Heroes of Olympus Books

The Heroes of Olympus is a series of novels that are a sequel to the Olympians and Percy Jackson series of novels by American author Rick Riordan. The series of novels is a combination of fantasy and mythological elements that make for some of the most entertaining mish mash of urban fantasy and science fiction narratives.

Order of The Heroes of Olympus Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Lost Hero 2010 Description / Buy
2 The Son of Neptune 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Son of Neptune 2011 Description / Buy
4 The Mark of Athena 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Demigod Diaries 2012 Description / Buy
6 The Mark of Athena 2012 Description / Buy
7 The House of Hades 2013 Description / Buy
8 The Blood of Olympus 2014 Description / Buy
9 The Blood of Olympus 2014 Description / Buy
10 The Heroes of Olympus Paperback Boxed Set 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of The Heroes of Olympus: The Graphic Novels Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Lost Hero 2014 Description / Buy
2 The Son of Neptune 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The novels are made up of narratives that describe the conflict between Roman and Greek demigods and the earth goddess, Gaea. The novels have many Roman mythological elements in addition to several characters not found in the previous series. “The Lost Hero”, the first novel in the series was published in 2010 before the author went on to publish four more titles culminating in “The Blood of Olympus” in 2014.

The first novel introduces Leo Valdz, Piper McLean, and Jason Grace, three newly forged demigods that are on the way to Camp Half Blood. They are responding to a prophecy and go on a quest to prevent Porphyrion the giant king prophesied from being reborn, and while at it rescue Pipers father that had been taken by Enceladus, a vicious giant.

Throughout the course of the novel, Jason who had developed a serious case of amnesia begins to remember scraps from his past. One of the most important things he remembers is that his home is Camp Jupiter, a Roman camp for demigods. What follows is an amazing story as demigod camps are engaged in a vicious struggle for power led by some of their most preeminent members. It is a great story demonstrating the author’s exceptional skills that have won the series several prestigious awards over the years.


The Lost Hero was the winner of the 2010 Best Book awards by Barnes and Noble, and winner of the Massachusetts 2014 Children’s Book Award. After the first novel achieved much success, Rick Riordan won the 2011 Children’s Choice Awards Author of the Year. The book was also an ALA Best Young Adult Fiction 2012.


The Lost Hero: The award-winning first novel in the Olympus series is generally regarded as one of series’s best novels. The book has sold over 2.5 million copies since it was first published, and is available in eBook, audio book, and hardcover format. The novel was also adapted and illustrated into a graphic format by Orpheus Collar.

The Mark of Athena: The third novel is one of the most loved in the Best Heroes of Olympus series. After the ship nicknamed the Argo II burns down while parked on Camp Jupiter, Leo Valdez, Piper McLean, Jason Grace, Frank Zhang, hazel Levesque, Annabeth Chase, and Percy Jackson that are the seven demigods of the Prophecy leave in a huff, running away from the enraged Romans.

They head for Rome looking for a magical talisman known as the Mark of Athena, which is supposed to lead Athena’s children to the missing Parthenon. In the course of their journey, word filters out to them of one of their friends that has been taken captive necessitating a rescue mission. While they successfully rescue their friend, their ordeal is just starting as more of the seven are entangled in a web of conspiracy that sees some of them captured.

The House of Hades: This is another excellent work in the series that opens to the seven demigods traveling towards the only exit to the mortal world, named the Doors of Death. Annabeth Chase, and Percy Jackson seek the assistance of Bob the Titan, who helps them escape while stopping some hairy monsters from invading their world through the opened portal.

Meanwhile, their friends in the mortal world are engaged in a search for the mortal entrance to the Doors, so that they can help their friends get through. They are introduced to several more demigods including Coach Hedge, Nico di Angelo, and Reyna Avila Ramirez-Arellano. Once they reunite with their fellow demigods, they head out to the Athenian Parthenon from where they will sail to war against Gaea.


Many of the fans of the Heroes of Olympus series of novels recommend the “Seven Wonders” series of novels by Peter Lerangis. The novels are science and fantasy fiction novels about a group of boys that get to go on adventures to the seven ancient wonders of the world.

Most fans of the Heroes of Olympus series also love the “Ascendance Trilogy” series of novels by Jennifer A. Nielsen. The series of novels follows the intrigues of succession and survival in a kingdom faced with both internal and external enemies.

What Is The Next Book in The Heroes Of Olympus Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Heroes Of Olympus Series. The newest book is The Heroes of Olympus Paperback Boxed Set and was released on December, 2nd 2015.