The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy often referred to as HGG2 or HHGTTG is a series of science fiction novels by comic genius Douglas Adams. The series was first made as a comedy broadcast, which aired on the BBC before it was made into other formats such as a feature film, computer game, TV series, comic books, novels, and stage shows. The first novel in the series was the 1979 published “The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy”.

Order of Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy ( By: Douglas Adams) 1979 Description / Buy
2 The Restaurant at the End of the Universe ( By: Douglas Adams) 1980 Description / Buy
3 Life, the Universe and Everything ( By: Douglas Adams) 1982 Description / Buy
4 So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish ( By: Douglas Adams) 1984 Description / Buy
5 Young Zaphod Plays It Safe (Short Story) (By: Douglas Adams) 1986 Description / Buy
6 Mostly Harmless (By: Douglas Adams) 1992 Description / Buy
7 And Another Thing... ( By: Douglas Adams) 2009 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Hitchhiker's Guide: Radio Play Series

# Read Title Published Details
Print: Print PDF

The series of novels follows the adventures of Arthur Dent, the last man who survives an apocalypse after the Vogon Constructor Fleet devastates the Earth. The pentalogy then follows the man as he is rescued from the planet by a human like alien writer known as Ford Prefect, who writes for The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. The man gets him onto the Vogon Spacecraft from where his adventure begins.

The first novel in the series begins with a warning to Arthur Dent that the end of the world is nigh. Ford Prefect, Dent’s friend is an alien with information that an alien species is building an intergalactic highway, which would necessitate the destruction of his world. The two manage to get onto the Vogon Airship before the demolition, only to be tortured by their hosts who insist that they listen to terrible Vogon poetry.

They are abandoned in the airlock and cast out into space, but by sheer luck are rescued by the Heart of Gold airship, which happens to belong to Zaphod Beeblebrox the president of the Galaxy and something of a cousin to Ford. What follows is an intriguing narrative of their adventures as the adventurers try to find the answer to the ultimate question in life, and the universe. The novel is an excellently told narrative that shows just why the series has become a cultural phenomenon and won the author numerous awards over the years.


The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy series of novels has won numerous awards over the years. The first novel in the series won the 1984 Golden Pan Award for a million books sold.


After the series adaptation on radio became so popular, the novels were finally adapted into a television miniseries comprising six episodes. Produced by BBC 2 and directed by Alan J. W. Bell, the series aired in January and February 1981. David Dixon played Ford Prefect, while Sandra Dickinson played the role of Trillian.

Segments of the novels also made it into “The Big Read Survey” by the BBC that aired in 2003. The big screen adaptation of the novels was finally done in 2004, and premiered in 2005. The lead characters in the series were Martin Freeman as ArthurZooey Deschannel as Trillian, and Sam Rickwell as Zaphod Beeblebrox.


The first novel in the series, which has been adapted into numerous forms and spawned several more titles, is undoubtedly one of the most popular in the series. Introducing the lead character and charting out the start of his adventures, the novel is a riveting read that would beguile any fantasy and science fiction buff.

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe: The second novel in the series is an equally fascinating novel that sees the hitchhikers face up to the threat of annihilation from the Vogons. Despite the threat to the lives, the hitchhikers are more interested in finding a place to have some tea. They are on a quest to find the perfect eatery where they can enjoy fine dining, apocalyptic entertainment, and some of the most delicious food in the galaxy.

Life, the Universe and Everything: This is another thriller of a novel that opens to Arthur Dent and his fellow planet Krikkit residents having to fight total annihilation from killer robots. It is an exhilarating apocalyptic novel with excellent twists and turns with fast-paced action, that will leave any science fiction and fantasy reader on the edge of their seat.


Many fans of the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy series of novels also love the “Discworld” series of novels by Terry Pratchett. The series of novels feature intergalactic travelers the wizard guide Ricewind and tourist Twoflower, who go on bizarre journeys across the galaxy.

Fans of the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy series of novels are also fans of the “Bill, The Galactic Hero” series of novels by Harry Harrison. The series of novels is about a farm boy named Bill that is hypnotized, drugged, and shanghaied into Space where he joins the Space Troopers and goes on wild adventures.

What Is The Next Book in The Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy Series. The newest book is And Another Thing... and was released on January, 1st 2009.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *