Faye Kellerman Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Faye Kellerman is a mystery novelist best known for her Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus series of novels. She has written more than twenty books featuring these two characters since 1986. As an Orthodox Jew, many of Kellerman’s novels reflect upon many themes relating to the Jewish faith. The characters in the book are ones that are rather close to the Jewish faith with a yeshiva, a place where people study the religion and its many texts, being a prominent site where much of the action takes place.

On this page we provide all of Faye Kellermans books in order. We list them in publication order and if there is a difference in the chronological order we will let you know!

Faye Kellerman originally planned on being a dentist. She graduated from UCLA in 1974 and earned her Doctorate in Dental Surgery a few years later. However, she was a housewife when he published her first novel. She says that she doesn’t recall the moment that prompted her to become a mystery novelist but she knew that she had a strong imagination and a strong fascination with criminal justice. Her husband Jonathan and children Jesse and Aliza are also novelists. Faye wrote a few books with Jonathan and also co-write Aliza’s 2009 debut young adult novel Prism.

Order of Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Series

1The Ritual Bath 1986Description / Buy
2Sacred and Profane 1987Description / Buy
3Milk and Honey 1990Description / Buy
4Day of Atonement 1991Description / Buy
5False Prophet 1992Description / Buy
6Grievous Sin 1993Description / Buy
7Sanctuary 1994Description / Buy
8Justice 1995Description / Buy
9Prayers for the Dead 1996Description / Buy
10Serpent's Tooth 1997Description / Buy
11Jupiter's Bones 1999Description / Buy
12Stalker 2000Description / Buy
13The Forgotten 2001Description / Buy
14Stone Kiss 2002Description / Buy
15Street Dreams 2003Description / Buy
16The Burnt House 2007Description / Buy
17The Mercedes Coffin / Cold Case 2008Description / Buy
18Blindman's Bluff 2009Description / Buy
19Hangman 2010Description / Buy
20Gun Games 2011Description / Buy
21The Beast 2013Description / Buy
22Murder 101 2014Description / Buy
23The Theory of Death 2015Description / Buy
24Bone Box 2017Description / Buy
25Walking Shadows 2018Description / Buy
26The Lost Boys 2021Description / Buy

Order of Faye Kellerman Standalone Novels

1The Quality of Mercy 1989Description / Buy
2Moon Music 1998Description / Buy
3Double Homicide 2004Description / Buy
4Straight into Darkness 2005Description / Buy
5Capital Crimes 2006Description / Buy
6Prism 2009Description / Buy
7The Voiceless (Short Story) 2016Description / Buy
8Killing Season 2016Description / Buy

Order of Faye Kellerman Short Story Collections

1The Garden of Eden and Other Criminal Delights 2006Description / Buy

Faye Kellerman Anthologies

1 A Woman's Eye1991Description / Buy
2 Women of Mystery1992Description / Buy
3 The Year's 25 Finest Crime and Mystery Stories1992Description / Buy
4 Mothers and Daughters1998Description / Buy
5 Diagnosis Dead1999Description / Buy
6 Naked Came the Phoenix2001Description / Buy
7 No Rest for the Dead2011Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

That is the complete Faye Kellerman books in order.

Faye Kellerman Awards

Faye Kellerman won a Macavity award in 1987 for having the best first novel in the mystery field. She won this for her work on the Ritual Bath, a book that was first published in 1986. This is an award bestowed to her by the Mystery Readers International organization. Kellerman also received an Anthony Award nomination for the same book in that same category in 1987. The book was highly regarded as being a unique look into a man who looks into a serious criminal case while discovering the Jewish faith and being more in touch with his personal history.

Kellerman’s work has continued to be respected by people within the mystery community. Her works have reached the New York Times bestseller chart on many occasions and continue to bring about a devoted series of fans.

Best Faye Kellerman Books

Many of the books that Faye Kellerman has written feature Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus. Lazarus is an Orthodox Jew while Decker is a man who returned back to his Jewish roots after he first met Rina during an investigation near a yeshiva. The stories have gone all around Los Angeles and have entailed the two looking through many strange cases within the city and unraveling the mysteries that surround them all. Many of Kellerman’s books have featured these two great characters and have reached the book charts many times over, thus making them big stars in the mystery world.

Sacred and Profane: The second book in the Decker and Lazarus series, this was released in 1987. While Peter is becoming closer to Rina’s sons and has been studying the Jewish faith a little more, his studies have become strained during a tough criminal investigation. Two teenage girls were murdered somewhere in Hollywood as Peter is brought into a case that hits close to home and triggers the worries he has as a parent.

Milk and Honey: Milk and Honey is the third Decker and Lazarus novel. This one was published in 1990 entails Peter discovering a girl covered in someone else’s blood. However, no one is willing to claim the girl. He becomes obsessed in trying to find out who this girl belongs to as the search leads him to many other crime scenes where many other people have been murdered. This comes in a world where Peter becomes horrified as Rina struggles to try and help him in a case that continues to become more surprising as each day passes.

Hangman: The nineteenth book in Kellerman’s series was released in 2010. A man who spent years in prison to save a classmate from testifying in a murder case is released and soon starts to murder other people. Peter had bene in direct contact with the man’s wife for years. Soon after the murderer is loose, his wife goes missing. This leads Peter into a labyrinth that leads into another murder case involving a local nurse. This creates a strong mystery as there is a belief that the nurse that was murdered was killed because of her carefree lifestyle but there is much more to the case than what people might see, thus making it all the more complicated and intriguing.

Faye Kellerman Books In Order

Our website contains a list of all of Faye Kellermans books in order broken down by standalone novels and series.

When Does The Next Faye Kellerman book come out?

Faye Kellerman doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Lost Boys and was released on January, 12th 2021. It is the newest book in the Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Series.


2 thoughts on “Faye Kellerman”

  1. I really enjoy Faye Kellerman’s novel, but I don’t se the need for the bad language! She could make her points just as well without all of the F bombs! I was married to a COP and have a lot of friends who are in law enforcement. and it is not a standard practice to talk like that!

  2. The Decker/Lazarus series aren’t that bad, but the few I’ve read are incredibly complicated. While Kellerman does a great job of keeping all the plots flowing, it can be hard to follow. You really need to pay attention to the book while reading it, as you can miss important details if you zone out for even half a page. I guess that is a good thing about the author though, in that every word she writes has a purpose toward the overall story (even if there are several stories within the story to follow). Decent reads, but can be confusing to follow.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *