Confessions Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Confessions is a four book long series by the author James Patterson. Each of the book deals with a different type of confession – and these confessions generally have to do with a crime that has been committed by the person doing the confessing. As such, this is a book series that falls within the crime genre, but with a particular twist as it has a strong character and confessional element to the story.

Get notified when James Patterson releases a new book at

Order of Confessions Series By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro

# Read Title Published Details
1 Confessions of a Murder Suspect (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Private School Murders (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Paris Mysteries (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Murder of an Angel (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Each of the Confessions books revolves around the impromptu investigator Tandy Angel. Angel’s investigative skills mean that she is able to get to the root of many complex mysteries, several of which are personally connected to herself. In fact, the first book in the Confessions series, which is entitled ‘Confessions of a Murder Suspect’ deals with the deaths of Angel’s own parents. It is this tragic event that throws Angel into the world of criminal investigating as she discovers – and sharpens – her investigative skills to find out if her parents were murdered, and if so by whom. In later books, she uses these skills to solve several other mysteries. Though these books have a young adult as their heroine, they can be enjoyed by both adults and teenagers.


The Confessions book series has not won any awards although the author James Patterson has won several awards. Chief among them is arguably the Literarian Award for Outstanding Services to the American Literary Community, which is bestowed by the National Book Foundation. He won this award in 2015. Patterson was given this award for his services to children’s literature as he has launched and participated in several schemes to encourage children to become interested in reading. The National Book Foundation has given Patterson several other prizes, including the Innovations in Reading Prize.


Several of Patterson’s books have been made into films. Perhaps the best known is ‘Along Came a Spider’. An autobiographical novel about Patterson’s middle school years was made in 2016. However, thus far, none of the books in the Confessions series has been made into a film.


In the Confessions series, it is difficult to tell which book is the best. However, many of Patterson’s readers argue that the first book, ‘Confessions of a Murder Suspect‘ is the best. This is because this book first introduces us to the character of Tandy Angel and enables us to see where her investigative skills came from.

In addition, this book serves as a key to all of the other books because it shows why Tandy Angel has such a drive to solve crimes – and why she is so haunted by her past, too. This mystery is not necessarily completely solved and wrapped up at the end of the first book. On the contrary, the mystery of Angel’s parents’ deaths continues to crop up again and again as the series continues. Angel keeps finding further clues and insights about these tragic events that help her to see them in a new light.

The other books in the series all have a fan base of their own, however the second best is perhaps ‘Confessions: The Paris Mysteries’. This sees Tandy Angel interrogating her relationship with her love interest whilst solving mysteries along the way. And, of course, it is partly set in the wonderful location of Paris. Angel also finds herself asking questions for the first time about the death of her older sister, and wondering whether this death was all that it had initially appeared to be. Tandy Angel is a teenager throughout all of the books, however here we see her making typically bold and ‘adult’ decisions. As such, this whole series demonstrates Patterson’s commitment to getting younger people in to literature, and providing them with heroes that they can relate to, no matter what the situation!


If you like James Patterson’s ‘Confessions’ series, then you may like to check out some of his other series. Specifically, his “NYPD Red” series, which is set in Manhattan. Similar authors who have written about teenaged detectives include Maureen Johnson. Johnson has written several books for young adults, and her “Shades of London” series follows a teenage detective who has to solve various grisly crimes. These crimes tend to have roots in the historic past of the city of London, with figures such as Jack the Ripper making their appearances in the plots of the books.

What Is The Next Book in The Confessions Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Confessions Series. The newest book is The Murder of an Angel and was released on October, 26th 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *