Chelsea Cain Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

When we look at some of the impressive authors who have been able to create an impression in the minds of readers there is no doubt that Chelsea Cain is a name which comes to our mind.

Get notified when Chelsea Cain releases a new book at

Order of Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Heartsick 2007 Description / Buy
2 Sweetheart 2008 Description / Buy
3 Evil At Heart 2009 Description / Buy
4 The Night Season 2011 Description / Buy
5 Kill You Twice 2012 Description / Buy
6 Let Me Go 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Kick Lannigan Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 One Kick / Gone 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Mockingbird Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Mockingbird Vol. 1: I Can Explain 2016 Description / Buy
2 Mockingbird Vol. 2: My Feminist Agenda 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Man-Eaters Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Man-Eaters, Volume 1 2019 Description / Buy
2 Man-Eaters, Volume 2 (Short Story) 2019 Description / Buy
3 Man-Eaters, Volume 3 (Short Story) 2019 Description / Buy
4 Man-Eaters, Vol. 4: The Cursed 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Chelsea Cain Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Confessions of a Teen Sleuth 2005 Description / Buy

Order of Chelsea Cain Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dharma Girl 1996 Description / Buy
2 Wild Child 1999 Description / Buy
3 The Hippie Handbook 2004 Description / Buy
4 Does This Cape Make Me Look Fat? 2006 Description / Buy

Chelsea Cain Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Monster's Corner 2011 Description / Buy
2 21st Century Dead 2012 Description / Buy
3 Chewing the Page: The Mourning Goats Interviews 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Cain is a popular author who has quite a few memorable books to her credit and many of them have won critical acclaim. She is 44 years old and was born on February 5, 1972 in Iowa City. She has a special upbringing in the sense that she spent a significant part of her childhood in a hippie commune. In fact a part of her life was spent underground mainly because her father was not keen on being a part of the mandatory Vietnam Military Draft Service. She did her schooling in Bellingham and completed her political science from the University Of California. Her first writing experience was for the New University newspaper and donned the role of an opinion editor. She also completed journalism from the University of Iowa and wrote a column in a weekly column for The Daily Iowan.

She is married to Marc Mohan who is a video store owner and he also is reviewer of films for The Oregonian. She has a daughter by name Eliza.

The thesis she presented at the University of Iowa was her first book and it came to be known as Dharma Girl. It is a book which delves on her past and talks about her early childhood in the hippie commune. One of her professors was impressed with the thesis and he took the trouble of presenting it to many of editors for their critical feedback. One publisher Seal Press was impressed and they picked her thesis for publication. Thus started her as an accomplished author. She was 24 years old then and the past 18 years has been quite eventful for Chelsea Cain to say the least.

Chelsea Cain had a run writing for Marvel Comics as well as she wrote the first solo series about the character Mockingbird. The series was praised for it’s excellent portrayal of an actual adult woman and being extremely well-written. The series was known for it’s comedy and puzzle style story telling that rewarded revisits from readers. The character of Mockinbird was portrayed as a strong feminist as her character who worked as a scientist and SHIELD agent would likely be in the real world.

However, during her time as writer Chelsea was routinely harassed on the social media site Twitter because of Mockinbird’s feminism. The harassment got so bad that Cain deleted her Twitter account for a period, but she is now back on the platform.

Chelsea has recently begun work on a new series based on the character Kick Lannigan. The series has been praised as extremely intelligent and suspenseful, and feels like a natural progression for Cain as a writer. One Kick was the first in the series followed by Kick Back, but due to a change of publishers that book may never see the light of day. Cain is working on a new series at her new publisher, Putnam.

Chelsea Cain Awards

She has won quite a few awards and some of them are well and truly prestigious and worth remembering.. Again Sweetheart as well as Heartsick was named the 6th best books of the year 2006 by none other than Stephen King at Entertainment Weekly. The fact that New York Times picked her books Confessions of a Teen Sleuth and Heartsick as books of editor’s choice is certainly a big feather in her cap.

Chelsea Cain Books Into Movie/TV:

None of Chelsea Cains novels have been made into movies or television. Heartsick was initially looking like it would be made for TV back in 2013 but that unfortunately didn’t happen.

Best Chelsea Cain Books:

In 2004 she wrote her first thriller by the name Heartsick and after being published in September 2007 it became an instant hit in the New York Times.

Evil at Heart: The third book in the Archie Sheridan / Gretchen Lowell saga is one of the most beloved. Gretchen has become somewhat of a celebrity and Archie is off the case… for now. When a new body shows up with Gretchen’s trademark attached to it, Archie is back in action.

Sweetheart: Archie Sheridan is attempting to get his life back to normal after finally putting an end to the Beauty Killer case. When another body is found, at the same place as Gretchen’s first victim and Archie’s first case, he’s called back to work.

Anything in the Sheridan/Lowell book series is well worth reading.

When Does The Next Chelsea Cain book come out?

Chelsea Cain doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Man-Eaters, Vol. 4: The Cursed and was released on March, 1st 2022. It is the newest book in the Man-Eaters Graphic Novels.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *