Kathleen Mallory Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Kathleen Mallory is the main character in the series of Kathleen Mallory novels by Carol O’Connell. The first novel in the series, Mallory’s Oracle, was published in 1994. The author’s genre is crime fiction, with twelve books on crime published from 1994 to 2016 that centers around the character of NYPD Sergeant Kathleen Mallory.

Get notified when Carol O'Connell releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Kathleen Mallory Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Mallory's Oracle ( By: Carol O'Connell) 1994 Description / Buy
2 The Man Who Lied to Women / The Man Who Cast Two Shadows ( By: Carol O'Connell) 1995 Description / Buy
3 Killing Critics ( By: Carol O'Connell) 1995 Description / Buy
4 Flight of the Stone Angel ( By: Carol O'Connell) 1997 Description / Buy
5 Shell Game ( By: Carol O'Connell) 1999 Description / Buy
6 Crime School ( By: Carol O'Connell) 2002 Description / Buy
7 The Jury Must Die / Dead Famous ( By: Carol O'Connell) 2003 Description / Buy
8 Winter House ( By: Carol O'Connell) 2004 Description / Buy
9 Find Me / Shark Music ( By: Carol O'Connell) 2006 Description / Buy
10 The Chalk Girl ( By: Carol O'Connell) 2011 Description / Buy
11 It Happens in the Dark ( By: Carol O'Connell) 2013 Description / Buy
12 Blind Sight ( By: Carol O'Connell) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Kathleen Mallory was an extraordinary wild child, who lost her parents when she was still a little girl. She was eventually adopted by a policeman and his wife a few years later. She turned into a New York police woman in the NYPD’s Crimes Division with a rank of sergeant. The book series began with Mallory going the rounds of the city streets with her ferocious sense of valor and pride. It is about cases of relentless murders and a police woman’s obsession to solve the mysteries behind them.

The first book entitled, Mallory’s Oracle, began when Sgt. Mallory finds her adoptive father stabbed to death next to a dead woman who was a rich resident of the area.The deaths were presumed to be attributed to the other murders that her late father was investigating. With him gone, it now became a Mallory’s case to solve.

Prowling the inner streets and sifting through tons of materials for clues, she came across former friends and foes of Markowitz, her adoptive father, as she tracks them down in the netherworld. This was a different world peopled by characters in the underworld. It is a place where a murderer lurks in the shadows, waiting for his next victim to fall into his trap.


The first book in the series of Kathleen Mallory novels, the Mallory’s Oracle, was nominated for Best Books Awards by Dily’s and the First Best Novel by the Edgar Award in 1995.


When the author was asked recently about her books being made into films or television series, O’Connel said that she gives her publisher, Putnam, the right to deal with an agent in Los Angeles – who makes them go away. It is obvious that the author does not mind if none of her work shows up in either large or small screen.


The first book, Mallory’s Oracle, being a nominee for Best Book Awards by Dily’s and First Best Novel Award by Edgar is considered as one of the best books in the Kathleen Mallory series.

Among the most highly rated in the series of twelve books are: Stone Angel (1997) and Find Me (2006). The 2nd book that came after Mallory’s Oracle is another highly rated book. It starts with NYPD Sergeant Mallory finding a dead woman with a label on her neck that reads “Kathleen Mallory.”

Stone Angel: Stone Angel is a story about Mallory on the road to a small town in Louisiana to find out about the mysterious death of her mother who was stoned to death by villagers several years ago. She had to sift through the murky incidents of the past to find the answer and eventual closure.

Find Me: Find Me is another story where Mallory found a mutilated body lying on the ground with his hand pointing towards Adams Street, a known road for many deaths. A caravan of silent vehicles often drives around the road, carrying photographs of their missing children who have disappeared decades ago. There was word that grave sites were being found along the area.


Book lovers who read the Kathleen Mallory series by Cathy O’Connor would most likely read about the adventures of “Chase William of Scotland Yard”. These are novels by Stefania Mattana who writes about crime novels and detective stories. These are a compilation of six detective short stories on how Chase Williams dealt with seemingly minor offenses that baffled everyone. These include – strange occurrences, unorthodox neighborhood, special mission to China, teenagers roaming around – that were in reality scenes of nasty crimes.

Another character in a book series about crimes is LAPD homicide detective “Harry Bosch” by book author Michael Connely. The book series begin when the homicide detective found body in a drainpipe body of somebody he knew – a fellow Vietnam veteran who fought alongside him in the hellish underground war. It is an agonizing choice between justice and vengeance for his dead pal.

What Is The Next Book in The Kathleen Mallory Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Kathleen Mallory Series. The newest book is Blind Sight and was released on September, 20th 2016.


1 thought on “Kathleen Mallory”

  1. Carol O’Connell is a really good author, but Kathleen Mallory is a really great series. All of the books in this series are hard to put down, JUST ONE MORE CHAPTER BEFORE BED, kinda books. The thing I really like about them is that you often will be reading them, thinking you know what’s going to happen, but are also afraid that what you think/hope will happen might not happen. I hope that makes sense. Read these books and you’ll understand what I mean.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *