Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Peter Decker is the main character in a series of mystery novels written by Faye Kellerman. Peter Decker is a lieutenant in the LAPD, he assisted in unraveling crimes by his wife who is known as Rina Lazarus. The author of the series Faye Kellerman, was a Dentist who turned out to be an author, and she’s one of the New York Times top selling author. She is popularly known for this series.

Get notified when Faye Kellerman releases a new book at

Order of Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Ritual Bath ( By: Faye Kellerman) 1986 Description / Buy
2 Sacred and Profane ( By: Faye Kellerman) 1987 Description / Buy
3 Milk and Honey ( By: Faye Kellerman) 1990 Description / Buy
4 Day of Atonement ( By: Faye Kellerman) 1991 Description / Buy
5 False Prophet ( By: Faye Kellerman) 1992 Description / Buy
6 Grievous Sin ( By: Faye Kellerman) 1993 Description / Buy
7 Sanctuary ( By: Faye Kellerman) 1994 Description / Buy
8 Justice ( By: Faye Kellerman) 1995 Description / Buy
9 Prayers for the Dead ( By: Faye Kellerman) 1996 Description / Buy
10 Serpent's Tooth ( By: Faye Kellerman) 1997 Description / Buy
11 Jupiter's Bones ( By: Faye Kellerman) 1999 Description / Buy
12 Stalker ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2000 Description / Buy
13 The Forgotten ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2001 Description / Buy
14 Stone Kiss ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2002 Description / Buy
15 Street Dreams ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2003 Description / Buy
16 The Burnt House ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2007 Description / Buy
17 The Mercedes Coffin / Cold Case ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2008 Description / Buy
18 Blindman's Bluff ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2009 Description / Buy
19 Hangman ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2010 Description / Buy
20 Gun Games / Blood Games ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2011 Description / Buy
21 The Beast / Predator ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2013 Description / Buy
22 Murder 101 ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2014 Description / Buy
23 The Theory of Death ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2015 Description / Buy
24 Bone Box ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2017 Description / Buy
25 Walking Shadows ( By: Faye Kellerman) 2018 Description / Buy
26 The Lost Boys (By: Faye Kellerman) 2021 Description / Buy
27 The Hunt (By: Faye Kellerman) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The author was born in St. Louis, Missouri on 31/7/1952 in a Jewish community. Faye Kellerman was brought up in Sherman Oaks in California. She schooled at UCLA and attained a BA in mathematics and later, a doctorate in dentistry although she never worked as a dentist. She got married to Jonathan Kellerman who is a psychologist as well as a novelist. Together they have 4 children. Their eldest son Jesse is a writer as well.


This series usually features on the NYT bestseller’s list which is considered to be the final list of the top-selling books in the US. Faye Kellerman received the Macavity Award-literary award for mystery writers, in 1st best writer category. She was handed a Lifetime Achievement Award by Strand Magazine in 2013.


Below is a complete review of 2 of the best books in the Peter Decker/Rina Lazarus series that is authored by Faye Kellerman:

Milk and Honey: This is the third book in the series. In this book Rina lives in New York together with her 2 boys, but moves to Los Angeles to visit to Peter after the occurrence of an event. Peter is as determined as ever to make her accept his marriage proposal pulls out all the stops. In the meantime, the events that occur at work make Peter to be always tired.

On the day before her visit , Peter’s old military friend is accused of rape. Constantly having doubtful behavior, he doesn’t trust his lawyers or the police and instead turns to Peter for help , which Peter is accepts to provide. Meanwhile while Peter and his partner Marge Dunn are on the regular beat, they come across an abandoned 2 year old girl and they take up the case so as to find trace her family. The case develops from child neglect to quadruple homicide, and peter Decker willingly takes control of the case.

While he is working to resolve the 2 cases, his wife arrives and the 2 share a moment together. Unfortunately, peters army friend shows up at their house on the grounds of returning Peter’s favor, this makes both Peter and Rina to be uncomfortable. Discretely, they both seek advice from Rosh Yeshiva Rabbi Shulman. Just As in the 1st two books in the sequence, you will enjoy the conversation between Peter and the Rabbi. The Rabbi enlightens Peter and asks him to be a God fearing Jew.

False Prophet: This is the 5th in the Peter Decker/Rina Lazarus mystery sequence by Faye Kellerman. Both Peter and Rina Decker are settling into life as a family in this newest part of their series. Rina is 6 months pregnant, and the whole family is excitedly expecting the arrival of the baby. Cindy is going to stay together with the family during summer so as to help them out. In the meantime, Peter and Marge have both requested for a transfer so as to solve the homicide in the Devonshire station together with a new colleague by the name Scott Oliver. But Before their request is granted ; a rape and theft occur in the Deckers’ backyard, and therefore Peter and Marge are given the case.

Davida Eversong who is an actress and director Hermann Brecht have a daughter by the name Lilac Brecht. She is the only girl with 3 half siblings. She owns a day spa to so as to cater to the women of the upper class of the society. Always used to getting anything that they wanted, Lilah and Davida became spoiled. This case happened right after Rodney King and it features high profile characters, therefore, Los Angeles Police Department doesn’t want excessive publicity. Its only Peter and Marge who can keep the police force out of the publicity or in a positive light.

As the case disentangles, all the characters keep playing off each other , blackmail and all. In the meantime, Peter doubts his abilities as a father since it’s always hard for him to balance between work and home life. Although this mystery may not be at same level as the other installments but it’s a quick thriller nonetheless.


If you enjoy reading the Peter Decker/Rina Lazarus mystery series, probably you will certainly love The Rabbi Small Mysteries authored by Harry Kemelman. The Rabbi Small Mysteries is a sequence about a rabbi who investigates the killing of a nanny. You might also love Kendra Elliot’s Callahan and McLane series. The series is about an 11-year-old who is kidnapped while going to school as a result the FBI does not waste a moment.

What Is The Next Book in The Peter Decker And Rina Lazarus Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Peter Decker And Rina Lazarus Series. The newest book is The Hunt and was released on August, 23rd 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *