David Eddings Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

David Eddings is an American fantasy author that was born in 1931 and died in 2009. A native of Spokane, Washington, David’s Education included stints at Everett Junior College, Reed College in Portland and the University of Washington.

Order of The Belgariad Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Pawn of Prophecy 1982 Description / Buy
2 Queen of Sorcery 1982 Description / Buy
3 Magician's Gambit 1983 Description / Buy
4 Castle of Wizardry 1984 Description / Buy
5 Enchanters' End Game 1984 Description / Buy

Order of The Malloreon Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Guardians of the West 1985 Description / Buy
2 King of the Murgos 1988 Description / Buy
3 Demon Lord of Karanda 1988 Description / Buy
4 Sorceress of Darshiva 1989 Description / Buy
5 The Seeress of Kell 1991 Description / Buy

Order of Belgariad & Malloreon Series with Leigh Eddings

# Read Title Published Details
1 Belgarath the Sorcerer 1995 Description / Buy
2 Polgara the Sorceress ( With: Leigh Eddings) 1997 Description / Buy
3 The Rivan Codex 1998 Description / Buy

Order of The Elenium Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Diamond Throne 1989 Description / Buy
2 The Ruby Knight 1990 Description / Buy
3 The Sapphire Rose 1991 Description / Buy

Order of The Tamuli Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Domes of Fire 1992 Description / Buy
2 The Shining Ones 1993 Description / Buy
3 The Hidden City 1994 Description / Buy

Order of The Dreamers Series with Leigh Eddings

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Elder Gods ( With: Leigh Eddings) 2003 Description / Buy
2 The Treasured One ( With: Leigh Eddings) 2005 Description / Buy
3 Crystal Gorge ( With: Leigh Eddings) 2005 Description / Buy
4 The Younger Gods ( With: Leigh Eddings) 2006 Description / Buy

Order of David Eddings Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 High Hunt 1973 Description / Buy
2 The Losers 1992 Description / Buy
3 Regina's Song 2000 Description / Buy
4 The Redemption of Althalus 2000 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The author has a Bachelor of Arts Degree and a Master of Arts Degree. One of David’s most formative experiences was the few years he spent in the United States army. He was also greatly impacted by his marriage to Judith Leigh Schall who proved to be a critical aspect of David’s literary efforts.

Even though Leigh was first credited as a co-author on the ‘Belgarath the Sorcerer’ publication, David eventually admitted that his wife had participated in every book he had ever written since the beginning.

In fact, it wasn’t his intention to keep the matter a secret. Rather, professionals in the publishing industry had warned him about the perils of multi-authorships. For that reason David, whose first book ‘High Hunt’ was published in 1973 saw fit to appear alone as the author of his books.

Even though David Eddings was writing novels since the 1970s, it wasn’t until he begun to write ‘The Belgariad’ books in 1982 that the author saw real success. David can trace his decision to play in the fantasy field to one random moment when he saw a copy of ‘The Lord of the Rings’ in a bookstore, learned that it was in its 75th printing and realized that there was a hunger for fantasy.

Even before that, though, David Eddings had loved fantasy since his days reading Geoffrey Chaucer at graduate school. The author is very famous for the ten-point approach to writing fantasy novels which he passed on to his students while teaching English Literature after graduation.

This same ten-point plan proved to be a snare for David because he followed it rather strictly in every single one of his novels. In fact, that was the root of all the criticisms surrounding David Eddings’ work. Reviewers thought all his books were very formulaic.

It didn’t help that the books tended to follow a linear path story wise. David rarely acquiesced to these criticisms though. He was often heard asserting that he would never take orders from readers.

David Eddings Awards

For someone that was as popular as David, it might come as a surprise to learn that he didn’t take home as many accolades as his fans expect. Some of his nominations include the British Fantasy society Award for Best Novel and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature.

Best David Eddings Books

David Eddings had his critics. But he was such an amazing storyteller, garnering fans from all over the globe, with some of the best books from David’s bibliography including the following:

Pawn of Prophecy: According to legend, Belgarath the Sorcerer saved the men of the West from the evil God Torak, leading them to the Orb and guaranteeing their salvation and security so long as the Orb lay at Riva.

However, it is a story that Garion never put much stock into, even in light of the dark man that stalks him. Unbeknownst to him, plans are in place to wake Torak, and only Garion can undertake the necessary magical quest to stop the Apostate.

This book is not meant to be thought provoking, merely deliver entertainment through humorous fun and adventure. The protagonist of the story, Garion is introduced as a farm boy who discovers that he has a powerful destiny. He must then decide whether or not to accept it.

Queen of Sorcery: The evil God Torak was defeated in his efforts to claim the Orb Aldur. Now the Orb has been stolen and it will fall on the shoulders of Garion to join Master Sorcerer Belgarath and his daughter Polgara to do the impossible.

Garion was just a farm boy mere months back. Now he stands at the center of an ancient battle, this despite his determination to reject the idea of magic. As he has journeyed, though, Garion’s power has grown.

He can now perform wizardry, even if he isn’t so keen to accept it.

This book doesn’t truly begin until the halfway point. The first half of the story basically retreads the tropes of the first book, with Garion traveling and facing new enemies for several chapters on end.

However, things change once David Eddings begin to expand the world of The Belgariad.

When Does The Next David Eddings book come out?

David Eddings doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Younger Gods and was released on January, 1st 2006. It is the newest book in the The Dreamers Series.


1 thought on “David Eddings”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *