Ed McBain Books

Evan Hunter was born with the name Salvatore Albert Lombino on October 15, 1926. He was born and raised in New York City, living in East Harlem before moving to the Bronx at the age of twelve. Hunter wrote some stories while serving in the navy during World War Two, but they would not be published until the fifties, when he was an established author. He legally changed his name in 1962 to Evan Hunter and was successful and well known with this name. He is even more known as Ed McBain, which is a name that he used for most of his crime fiction work. Hunter sold his first story under his born name, but published more under his pen names, of which he had many. He died from laryngeal cancer at the age of 78 in Weston, Connecticut in 2005. This was due to the fact that he was a heavy smoker for a few decades and had three heart attacks. Hunter needed an operation on his heart and had a precancerous lesion on his larynx. He had it removed but it would return.

Order of 87th Precinct Series

# Read Title Published
1 Cop Hater 1956
2 The Mugger 1956
3 The Pusher 1956
4 The Con Man 1957
5 Killer's Choice 1957
6 Lady Killer 1958
7 Killer's Payoff 1958
8 Killer's Wedge 1958
9 'Til Death 1959
10 King's Ransom 1959
11 Give the Boys a Great Big Hand 1960
12 The Heckler 1960
13 See Them Die 1960
14 Lady, Lady, I Did It! 1961
15 Like Love 1962
16 The Empty Hours 1962
17 Ten Plus One 1963
18 Ax 1963
19 He Who Hesitates 1965
20 Doll 1965
21 Eighty Million Eyes 1966
22 Fuzz 1968
23 Shotgun 1968
24 Jigsaw 1970
25 Hail, Hail, the Gang's All Here! 1971
26 Sadie When She Died 1972
27 Let's Hear It for the Deaf Man 1973
28 Hail to the Chief 1973
29 Bread 1974
30 Blood Relatives 1975
31 So Long as You Both Shall Live 1976
32 Long Time No See 1977
33 Calypso 1979
34 Ghosts 1980
35 Heat 1981
36 Ice 1983
37 Lightning 1984
38 And All Through The House 1984
39 Eight Black Horses 1985
40 Poison 1987
41 Lullaby 1989
42 Vespers 1989
43 Tricks 1989
44 Widows 1991
45 Kiss 1992
46 Mischief 1993
47 Romance 1995
48 Nocturne 1997
49 The Big Bad City 1998
50 The Last Dance 1999
51 Money, Money, Money 2001
52 Fat Ollie's Book 2002
53 The Frumious Bandersnatch 2003
54 Hark! 2004
55 Fiddlers 2005

Order of Matthew Hope Series

Order of Ed McBain Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published
1 Running from Legs and Other Stories 2002
2 Learning to Kill 2006

Order of Ed McBain Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Danger 1953
2 Cut Me In 1954
3 Runaway Black 1954
4 The Blackboard Jungle 1954
5 Death of a Nurse 1955
6 Tomorrow's World 1956
7 Vanishing Ladies 1957
8 Rocket To Luna 1957
9 The April Robin Murders 1958
10 Even the Wicked 1958
11 The Gutter and the Grave 1958
12 The Gutter and the Grave 1958
13 Strangers When We Met 1959
14 Big Man 1959
15 A Matter of Conviction 1959
16 The Spiked Heel 1963
17 Don't Crowd Me 1964
18 buddwing [75079] 1964
19 The Sentries 1965
20 Second Ending 1967
21 The Paper Dragon 1967
22 Last Summer 1968
23 Sons 1969
24 Nobody Knew They Were There 1971
25 Every Little Crook and Nanny 1972
26 Seven 1972
27 Come Winter 1973
28 Where There's Smoke 1975
29 Doors 1975
30 Guns 1976
31 The Chisholms 1976
32 Mothers and daughters 1977
33 Walk Proud 1979
34 Love Dad 1981
35 Far from the Sea 1982
36 Lizzie 1984
37 Streets of Gold 1985
38 Another Part Of The City 1986
39 A Horse's Head 1987
40 Downtown 1989
41 Scimitar 1992
42 Criminal Conversation 1994
43 Privileged Conversation 1995
44 Driving Lessons 1998
45 Candyland 2000
46 The Moment She Was Gone 2002
47 Alice In Jeopardy 2004
48 So Nude, So Dead 2015
49 Murder in the Navy 2016

Order of Ed McBain Childrens Books


Print: Print PDF

He has written novels, short stories, and screenplays. The most known of his screenplays is probably “The Birds” that was directed by Alfred Hitchcock. He was supposed to write “Marnie” but he and Hitchcock clashed on a scene and was fired from the project. Hunter also wrote the “87th Precinct” series, and released at least one novel (sometimes two) a year, starting in 1956 until the year 2005.


McBain has been nominated for four Edgar Awards, but he lost each time. He was nominated twice for best short story (“The Last Spin” and “Sardinian Incident”), once for best movie (“The Birds”), and best novel (“Money, Money, Money”). McBain was named Grand Master by Mystery Writers of America. He also received a Diamond Dagger British Crime Writers, and was the first American winner of the award.


Hunter adapted one of his own novels into a movie, he did this by writing the screenplay for “Strangers When We Meet” based off his novel of the same name that was released in the year 1958. He also wrote “Fuzz” that was based off a novel from the “87th Precincts” series. NBC ran a series called “87th Precinct” that ran from 1961 until 1962. He wrote a novel called “Blackboard Jungle” in 1954, the next year it was made into a movie.


For those readers looking to get into novels by Ed McBain, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Cop Hater” and “The Mugger”.

Cop Hater: This is the first novel in the “87th Precinct” series and was released in the year 1956. Steve Carella is a cop with New York City’s famed 87th Precinct, and thinks that he has seen it all. Nothing is able to prepare him for the sight he sees on a hot July night. One of his fellow detectives (named Mike Reardon) dead on the sidewalk after his face was blown off by a .45. Later, Reardon’s partner is killed too, and a .45 caliber round is found in his chest. It is not a coincidence and Carella knows this. He figures that the whole thing is nothing more than a grudge killing. There is a third murder that ruins his theory. He has but a single clue and he dives deep into the underbelly of the city. Carella goes a gloomy search for answers that takes him from a notorious brothel to a beautiful and dangerous widow. He will not stop until either a bullet finds him or he finds the truth.

The Mugger: This is the second novel in the “87th Precinct” series and was released in the year 1956. There is something special about this mugger. He goes after women in the dark. He goes at them from behind, attacks them, and then takes their purse. The mugger tells them not to scream and as they are in pain on the ground, he bows and then tells them that Clifford thanks them. He puts one victim in the hospital and another in the morgue, making the police angry and going to extreme lengths to bring him to justice. Bert Kling (a young and dashing patrolman) is always ready to help out a friend. Bert’s friend’s sister in law is the murder victim. This gives him some personal reasons to want the maniac killer, and it quickly turns to a burning obsession for him. It may get him killed.