D.K. Hood Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

D.K. Hood is a British author that writes crime fiction. She was born in front of the fireplace of a Georgian house in London. At the time, the city was in the grip of a blizzard. By the time she turned three, that house had been knocked down and replaced with a school.

Order of Detectives Kane and Alton Series

1Don't Tell a Soul 2017Description / Buy
2Bring Me Flowers 2018Description / Buy
3Follow Me Home 2018Description / Buy
4The Crying Season 2018Description / Buy
5Where Angels Fear 2019Description / Buy
6Whisper in the Night 2019Description / Buy
7Break the Silence 2019Description / Buy
8Her Broken Wings 2020Description / Buy
9Her Shallow Grave 2020Description / Buy
10Promises in the Dark 2020Description / Buy
11Be Mine Forever 2021Description / Buy
12Cross My Heart 2021Description / Buy
13Lose Your Breath 2021Description / Buy
14Fallen Angel 2021Description / Buy
15Don't Look Back (Short Story) 2022Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Hood was telling stories from the moment she could talk. She took great pleasure in sitting around a fire and scaring her friends with her tales. Scary movies made her laugh. Her interest in writing was sparked when she watched a classic black and white film starring Abbott and Costello.

It wasn’t the movie that stuck with her but, rather, the dialogue. Certain lines struck a chord with the author, stirring her imagination and forcing her to weave all sorts of plots from the words the actors had spoken on screen.

Later on, she developed a passion for Forensic Science. It wasn’t just a passing fad. To this day, you can find Hood reading books about blood spatters and the most effective means of extracting trace evidence from a crime scene. The author is happiest when she’s pouring over medical journals and gleaning new bits of information about the latest developments in the field of forensic science.

Hood was fortunate to come from a family that is scattered throughout the world. She has lived in so many places, including the US, Australia, and France. This exposure to new people in exciting places has enhanced her stories. Though Hood does not permit her obsession with forensic science, or even the settings she writes about, to overshadow her characters. They are the most important aspect of her writing process.

To Hood, her protagonists are practically real. She can see them in her head, walking, talking, running. Their problems are as real to Hood as those of any other person. She understands their emotions and that allows her to paint them in a relatable light.

She’s not afraid to allow them to dictate the direction of her stories. Hood doesn’t write by the seat of her pants, not completely. She tries to produce a basic synopsis before she sits down to write. However, she prefers to fill in the details of the plot as she goes. She will plot out the next five or six chapters. But she won’t plan the entire novel from beginning to end, not because she can’t but because it would make the writing process boring.

She wants to discover the novel she’s writing as she goes along. Ideas come quite easily to D.K. Hood. In fact, in most situations, the author has multiple ideas for stories waiting to be written by the time she pens the final sentence of her current manuscript.

Once she decides to tell a specific story, she will perform extensive research. Once she has her synopsis, characters, and a whiteboard covered with character names, plot details, place names, and the like, Hood will finally settle down to write her book.

Best D.K. Hood Books

The author’s favorite book of all time is ‘Outlander’ by Diana Gabaldon. The pick may surprise her fans because it isn’t a crime thriller novel. But it captured Hood’s heart. Hood’s best books include:

Don’t Tell A Soul: Two people had gone missing from the small town of Black Rock Falls. Both victims were strangers to Black Rock Falls, but that was the only connection they had. When Detective Jenna Alton was summoned to investigate the body that had been discovered at the garbage dump, she was convinced that it had something to do with the two missing persons.

But she did not have enough clues to understand the connection. Aided in her efforts by David Kane, her new deputy, Jenna was starting to make headway when she realized that someone was following her.

Bring Me Flowers: Felicity Parker’s body was found on a rock with freshly picked flowers placed next to her corpse. Initially, Detective Jenna assumed that the killer was a visitor. But Felicity was just the first victim. Another girl was found dead soon after. When Kate Bright, Felicity’s friend from school, met a similar fate, Jenna was forced to conclude that one of the town’s residents was a killer.

For reasons no one could fathom, they had decided to target school girls. Jenna had to find the next victim before it was too late.

When Does The Next D.K. Hood book come out?

The next book by D.K. Hood is Don\'t Look Back and will be released on February, 8th 2022. It is the newest book in the Detectives Kane and Alton Series.


1 thought on “D.K. Hood”

  1. Re: Detectives Kane and Alton Series.
    Just love the series. But what I would like to know is the release dates of
    Book 13 and Book 14 Paper Back Copies of the Series will be released.
    I don’t like to read of Kindle or an phone etc.
    If they aren’t being released in book version I will be quite upset by this.
    Thanking for the good reads so far

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *