Elizabeth George Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Elizabeth George is an author of many bestselling British crime novels featuring Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley and his unconventional partner Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers. You might be familiar with Inspector Thomas Lynley due to the TV series The Inspector Lynley Mysteries which aired for 5 seasons on the BBC.

For more than 20 years, Elizabeth has entertained his audiences with intricate characters and plotlines. Her ability to come up with breathtaking fiction characters and storylines, create tension and come up with mysteries is incomparable to any other. George has written multitude of novels that appears in the bestselling books, with the Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley series being the most popular series for the author.

She has taught creative writing in different colleges, universities, retreats, international conferences and various live online creative writing classes. Apart from writing some of the best-selling creative writing books, Currently, she is the president of Elizabeth George Foundation, which offer grants to emerging poets, playwrights and unpublished novelists.

Get notified when Elizabeth George releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Inspector Lynley Series with Elizabeth George

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Great Deliverance 1988 Description / Buy
2 Payment in Blood 1989 Description / Buy
3 Well-Schooled in Murder 1989 Description / Buy
4 A Suitable Vengeance 1991 Description / Buy
5 For the Sake of Elena 1992 Description / Buy
6 Missing Joseph 1992 Description / Buy
7 Playing for the Ashes 1994 Description / Buy
8 In the Presence of the Enemy 1996 Description / Buy
9 Deception on His Mind 1997 Description / Buy
10 In Pursuit of the Proper Sinner 1999 Description / Buy
11 A Traitor to Memory 2001 Description / Buy
12 A Place of Hiding 2003 Description / Buy
13 With No One as Witness 2005 Description / Buy
14 What Came Before He Shot Her 2006 Description / Buy
15 Careless in Red 2008 Description / Buy
16 This Body of Death 2010 Description / Buy
17 Believing the Lie 2012 Description / Buy
18 Just One Evil Act 2013 Description / Buy
19 A Banquet of Consequences 2015 Description / Buy
20 The Punishment She Deserves 2018 Description / Buy
21 Something to Hide 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Saratoga Woods Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Edge of Nowhere 2011 Description / Buy
2 The Edge of the Water 2014 Description / Buy
3 The Edge of the Shadows 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Edge of the Light 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Elizabeth George Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Evidence Exposed 1999 Description / Buy
2 I, Richard 2001 Description / Buy

Order of Elizabeth George Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Write Away: One Novelist's Approach to Fiction and the Writing Life 2004 Description / Buy
2 Mastering the Process 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Death Sentences: Stories To Die For Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Mysterious Disappearance of the Reluctant Book Fairy (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy

Elizabeth George Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Murder in the Dark 1983 Description / Buy
2 Sisters in Crime 2 1990 Description / Buy
3 Crime from the Mind of a Woman 2001 Description / Buy
4 A Moment on the Edge: 100 Years of Crime Stories by Women 2001 Description / Buy
5 Two of the Deadliest 2009 Description / Buy
6 Hotel Angeline 2011 Description / Buy
7 Suspense Magazine September 2012 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF


The novel A Suitable Vengeance was a prequel to the series and therefore chronologically, should be read before A Great Deliverance.


Elizabeth George published the first book, A Great Deliverance, in 1988 where he introduced her characters Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley of Scotland Yard and his working-class assistant Sergeant Barbara Havers. The novel emerged the best in 1989 and won Agatha and Anthony award of the first mystery novel. Elizabeth has received numerous awards, which includes France’s Grand Prix di Literature Policiere and Germany’s MIMI. She was also nominated for Edgar Award and has received an honorary doctorate of human letters from the California State University Fullerton.


Elizabeth George’s books have not only appealed to a wide variety of audience but have also wowed audience on television for many years. BBC television aired The Inspector Lynley Mysteries from 2001 through 2007 until it was canceled. It starred Nathaniel Parker as Lynley and Sharon Small as his partner.

The first two seasons of the BBC television series were generally dedicated to storylines based on the books, although the character seems to have been dramatically altered to fit the objectives of the television.


Elizabeth George includes some elegant and meticulously plotted novels. The Whidbey Island Saga / Saratoga Woods books are excellent and highly recommended. As for the Lynley series – two of the more popular novels in the series are:

A Great Deliverance: The first novel written in the Lynley universe. It won many awards and still stands strong many years later. It takes place in Keldare, where over 300 years ago according to legend, a crying baby was smothered while hiding from raiders. All these years later the cry of the infant can still be heard. Along comes Inspector Thomas Lynley to this tranquil English valley where a brutal murder has occurred.

With No One As Witness: This is the 13th novel in the series and while 13 may be unlucky for some, it’s not unlucky for people reading this book series with many declaring it the best Lynley novel ever. It’s shocking, it’s riveting and it’ll hook you right from the beginning. It takes place in London, where there’s a serial killer who is mutilating and killing young boys. Lynley and his investigators are there and racing against the clock to stop the continuous murders. However then something occurs – something game changing that….well, just read it and you’ll see what we mean!

Elizabeth George FAQ

Q: How many Inspector Lynley books are there?

A: As of this writing there are 19 books in the Inspector Lynley series by Elizabeth George. The first book in the series was A Great Deliverance, released in 1988.

Q: Why does Elizabeth George write English novels when she lives in America?

A: Ever since she first heard The Beatles in the 1960s, George has been interested in England and English culture. She studied Shakespeare and then went on to teach Shakespeare as well. Her earliest short stories were always based in England and she’s never even considered basing her stories anywhere else.

Q: What is Write Away?

A: Write Away is Elizabeth George’s extremely helpful book for young writers. The book makes it very clear that this is her approach to writing a novel and that it might not be for everyone. However, with all of her success you can see that Elizabeth George is someone worth emulating. This book takes us through the entire process of writing a book from idea to final product. It is a very informative book and really helps you appreciate what lengths the author goes through to produce the final product.

One of the most important parts of the book, and something that you can really tell from reading her books, is the relationship between plot and characters and how important they are to one another. Plot informs the characters, characters build on the plot and vice versa. Great write advice and one of the best books on the craft of writing out there.

When Does The Next Elizabeth George book come out?

Elizabeth George doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Something to Hide and was released on January, 10th 2022. It is the newest book in the Inspector Lynley Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *