Conqueror Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Conqueror is a series of novels from Conn Iggulden. The books detail the rise of the Mongol Empire and the great lords that ruled over it.

Get notified when Conn Iggulden releases a new book at

Order of Conqueror Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wolf of the Plains / Genghis: Birth of an Empire ( By: Conn Iggulden) 2007 Description / Buy
2 Lords of the Bow ( By: Conn Iggulden) 2008 Description / Buy
3 Bones of the Hills ( By: Conn Iggulden) 2008 Description / Buy
4 Empire of Silver ( By: Conn Iggulden) 2010 Description / Buy
5 Conqueror ( By: Conn Iggulden) 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

By the time Conn wrote the Conqueror series, he had already garnered a reputation for his highly popular Empire series which explored the life of Julius Caesar. The books were hailed not only for their historical accuracy but also Conn’s narrative voice which treated Julius’ tale like any other fictional story and made as raw and intriguing and engaging as possible.

As such, Conn’s announcement that he would switch gears and throw a spotlight on the Mongol empire was naturally met with enthusiasm. The Conqueror series begins with the journey of Genghis, a warlord that left his mark on history.

Before he won wars and found his place in history alongside the likes of Julius Caesar, Genghis was just Temujin, the son of a chief of a small wandering tribe. Temujin left to find a wife and returned to find that a gang of Tartars had raided his home and murdered his family.

If that wasn’t bad enough, his father’s friends abandoned his family and elevated themselves as chiefs in Temujin’s place. Temujin endures unimaginable hardship and he survives the impossible, driven by little more than his fury for revenge.

Conn Iggulden’s books tell how Temujin united the tribes, created the Mongol Empire and stood at its peak as Genghis, lord of all Khans. The books further explore Temujin’s thirst for conquest and the lengths he went to consume all the lands within his reach and beyond, determined to claim them all under his flag.

The Conqueror series also digs into the lives of the men that came after Genghis, in particular, his grandson Kublai Khan, a man that was derided for his scholarly pursuits but who stood the test of time when it mattered most and defended the empire his grandfather created against enemies from inside and outside.

The Conqueror books are stories of war. Despite being historical in nature, they boast actual plots filled with intrigue. They are hardly the historical lectures that other fictional tellings of the Mongol Empire usually turn out to be. Conn Iggulden elevates himself from many of his peers by producing a series that is as compelling to read as any other fictional medieval book.

Conqueror Awards

Conn Iggulden won the Alex Award in 2008 for the first book in the Conqueror series.

Best Conqueror Books

Conn Iggulden is considered by many to be unparalleled when it comes to historical fiction, an author that can weave the most compelling tales out of the lives of real figures from history, with some of the best books from his Conqueror series including:

Birth of an Empire: Genghis was once just Temujin, son of the Khan of a migrating tribe of hunters. When Temujin leaves to find a wife, he comes back to a horrific scene. A neighboring tribe has killed his father and the allies the family thought they had have abandoned them, raising another as Khan.

These brutal acts shape Temujin’s young mind and they are just the beginning. Temujin begins a journey that sees him transform into a fearsome warrior. He gathers allies from all around and leads a charge against the Tartars, the same tribe that betrayed his father.

With fiery courage, Temujin undertakes every challenge that comes his way, facing threats from within and without as he slowly but surely transforms into Genghis Khan, the man that forged the Mongol Empire and sought to conqueror all the world.

Conqueror: Kublai Khan began life as a simple scholar. No one expected him to become the sort of man that would rival Julius Caesar and Napoleon.

Kublai Khan grew up in the shadow of his grandfather Genghis. Kublai drew the ire of his peers at a young age when he adopted Chin Culture and began to undertake a path that would see him become a scholar.

When his brother forces him to do his part to extend Mongol control over the surrounding lands, Kublai Khan steps up to the plate and becomes a legend in his own right.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Asian Saga” by James Clavell is another beloved series. The books in this series are technically historical novels that delve into the lives of Europeans living in Asia in previous decades and centuries. The novels explore the cultural clash between individuals from the East and the West whose lives intertwine.

You may also like the “Hannibal” Series by Ben Kane. This series delves into the life of Hannibal and the journey he undertook to become the historical figure everyone has come to know.

What Is The Next Book in The Conqueror Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Conqueror Series. The newest book is Conqueror and was released on December, 27th 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *