Carol K. Carr Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Carol K. Carr is American novelist who specializes in Historical Fiction, Mystery and Thriller genres. She quit her career as a corporate executive and a lawyer and turned into writing. Carr lives in Missouri Ozarks with her handsome husband and two German shepherds.

Get notified when Carol K Carr releases a new book at

Order of Madam of Espionage Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 India Black 2010 Description / Buy
2 India Black and the Widow of Windsor 2011 Description / Buy
3 India Black and the Rajah's Ruby (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
4 India Black and the Shadows of Anarchy 2013 Description / Buy
5 India Black in the City of Light (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
6 India Black and the Gentleman Thief 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Carol K. Carr is popularly known for writing Madam of Espionage series. The series began its publication in 2010 after the debut novel India Black was published. India Black and the Widow of Windsor is the second book in the series published in 2011 while India Black and the Shadow of Anarchy was released in 2013.

Perhaps Carr’s greatest contribution to the world is her character India Black who stars in her books. Black is cynical, jaded, snarky, and never fails to say exactly what is on her mind. India grew up on the streets of London and has no illusions about the way that the world works, she sees it plainly as it is and this makes her a very strong and capable woman. She’s not some damsel in distress and Carr herself has said that any man who think he’s going to capture her heart should bring a hammer and chisel.


The bestseller author, Carol K. Carr has won and been nominated for various awards. For instance, India Black and the Widow of Windsor appeared in 2011 Library Journal starred review. Subsequently, India Black and the Gentleman Thief was a top pick for the 2014 RT Book Reviews.


These are some of the best books by the award-winning author.

India Black: This is the first book in the series and the book that introduces us to the Madam of Espionage. In 1876 London, India Black is running a brothel in London that caters to gentleman. Everything is going well until a patron turns up dead. She hopes to discard of the corpse to preserve his business’s reputation, but the shadowy Mr. French offers to take care of it in exchange for a favor.

The favor involves India going undercover for the prime minister. The corpse in her brothel turned out to be Sir Archibald Latham who had some important documents regarding a potential war with the Russians in the Balkans. India’s job is to recover Latham’s documents and keep them from falling into the wrong hands. A great introduction to the powerful character and start to the series.

India Black and the Widow of Windsor: When Queen Victoria attends a meeting that aims at making contact with the dead people, the spirit of her late husband, Prince Albert, insists that she spend her Christmas holiday at their home in Balmoral. The prime minister has his suspicions that the Scottish nationalist could be staging a plan to assassinate the queen and thus he sends the handsome British spy and the resourceful India to the Scottish Highland to investigate.

The India takes the low road, disguising himself as a servant to catch the assassin in case he is among the servants while the French take the high road looking searching for the traitor in case he is amongst the guests. India is confident that someone is determined to making the Queen visit to Balmoral her last visit for the Christmas.

When someone tries to poison the queens chocolate drink and another incident in the stable that proves an assassination attempt India and French must collaborate and work double to find the person behind the attacks.

India Black & the Widow of Windsor is an entertaining novel, for instance, India is such an incredible character especially during these Victorian times. In the debut novel of the series, she worked as a prostitute, but now she is a madam who owns her brother. in the first book, India encountered French for the first time while trying to help in an investigation of the crown.

Now whenever French needs help, he calls upon our heroine since he believes that she can infiltrate the servant’s ranks with much ease than he can. India is thus a fearless, brave woman even though at first she had a petite idea of how to be a maid.

Another great aspect of this novel is the setting; the book is set in Scotland during the winter season in a stone castle. Carol K. Carr makes a vivid description of every aspect of the castle thus making the scene lively.

If you love novel spiced with some humor, then India Black series is a perfect selection to add to your bookshelf, for instance in this novel humor is emphasized especially when India is serving while playing her role as a spy.

India Black and the Shadows of Anarchy: It is the third book in Madam of Espionage series. It is in Victorian London, India Black feels that she has got all that is required to run a brothel – she is beautiful, witty and got the ability to tell a lie with a smile and luckily for her, all these attributes also qualify her to be a spy.

India Black, a full-time brothel owner, and a part-time secret agent is suspicious when one of the Disraeli’s men informs her to meet with the prime minister and alone. Even though the handsome spy French has organized all past meetings, today it has been decided that this be a mission that she must attempt on her own.

Rebellion has rapidly spread across the Europe to the shores of England- and insurgents have begun assassinating earls and Lord one by one. Now it is India’s duty to infiltrate these groups responsible for the attacks and stop their evil plot. To ensure her mission is complete, India’s investigations will see her roam the murkiest slums in London to the elite levels of the society uncovering hidden secrets that not only threat the country but her existence as well.

When Does The Next Carol K Carr book come out?

Carol K Carr doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is India Black and the Gentleman Thief and was released on February, 4th 2014. It is the newest book in the Madam of Espionage Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *