pups is Hennessey’s killer, having publicly and loudly threatened her neighbor. It does not help that she is also the one that found the body. While he believes his friend Martha is innocent, he now has to find the killer that he soon discovers may be more ruthless than he ever imagined. Employing his trademark ingenious plot lines, larger than life characters, and wit, David Rosenfelt churns out yet another classic mystery.

New Tricks: In the seventh book of the series, Andy Carpenter gives a cute Bernese puppy a home after its owner becomes the victim of a violent murder. His affection for dogs is legendary, and he will do all in his power to ensure that the Bernese is well taken care of. He soon finds that several people want his new pup, and would not hesitate to resort to violence to take him off his hands. His usual courtroom maneuvers would not be enough to save the dog this time. He soon finds out that everything he holds dear including his long-term girlfriend Laurie and Tara his golden retriever are in danger. It will take all his wit and the help of Tara if he is to get out of this one.

When Does The Next David Rosenfelt book come out?

The next book by David Rosenfelt is Best in Snow and will be released on October, 19th 2021. It is the newest book in the Andy Carpenter Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *