Savage Dragon Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Superhuman humanoids are often portrayed as rebellious, carefree, security threat, and madder than scrapyard dogs when provoked, if characters such as Hulk are anything to go by. As such, it is an interesting and mind-blowing aspect when humanoids are used to bolster security. The Savage Dragon series vividly describes a suchlike scenario.

Get notified when Erik Larsen releases a new book at

Order of Savage Dragon Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Savage Dragon, Vol. 1 ( By: Erik Larsen) 1993 Description / Buy
2 Savage Dragon, Vol. 2 ( By: Erik Larsen) 1996 Description / Buy
3 Savage Dragon, Vol. 3 ( By: Erik Larsen) 1998 Description / Buy
4 Savage Dragon, Vol. 4 ( By: Erik Larsen) 1998 Description / Buy
5 Savage Dragon, Vol. 5 ( By: Erik Larsen) 1999 Description / Buy
6 Savage Dragon, Vol. 6 ( By: Erik Larsen) 2000 Description / Buy
7 Savage Dragon, Vol. 7 ( By: Erik Larsen) 2001 Description / Buy
8 Savage Dragon, Vol. 8 ( By: Erik Larsen) 2003 Description / Buy
9 Savage Dragon, Vol. 9 ( By: Erik Larsen) 2004 Description / Buy
10 Savage Dragon, Vol. 10 ( By: Erik Larsen) 2004 Description / Buy
11 Savage Dragon, Vol. 11 ( By: Erik Larsen) 2007 Description / Buy
12 Savage Dragon: Back In Blue ( By: Erik Larsen) 2010 Description / Buy
13 Savage Dragon: Identity Crisis ( By: Erik Larsen) 2010 Description / Buy
14 Savage Dragon: United We Stand ( By: Erik Larsen) 2010 Description / Buy
15 Savage Dragon: Dragon War ( By: Erik Larsen) 2010 Description / Buy
16 Savage Dragon: Emperor Dragon ( By: Erik Larsen) 2011 Description / Buy
17 Twisted Savage Dragon Funnies ( By: Erik Larsen) 2011 Description / Buy
18 Savage Dragon: Kids Are Alright ( By: Erik Larsen) 2011 Description / Buy
19 Savage Dragon ( By: Erik Larsen) 2012 Description / Buy
20 Savage Dragon on Trial ( By: Erik Larsen) 2013 Description / Buy
21 Savage Dragon: The End ( By: Erik Larsen) 2014 Description / Buy
22 Savage Dragon: A New Beginning! ( By: Erik Larsen) 2014 Description / Buy
23 Savage Dragon: Changes (Short Story) ( By: Erik Larsen) 2015 Description / Buy
24 Savage Dragon: Growing Pains ( By: Erik Larsen) 2016 Description / Buy
25 Savage Dragon: Legacy ( By: Erik Larsen) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Get notified when Erik Larsen releases a new book at

Order of Savage Dragon (single issues - 200-250) Series

# Read Title Published Details
Print: Print PDF

For starters, The Dragon is the featured central character in the Savage Dragon series authored by American author and penciler-cum-inker Erik Larsen. Incidentally, the protagonist’s real identity is Kurr and is also known as Officer Dragon, Mr Dragon, or simply as Dragon. The said series, which is comprised of 32 primary works and is divided into volumes and has respective omnibuses, is among Larsen’s most notable works.

The first book featuring The Dragon was Graphic Fantasy that Larsen self-published in 1982. By then it was named Paul Dragon; furthermore, Larsen was in his formative years and attending an elementary school at the time. However, Larsen’s writing skill has matured since then. The Dragon reappeared in January 1993 in the Savage Dragon series, in a volume aptly titled Savage Dragon: Baptism of Fire. The said volume is the first in the aforementioned series, chronologically. This series of books is shelved under the adventure, sequential art (comics and graphic novels categories), and–as a result of the associated superhero–speculative fiction genres.

Meet The Dragon. The Dragon is not your typical protagonist. First, it is a huge humanoid. Secondly, it has a green skin and fin-like body parts; these attributes inside the name Dragon. Third it has hysterical strength and a healing factor that can allow it overcome injuries and diseases. On the flip side; The Dragon is amnesiac as its past is hazy and episodic, except when it woke up during an inferno in a blazing Chicago field.

The first book in the Save Dragon series, Savage Dragon, Vol. 1: Baptism of Fire, principally recounts The Dragon’s stint as a Chicago-based police officer and battling a criminal ring masterminded by a criminal called OverLord. By then The Dragon served in the Chicago Police Department.

By the time The Dragon was chanced upon in the inferno by a high-profile police officer called Lieutenant Frank Darling, it was well-timed because by then Chicago was at the mercy of a criminal group named Vicious Circle who ringleader was OverLord. This augured well for the police because the said criminal gang has superpowers and thus The Dragon’s superhuman powers could also be used to counter those criminals. The Dragon takes on the mutant superpowers and the ways through which the gang intimidates The Dragon not only gives the ensuing story literary merit but is also a stamp of approval that Larsen deserved the Inkwell Awards nomination.

Savage Dragon Awards

Author Erik Larsen was nominated for the 2016 All-in-One Award during the Inkwell Awards. In 2004, Larsen’s book called The Devil in the White City clinched an Edgar Award, under the Best Fact Crime section.

Savage Dragon Books into TV series

There is a TV series called The Savage Dragon. This animated film, which is based on a similarly titled work authored by Larsen, had 26 episodes and aired between September 1995 and December 1996. Among the creatures from the book which are featured in the TV series include She-Dragon, OverLord, and Horde. The TV series starred Jim Cummings who voiced The Dragon.

Best Savage Dragon Series Books

The following are the best three books in Larsen’s extensive Savage Dragon series.

Savage Dragon, Vol. 1: Baptism of Fire: The first one has already been described above.

Savage Dragon, Volume 2: A Force to be Reckoned With: Hot on the heels of The Dragon fighting WildStar- OverLord and The Dragon battle it out.

Savage Dragon, Vol. 3: The Fallen:The third book in the series leaves the latter nursing serious injuries.

Other Book Series You May Like

Readers who enjoyed the Savage Dragon crafted by Erik Larsen also marveled at the following series of books. The first one is called “Lobster Johnson” series penned by Mike Mignola. The featured protagonist, Lobster Johnson, is a crime-fighter. The second one is titled the “Mage” series and is authored by Matt Wagner. The protagonist, Kevin Matchstick, is assisted by a wizard and teams up with other heroes to fight supernatural threats.

The third one is named “The Incredible Hulk” series authored by Bruce Jones, and features protagonist Bruce Banner. Just like The Dragon, this is a superhuman humanoid, albeit fighting for self-preservation.

What Is The Next Book in The Savage Dragon Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Savage Dragon Series. The newest book is Savage Dragon: Legacy and was released on December, 13th 2016.

1 thought on “Savage Dragon”

  1. OK so I normally don’t read comics/graphic novels, but I’ve read a few of these and they’re not bad! I haven’t read them chronologically but the few I’ve read have been fun reads. The name itself caught me; how could I not read something titled “Savage Dragon”? I think kids and adults would like these, and they’re a great option for anyone with nostalgia fever.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *