Douglas Adams Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Author Douglas Adams was born March 11, 1952 in Cambridge, England, and has a sister three years younger than him. After his parents divorced, he, his sister, and mother went to an RSPCA animal shelter in Brentwood, Essex that his mother’s parents ran. After college, he first wanted to work on television and radio as a writer. He would form a brief writing partnership with Graham Chapman where he wrote a sketch (called Patient Abuse) for “Monty Python”; he is one of two people that are not part of the original members to get a writing credit. He would appear on the show two different times. After that, his career stalled and he had to do different odd jobs. Originally, “Hitchhikers” was a radio comedy program that was adapted, by Adams, into other things. The biggest of which, was the novel. Adams was the only student that ever got a perfect ten from his form master Frank Halford; which is something that he would use to get through periods of writer’s block. He would graduate college in the year 1974 with a BA in English literature. Douglas Adams died from a heart attack on May 11, 2001 at the age of 49.

Order of Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy 1979 Description / Buy
2 The Restaurant at the End of the Universe 1980 Description / Buy
3 Life, the Universe and Everything 1982 Description / Buy
4 So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish 1984 Description / Buy
5 Mostly Harmless 1992 Description / Buy
6 And Another Thing... 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Dirk Gently Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency 1987 Description / Buy
2 The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul 1988 Description / Buy
3 The Salmon of Doubt 2002 Description / Buy

Order of Doctor Who Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Shada: The Lost Adventure 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Douglas Adams Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Starship Titanic 1997 Description / Buy

Order of Douglas Adams Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Meaning of Liff ( With: John Lloyd) 1983 Description / Buy
2 The Utterly Utterly Merry Comic Relief Christmas Book 1986 Description / Buy
3 Last Chance to See ( With: Mark Carwardine) 1990 Description / Buy
4 The Deeper Meaning of Liff ( With: John Lloyd) 1990 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Douglas Adams wrote novels, and episodes of television shows like “Doctor Who” and “Monty Python’s Flying Circus”. He is most known for writing the “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” series. Adams also wrote about a fat man named Dick Gently. He also wrote some other novels, as well as stories and radio shows and computer games.


“The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” was nominated for a Hugo Award in 1979, but did not win.


“The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy” was made into a movie in the year 2005. It was written by him and Karey Kirkpatrick (who re-wrote the script after Adams had died). It was also adapted for BBC Two in 1981 and was written by him.


For those readers looking to get into novels by Douglas Adams, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”, “The Restaurant at the End of the Universe”, and “Life, the Universe and Everything”.

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy: This is the first novel in the “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” series and was released in the year 1979. Ford Prefect plucks his friend Arthur Dent (who is a mild mannered man) off of Earth, just seconds before it is about to be blown up so that a galactic freeway can be put in. Ford Prefect is a researcher for “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” (the revised edition) and has been pretending that he is an out of work actor for the last decade and a half. This pair makes their way through space and is joined by some interesting travelers. These include a three armed, ex-hippie, with two heads and totally out to lunch president (Zaphod Beeblebrox), Zaphod’s girlfriend that Arthur once tried to hit on at a party (Trillian, who used to be Tricia McMillian), and a robot that is depressed, paranoid, and brilliant (who is named Marvin). A former graduate student that is obsessed with the disappearance of every single ball point pen that he has ever bought throughout the years.

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe: This is the second novel in the “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” series and was released in the year 1980. While they are about to be destroyed by warlike Vogons is quite an odd time to want tea. Only Arthur and his interesting comrades as they go through space as they go in a search to get something to eat. They are trying to get to a great place to eat with apocalyptic entertainment and food that will actually speak for itself.

Life, the Universe and Everything: This is the third novel in the “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” series and was released in the year 1982. On planet Krikkit, the people are unhappy. They have gotten sick of seeing the night sky right above them, and they plan on destroying it. Or rather the universe. Only five people stand in between the killer robots on Krikkit and their goal of annihilation. These are Arthur Dent, Ford Prefect, Slartibartfast (he is the vice president of Campaign for Real Time and travels around in a spaceship that is powered by behavior that is irrational), Zaphod Beeblebrox, and Trillian. Trillian is a sexy space cadet.

When Does The Next Douglas Adams book come out?

Douglas Adams doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Shada: The Lost Adventure and was released on July, 26th 2012. It is the newest book in the Doctor Who Series.

1 thought on “Douglas Adams”

  1. I, much like everyone else in my age range, read the Hitchhiker books when I was in middle school/high school and loved them. While there are certainly flaws (will Arthur ever get some clothes?), these books are classics and are well worth reading.

    I’d never checked out Dirk Gently though. Not until I started watching the BBC America series and realized that these books were right up my alley. They are so rich, complicated and puzzling that you might need to read it twice. Or at the very least, read some blogs to help explain it. I know that is not for everybody, but it is definitely for me. What a fantastic author Adams was.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.