Carol O’Connell Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Carol O’Connell born in New York on May 26, 1947, is an American crime fiction author with a large number of serialized crime books to her name, the first of which she wrote in 1994.

She has attended the Arizona State University and the prestigious California Institute of Arts/Chouinard. She currently lives in New York City.

Carol O’Connell is best known for her crime mystery books that are centered on the character of Kathleen Mallory. The first book in the series is Mallory’s Oracle, which is followed by eleven other titles that have been wildly successful. The Kathleen Mallory series have been some of the most in demand of crime fiction books around the world, selling tens of thousands of books to fans who just cannot get enough of the books. The series was also successfully auctioned in Europe.

Get notified when Carol O'Connell releases a new book at

Order of Kathleen Mallory Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Mallory's Oracle 1994 Description / Buy
2 The Man Who Lied to Women / The Man Who Cast Two Shadows 1995 Description / Buy
3 Killing Critics 1995 Description / Buy
4 Flight of the Stone Angel 1997 Description / Buy
5 Shell Game 1999 Description / Buy
6 Crime School 2002 Description / Buy
7 The Jury Must Die / Dead Famous 2003 Description / Buy
8 Winter House 2004 Description / Buy
9 Find Me / Shark Music 2006 Description / Buy
10 The Chalk Girl 2011 Description / Buy
11 It Happens in the Dark 2013 Description / Buy
12 Blind Sight 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Carol O'Connell Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Judas Child 1998 Description / Buy
2 Bone By Bone 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Mysterious Profiles Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Elvis Cole and Joe Pike ( By: Robert Crais) 2022 Description / Buy
2 Jack Taylor ( By: Ken Bruen) 2022 Description / Buy
3 Jack Reacher ( By: Lee Child) 2022 Description / Buy
4 Charlie Parker ( By: John Connolly) 2022 Description / Buy
5 Hieronymus Bosch ( By: Michael Connelly) 2022 Description / Buy
6 Lincoln Rhyme ( By: Jeffery Deaver) 2022 Description / Buy
7 Alex Delaware ( By: Jonathan Kellerman) 2022 Description / Buy
8 Tess Monaghan ( By: Laura Lippman) 2022 Description / Buy
9 Charlie Resnick ( By: John Harvey) 2022 Description / Buy
10 Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2022 Description / Buy
11 Inspector Morse ( By: Colin Dexter) 2022 Description / Buy
12 Dismas Hardy ( By: John Lescroart) 2022 Description / Buy
13 Bob Lee Swagger ( By: Stephen Hunter) 2022 Description / Buy
14 Aloysius X. L. Pendergast ( By: Douglas Preston) 2022 Description / Buy
15 Lou Boldt (Short Story) ( By: Ridley Pearson) 2022 Description / Buy
16 Spenser ( By: Robert B. Parker) 2022 Description / Buy
17 Charlotte and Thomas Pitt ( By: Anne Perry) 2022 Description / Buy
18 John Rebus ( By: Ian Rankin) 2022 Description / Buy
19 Mallory 2022 Description / Buy
20 Jane Whitefield (Short Story) ( By: Thomas Perry) 2022 Description / Buy
21 Ian Rutledge: A Mysterious Profile (Short Story) ( By: Charles Todd) 2022 Description / Buy
22 Amos Walker (Short Story) ( By: Loren D. Estleman) 2022 Description / Buy
23 Precious Ramotswe (Short Story) ( By: Alexander McCall Smith) 2022 Description / Buy
24 Maisie Dobbs (Short Story) ( By: Jacqueline Winspear) 2022 Description / Buy
25 The Lincoln Lawyer (Short Story) ( By: Michael Connelly) 2022 Description / Buy
26 Ben Kincaid (Short Story) ( By: William Bernhardt) 2023 Description / Buy
27 Repairman Jack (Short Story) ( By: F. Paul Wilson) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF


While Carol O’Connell is yet to win any awards, she boasts an impressive collection of prestigious nominations. Such nominations include the Edgar Award for Best First Novel by an American author for her very first book, Mallory’s Oracle, and the Barry Award for Best Novel for the same title.


Three of Carol O’Connell’s most critically acclaimed and popular books in the Kathleen Mallory series are her very first book Mallory’s Oracle, her twelfth Blind Sight, and her fourth Stone Angel.

Mallory’s Oracle: The novel announced the entry of Carol O’Connell as one of the top crime fiction writers in the United States. The book was praised as a “charming suspense debut with an enthralling hero” by Ellen Datlow, the editor of Sci Fiction and Omni Magazine. The protagonist Kathleen Mallory is a stunningly beautiful and blonde-haired police officer with immense computer and street smarts masking an amoral interior. After Louis, her adoptive parent is murdered while investigating a series of brutal murders in Gramercy Park; Kathleen decides to find the killer. Without police sanction, she ties to piece together the little information that Louis had gathered before being killed. During her investigation, she comes upon a complicated web of insider trading, séances, and magic that she has to maneuver through. This was such a gripping read that it rightly was nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel by an American author and the Barry Award for Best Novel.

Blind Sight: In her twelfth Kathleen Mallory fiction novel, O’Connell depicts a very realistic and original story. Kathleen Mallory is still the archetypal prickly, scary, tough female detective. The story has a Catholic nun and a blind child who are walking down a busy street disappear without a trace leaving behind the cane. This is followed by the discovery of four bodies the freshest of which is that of Catholic Sister Michael, on the grounds of the mayor’s residence. Kathy Mallory gets down working trying to unravel the mystery of where Jonah Quill could be. This is where O’Connell really shines as she offers a refreshing insight into how the blind see their world as seen through the eyes of the captive boy. While the liars are plentiful and the clues few and far between Mallory stubbornly persists with the case until she starts weaving the lies into a pattern. Blind Sight is a brilliantly written book with a good plot and is definitely one of the best crime fiction books of the series.

Stone Angel: Her fourth book is written in that free spirited evocative manner we all like about O’Connell. In this novel, Sergeant Kathleen Mallory goes back to her Louisiana hometown as the central character in an intriguing mystery tale. A young stranger comes to town at about noon and within the hour she is the victim of assault, and has broken, and bloodied hands. On the other side of the city, Babe Laurie is discovered murdered while Deputy Travis dies the victim of a stroke in his patrol car. The young stranger now sitting in the town’s jail cell is none other than Kathleen Mallory. Having traveled to Dayborn Louisiana as a civilian, she seeks personal revenge for a brutal unspeakable act that happened to her 17 years earlier, changing her life forever. She is, at last, seeking justice and closure and trying to understand the circumstances and mystery behind her mother’s death at the hands of irate villagers. Her investigations through the dangerous creepy layers 17 years deep make for a thrilling read that will have the reader eager to know what happens next.

When Does The Next Carol O'Connell book come out?

Carol O'Connell doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Mallory and was released on May, 28th 2022. It is the newest book in the Mysterious Profiles Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *