Saratoga Woods Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Saratoga Woods book series is a book series also known as the Whidbey Island Saga series and the Edge of Nowhere series. Written by the famous adult mystery writer Elizabeth George, the magnificent book series falls nothing short of what her fans expect of her. Elizabeth does a great job of weaving an intriguing mystery story that teenagers find captivating, which is no mean achievement for a writer whose books are usually meant for adults. The first book, called Edge of Nowhere, introduces Becca King as the main character, a young girl who possesses mystic powers of hearing people’s thoughts.

Get notified when Elizabeth George releases a new book at

Order of Saratoga Woods Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Edge of Nowhere ( By: Elizabeth George) 2011 Description / Buy
2 The Edge of the Water ( By: Elizabeth George) 2014 Description / Buy
3 The Edge of the Shadows ( By: Elizabeth George) 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Edge of the Light ( By: Elizabeth George) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Edge of Nowhere Awards:

The first book in the series, The Edge of Nowhere, is a masterpiece that has been nominated for two awards. The book was once nominated for the prestigious Edgar award, and in another instance, for the Agatha Award.

Best Edge of Nowhere Books

The Edge of Nowhere is perhaps the most outstanding book in the Whidbey Island Saga series. It has a nice plot and characters that are very well developed. Elizabeth portrays the humaneness of her characters is an awe- inspiring way, and makes it very easy for her readers to identify well with them.

The main protagonist in the book is a 14- year old girl, Becca King. Becca has the rare ability to hear what people are thinking, something she calls “whispers”. This ability is a double- edged sword: it can be her greatest strength or her greatest weakness. Being such a young girl, she can easily be manipulated by the grown-ups in her life so that they use the ability to achieve their own selfish ends. This does indeed happen, as Becca’s step- father uses her powers to embezzle funds from clueless victims. When Becca realizes what her father has been using her ability for, and how deeply steeped in crime he is, she decided to flee from him, with the help of her mother. Her mother sends her to Whidbey Island in the State of Washington to live with some friends, while she will herself try to escape to Canada. Becca’s mother does not make it to Canada, and to Becca’s utter shock, there is no one to pick her up in Washington. She is all alone and has to fend for herself.

Unknown to her, she will be spending the next four years in Whidbey. While in Whidbey, she makes new friends. One of her new- found friends, Derric, is a Ugandan orphan who was adopted by a couple that lives in Whidbey. Seth, Derric’s foster father, is a kind- hearted musician and a high school dropout, while his wife, Debbie, is a recovering alcoholic who has a strange past. Becca also meets Diana, with whom she shares a peculiar psychotic connection.
The book is a compelling must- read for mystery lovers, and the mystery is also coupled with romance that is bound to keep the reader glued to the book.

Another intriguing book in the Whidbey Island saga series is the novel entitled Edge of The Light. The book still features most of the characters in Edge of Nowhere, but with the inclusion of several new others. In this book, Seth, the simplistic man, finds himself in a rather complicated situation. He needs to take care of his ailing grandfather, and keep him safe from the clutches of his overly- ambitious aunt, who wants to inherit the ailing man’s estate at the first opportunity. Derric also has a tale to tell, a story about his sister, Rejoice, whom he left in Uganda. The interesting bit of it all is that no one except Derric, not even Rejoice, has the faintest idea that she is related to Derric. Jenn is also between a rock and a hard place, because she is torn between admitting that she has romantic feelings for her friend, Cynthia, and keeping quiet so that her religious mother does not get offended. But it is Becca who has the greatest secret of all. This book is an emotional roller- coaster as people open up and reveal their deepest secrets- some of which are life changing.

Other Book Series You May Like

People who read Edge of Nowhere also liked “Domino Falls” by Steven Barnes, an absorbing story about an unexpected Freak Day, where people inexplicably started biting friend and foe alike, and all those who got bitten would fall into a deep sleep and upon waking up, they would be freaks themselves. Another fascinating book is Emily’s Dress and Other Missing Things by Kathryn Burak, which tells the story of mysterious disappearances.

What Is The Next Book in The Saratoga Woods Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Saratoga Woods Series. The newest book is The Edge of the Light and was released on August, 16th 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *