Erik Larsen Books

Writer, publisher and artists, Erik Larsen is best known for his works on Spiderman and Savage Dragon. He was born on the 8th December 1962 in Minneapolis, Minnesota. While growing up in Albion, California and Bellingham, Washington he developed various comic books, which featured a character known as The Dragon. Ever since, he created the character, he has been describing him as a batman character who owned a car copied from the movie, Speed Racer 5. Larsen has worked for AC comics and while there he worked on the DNAgents and Sentinels of Justice.

Order of Erik Larsen Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Image Comics 2002 Description / Buy
2 Fantastic Four 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Erik Larsen Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ranger Knowledge 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Popgun Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Popgun, Vol. 1 2007 Description / Buy

Order of Savage Dragon Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Savage Dragon, Vol. 1 1993 Description / Buy
2 Savage Dragon, Vol. 2 1996 Description / Buy
3 Savage Dragon, Vol. 3 1998 Description / Buy
4 Savage Dragon, Vol. 4 1998 Description / Buy
5 Savage Dragon, Vol. 5 1999 Description / Buy
6 Savage Dragon, Vol. 6 2000 Description / Buy
7 Savage Dragon, Vol. 7 2001 Description / Buy
8 Savage Dragon, Vol. 8 2003 Description / Buy
9 Savage Dragon, Vol. 9 2004 Description / Buy
10 Savage Dragon, Vol. 10 2004 Description / Buy
11 Savage Dragon, Vol. 11 2007 Description / Buy
12 Savage Dragon: Back In Blue 2010 Description / Buy
13 Savage Dragon: Identity Crisis 2010 Description / Buy
14 Savage Dragon: United We Stand 2010 Description / Buy
15 Savage Dragon: Dragon War 2010 Description / Buy
16 Savage Dragon: Emperor Dragon 2011 Description / Buy
17 Twisted Savage Dragon Funnies 2011 Description / Buy
18 Savage Dragon: Kids Are Alright 2011 Description / Buy
19 Savage Dragon 2012 Description / Buy
20 Savage Dragon on Trial 2013 Description / Buy
21 Savage Dragon: The End 2014 Description / Buy
22 Savage Dragon: A New Beginning! 2014 Description / Buy
23 Savage Dragon: Changes (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy
24 Savage Dragon: Growing Pains 2016 Description / Buy
25 Savage Dragon: Legacy 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Spider-Man (1990) Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Spider-Man #21 (Short Story) 1992 Description / Buy
2 Spider-Man 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Uncanny X-Men (1963) Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 X-Men Collector's Edition Vol. 1 (Short Story) ( By: Roy Thomas) 1981 Description / Buy
2 Stan Lee Presents ( By: Len Wein) 1982 Description / Buy
3 X-Men Visionaries ( By: Roy Thomas) 1996 Description / Buy
4 Wizard Masterpiece Edition Wolverine Volume 1 ( By: Peter David) 2004 Description / Buy
5 X-Men vs. Apocalypse, Vol. 1 2007 Description / Buy
6 Uncanny X-Men (Short Story) ( By: Ed Brubaker) 2008 Description / Buy
7 Marvel Masterworks: The Uncanny X-Men 1975-76 ( By: Len Wein) 2008 Description / Buy
8 X-Men ( By: Mike Carey) 2008 Description / Buy
9 X-Men ( By: Mike Carey) 2008 Description / Buy
10 X-Men ( By: Matt Fraction) 2010 Description / Buy
11 X-Men: Fall of the Mutants Omnibus ( By: Peter David, , , , Steve Englehart, , , , Walter Simonson) 2011 Description / Buy
12 Marvel Platinum: The Definitive Wolverine Reloaded ( By: Peter David, Larry Hama) 2013 Description / Buy
13 X-Men/Avengers ( By: Jeph Loeb) 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Wolverine Epic Collection Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wolverine Epic Collection Vol. 1: Madripoor Nights ( With: , , , Peter David, Christopher Golden, Larry Hama, , , , , , , , , , Mike Mignola, , Walter Simonson, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , John Ostrander) 2014 Description / Buy
2 Wolverine Epic Collection Vol. 8 ( By: Larry Hama) 2015 Description / Buy
3 Wolverine Epic Collection Vol. 12 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

After working for AC comics, he later on went to work for DC comics. While working for DC comics, he worked on Teen Titans, Doom Patrol, The Outsiders and Adventures of Superman. At Marvel comics, his first work was on Thor. Later on, he did a fill-in story on Thor, which was inked by Vince Colletta. Later on, he worked on the Amazing Spider Man and the Punisher, this time working for Marvel. In the year 1990, Larsen replaced Todd McFarlene on issue number 329 of the Amazing Spiderman. Together with writer David, Larsen illustrated various stories such as The Return of Sinister Six, The Cosmic Spiderman and the Powerless Spiderman.

Erik Larsen Book Awards

In the year 2016, Larsen received a nomination for the Inkwell Awards.

Erik Larsen Books into Movies

Since he is a comic writer, many of Larsen’s books were adapted into movies and TV series. One of the comic books that he created is Thor. The character in the book is based on a Norse Mythology deity who is the Arsgadian God of Thunder. Thor possesses an enchanted hummer, which gives him the ability to fly and also manipulate weather. Thor first debuted on Silver of Age comics on the Journey into Mystery book number 83. The book was later to be adapted into movie with Chris Hemsworth taking the leading role.

Some of the other works that he has both been involved in writing and illustrating is the Fantastic 4, Nova, Wolverine and The Defenders. He has also been involved in the creation of Aqua Man. All of these comic books were later on adapted into movies. In the year 1990, Eric Larsen replaced Todd McFarlene in the creation of The Amazing Spiderman.

Erik Larsen Best Books

In the year 1992, while seeking for greater control and profit over the work that they had created, Larsen and six others left Marvel to form their own company Image Comics. While working for the newly formed company, Larsen launched a new series, which featured a reworked version of Savage Dragon. During this, time the dragon was an enormously muscled green amnesiac, who joined the Chicago area police department after being found in a burning field. Previously, it had debuted in a three-issue miniseries. After being released the series was met with more than enough success for it to be made into a monthly series.

Up to this day, Larsen continues to not only write but to also illustrate the series. He has also continued to maintain a reasonably consistent monthly schedule when compared to the other Image comic titles. From time to time, Larsen has continued to produce ancillary miniseries. In the 1990’s Larsen published several titles under Highbrow Entertainment. The titles published titles included Freak Force, Deadly Duo and Savage Dragon. Savage Dragon is one of the few books being published and also is the only one being drawn and written by its creator. Savage Dragon was adapted into 26 short-lived episodes by the USA Network.

Larsen was also involved in the creation of Freak Force, an animation which went ahead to become a huge success. Freak Force was the name given to a group of bounty hunters who possessed super human ability and were operating in Chicago Illinois. All these characters originated from the comic series Savage Dragon. Subsequently, all these characters went on to appear in their very own series. All the characters in the comic book were part of a failed freak force program by the Chicago police department where the department tried to recruit super powered officers into the police force. The characters included Dart, Horridus and Rapture. Their tenure as police officers was very brief and was also full of disaster.

When Does The Next Erik Larsen book come out?

Erik Larsen doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Wolverine Epic Collection and was released on February, 14th 2017. It is the newest book in the Wolverine Marvel Comics Series.