Elizabeth Peters Books

Elizabeth Peters is the pseudonym of Barbara Louise Mertz born on September 29th, 1927 in Canton, Illinois. Peters went to the University of Chicago where she graduated with a bachelor’s degree in 1947 and 1952 with a Ph.D. in Egyptology. The author primarily wrote suspense and mystery novels, but she also wrote two books about the ancient Egypt, books that have continuously been reprinted since first publication.

Order of Georgetown Series as Barbara Michaels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ammie Come Home 1968 Description / Buy
2 Shattered Silk 1986 Description / Buy
3 Stitches in Time 1995 Description / Buy

Order of Jacqueline Kirby Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Seventh Sinner 1972 Description / Buy
2 The Murders of Richard III 1974 Description / Buy
3 Die for Love 1984 Description / Buy
4 Naked Once More 1989 Description / Buy

Order of Vicky Bliss Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Borrower of the Night 1973 Description / Buy
2 Street of the Five Moons 1978 Description / Buy
3 Silhouette in Scarlet 1983 Description / Buy
4 Trojan Gold 1987 Description / Buy
5 Night Train to Memphis 1994 Description / Buy
6 The Laughter of Dead Kings 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Amelia Peabody Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Crocodile on the Sandbank 1975 Description / Buy
2 The Curse of the Pharaohs 1981 Description / Buy
3 The Mummy Case 1985 Description / Buy
4 Lion in the Valley 1986 Description / Buy
5 The Deeds of the Disturber 1988 Description / Buy
6 The Last Camel Died at Noon 1991 Description / Buy
7 The Snake, the Crocodile and the Dog 1992 Description / Buy
8 The Hippopotamus Pool 1996 Description / Buy
9 Seeing a Large Cat 1997 Description / Buy
10 The Ape Who Guards the Balance 1998 Description / Buy
11 The Falcon at the Portal 1999 Description / Buy
12 He Shall Thunder in the Sky 2000 Description / Buy
13 Lord of the Silent 2001 Description / Buy
14 The Golden One 2002 Description / Buy
15 Children of the Storm 2003 Description / Buy
16 Guardian of the Horizon 2004 Description / Buy
17 The Serpent on the Crown 2005 Description / Buy
18 Tomb of the Golden Bird 2006 Description / Buy
19 A River in the Sky 2010 Description / Buy
20 The Painted Queen ( With: Joan Hess) 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Someone in the House Series as Barbara Michaels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Someone in the House 1981 Description / Buy
2 Black Rainbow 1982 Description / Buy

Order of Elizabeth Peters Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Jackal's Head 1968 Description / Buy
2 The Camelot Caper 1969 Description / Buy
3 The Dead Sea Cipher 1970 Description / Buy
4 The Night of Four Hundred Rabbits 1971 Description / Buy
5 Legend in Green Velvet 1976 Description / Buy
6 Devil May Care 1977 Description / Buy
7 Summer of the Dragon 1979 Description / Buy
8 The Love Talker 1980 Description / Buy
9 The Copenhagen Connection 1982 Description / Buy

Order of Elizabeth Peters Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Temples, Tombs & Hieroglyphs ( By: Barbara Mertz) 1964 Description / Buy
2 Red Land, Black Land 1967 Description / Buy
3 Amelia Peabody's Egypt 2003 Description / Buy

Order of Malice Domestic Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Malice Domestic 1 1992 Description / Buy
2 Malice Domestic 2 ( By: Mary Higgins Clark) 1993 Description / Buy
3 Malice Domestic 5 ( By: Phyllis A. Whitney) 1996 Description / Buy
4 Malice Domestic 7 ( By: Sharyn McCrumb) 1998 Description / Buy
5 Malice Domstic 8 ( By: Margaret Maron) 1999 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Peters had two children, Elizabeth and Peter Mertz, and became a published writer in 1964. Under the pen name Barbara Michaels, she wrote supernatural and gothic thrillers. The publisher chose that name since Mertz had already published a nonfiction novel about the ancient Egypt thus did not want the readers to confuse Mertz academic work with her novels.

Under the pen name Elizabeth Peters, the author published Amelia Peabody Historical Mystery series using a pen name drawn from her two children.

Before her demise, she was a part of Editorial Advisory Board of KMT, James Henry Breasted Circle of the University of Chicago, and Egypt Exploration Society.

Elizabeth Peters died at her home in Maryland on 8th August 2013 aged 85.

There are several fictions written by Barbara Mertz under the nom de plume Elizabeth Peters and include; Amelia Peabody series which contains a total of 19 books and the most recent one A River in the Sky released in 2010. Other series include the Vicky Bliss Mysteries, & Jacqueline Kirby series.


Elizabeth Peters received several awards and nominations for her distinguished work. For instance, Trojan Gold was listed for 1988 Anthony Award for the best novel prize. In 1989, Naked Once More was the winner of Agatha Award for best novel category and following this win, the author a series of Agatha Award nominations. In 2002, the author won the final Agatha Award for the best novel category for The Golden One and in 2004, Amelia Peabody Egypt: A Compendium was nominated for Edgar Award.

Peters was a recipient of numerous lifetime and grandmaster achievement awards including the Lifetime Achievement Award which she received at the Malice Domestic Convention. She was named Grandmaster at the 1986 Anthony Awards.


Aimee Come Home was adapted into a 1970 television film by the name The House that would not die starring the one famous actor Barbara Stanwyck featured as Ruth Bennet. Subsequently, in 1996 The Crying Child was adapted into a movie by the same name, the film features Finola Hughes, Mariel Hemingway, and George DelHoyo.


Elizabeth Peters is known for many great novels as well as series. However, these are the best two books by the New York Times bestselling author.

Crocodile on the Sandbank: This is the debut book in Amelia Peabody series, the events depicted in the novel takes place in 1884. Amelia Peabody, a 32-year old strong-willed spinster, decides to use her inheritance to indulge in what she loves most, Egyptology. Then On her route to Egypt she encounters a woman named Evelyn. The pair become great buddies and travel together encountering the adventures that the African desert country has to offer.

The Curse of the Pharaohs: Half a decade has passed since the events of the series opener novel Crocodile on the Sandbank. It is 1889, Amelia now 37 year, married to Radcliffe Emerson are have their first born child since the last book ended with the couple expecting their firstborn child.

Walter is the name of their child, named after Radcliffe brother; his personality matches that of his father. Parenthood has since kept the couple in England though longing to go back to England for their archeological work.

Lord Baskerville makes the headlines after claims that he has discovered a royal tomb in the Valley of the Kings. However, his sudden and mysterious death the night after which the tomb was broken into, and the disappearance of his partner working with him makes everyone think that there is a supernatural ancient curse at work.

Baskerville widow had worked with Radcliffe some years ago now requests him to take charge to retrieve her husband’s body. With heat finally building up, Amelia and her husband will soon discover that no all the mysteries that are of the past since the present is a mystery as well.

Amelia Peabody series is a well written, engaging and entertaining novel. Amelia is an excellent character, and the same applies to Emerson, her husband. If you love suspense and mystery novels, you will fall in love with Elizabeth Peter books.

When Does The Next Elizabeth Peters book come out?

Elizabeth Peters doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Amelia Peabody's Egypt and was released on July, 25th 2017. It is the newest book in the Elizabeth Peters Non-Fiction Books.