Conn Iggulden Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Conn Iggulden is a British author born in 1971. Boasting both English and Irish ancestry, Conn’s educational background includes stints at St. Martin’s School (Northwood) and Merchant Taylor’s School.

Get notified when Conn Iggulden releases a new book at

Order of Athenian Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Gates of Athens 2020 Description / Buy
2 Protector 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Conqueror Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wolf of the Plains / Genghis: Birth of an Empire 2007 Description / Buy
2 Lords of the Bow 2008 Description / Buy
3 Bones of the Hills 2008 Description / Buy
4 Empire of Silver 2010 Description / Buy
5 Conqueror 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Emperor Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Gates of Rome 2002 Description / Buy
2 The Death of Kings 2004 Description / Buy
3 The Field of Swords 2005 Description / Buy
4 The Gods of War 2006 Description / Buy
5 The Blood of Gods 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Empire of Salt Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Darien 2017 Description / Buy
2 Shiang 2018 Description / Buy
3 The Sword Saint 2019 Description / Buy

Order of The Golden Age Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Lion 2022 Description / Buy
2 Empire 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Tollins Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Tollins: Explosive Tales for Children 2009 Description / Buy
2 Tollins 2: Dynamite Tales 2012 Description / Buy

Order of The Nero Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Nero 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Wars of the Roses Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Stormbird 2013 Description / Buy
2 Trinity / Margaret of Anjou 2014 Description / Buy
3 Bloodline 2015 Description / Buy
4 Ravenspur 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Conn Iggulden Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dunstan / The Abbot's Tale 2017 Description / Buy
2 The Falcon of Sparta 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Conn Iggulden Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Blackwater 2006 Description / Buy
2 Quantum of Tweed 2012 Description / Buy
3 Fig Tree (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Conn Iggulden Non-Fiction

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Dangerous Book for Boys ( With: Hal Iggulden) 2006 Description / Buy
2 Dangerous Book for Boys Yearbook 2007 Description / Buy
3 The Pocket Dangerous Book for Boys: Things to Do 2007 Description / Buy
4 The Pocket Dangerous Book for Boys: Things to Know ( With: Hal Iggulden) 2008 Description / Buy
5 The Pocket Dangerous Book for Boys: Wonders of the World 2008 Description / Buy
6 The Dangerous Kit for Boys: How to Get There 2008 Description / Buy
7 The Dangerous Book for Boys Kit: Nature Fun 2008 Description / Buy
8 The Pocket Dangerous Book for Boys: Facts, Figures and Fun 2008 Description / Buy
9 The Dangerous Book of Heroes 2009 Description / Buy
10 The Double Dangerous Book for Boys 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Conn took a deep interest in English at the University of London. And it came as no surprise when he eventually took to teaching English at Haydon School, essentially following in the footsteps of his mother.

However, despite his success in this arena, with Conn becoming head of his own department at one point, the author eventually left teaching to pursue his passion for writing.

It all began with The Gates of Rome, the first book in a series called Emperor which endeavors to explore the life of Julius Caesar from his days as a youth to his years as the world’s most powerful leader.

Conn’s luck was such that The Gates of Rome came out at a time when the Roman period was experiencing a resurgence, primarily because of all the interest generated by the movie Gladiator.

As a historical fiction author, it came as no surprise when Conn followed the Emperor series up with Conqueror, a collection of novels providing glimpses into the legend of the Warlords of Mongol.

Conn has since cemented his place as a true artist when it comes to taking historical occurrences and weaving them into tales that not only educate the masses but entertain them. Some readers have been known to take offense with Conn’s tendency to skirt the truth and add elements of fiction to known historical facts for the sake of delivering thrills.

And Conn has endeavored to help his readers, especially those with little to no knowledge of the Roman Period of history, realize that not everything in his books, especially the Emperor novels, should be taking as fact and that he took some liberties for the sake of entertainment.

Besides his success in the arena of historical fiction, Conn has also been known to dip his toes into the area of Children’s books, with his most popular title in this field being The Dangerous Book for Boys, a guide book that Conn Iggulden wrote with his brother in 2006.

Conn Iggulden Awards

Conn hasn’t received that many notable accolades for his work as a novelist, though some of his fans might make mention of the Alex Award he won for Genghis: Birth of an Empire.

Conn Books into Movies

There was excitement in the early 2010s when it was revealed that Lionsgate was making plans to turn Conn’s Empire series into a trilogy of movies. The adaptations would chronicle the early years of Caesar.

Best Conn Iggulden Books

Despite some skepticism regarding his abilities when he first arrived on the scene, Conn’s star has only been shining brighter with the passing of each year, with some of the best books in his bibliography including the following:

Genghis: Birth of an Empire: Temujin might have been the son of a Khan but his early life was filled with nothing but brutality. And it wasn’t just the betrayal of his father by a neighboring clan that shaped him but the events that saw him abandoned for death in the harshness of the wild.

Perhaps it was his pride that saw Temujin come through all these hardships alive. Or perhaps it was his fury and the determination burnt into his mind and body to survive in the face of death and bring all his enemies to their knees.

Temujin’s legend would grow, though his battles with the Tartars and the conflicts with the Chinese ambassador and even personal tragedy; until no one could deny Temujin’s vision to unite the tribes into one and the strength of his will to see this done.

This book might be about a historical figure but Conn writes it like any other story, delivering all the intrigue and thrills of Temujin’s life without turning the whole book into a historical lecture.

Genghis: Lords of the Bow: Genghis begins his war of conquest, marching across the Gobi Desert and mercilessly bringing one fortress after another to its knees. Genghis will not rest until every notable foe falls before him, even the Emperor in Yenking.

While the first book in the Conqueror series followed Genghis’ trials in his formative years, the second book gives readers a glimpse into his mind as he finally begins to close his hand around all the tribes in the land, unrelenting in his determination to express his dominance.

When Does The Next Conn Iggulden book come out?

The next book by Conn Iggulden is Nero and will be released on May, 24th 2024. It is the newest book in the The Nero Trilogy Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *