Frank Tuttle Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Frank Tuttle writes and lives in the wilderness of Northern Mississippi. He tried to write about southern things (like trucks and hound dogs), but magic and other fantasy elements just kept cropping up in his work instead. So Frank Tuttle is a fantasy author. That being said, sometimes hound dogs do pop up in his books. Tuttle is also a self published author and claims he thought that if he wrote for a living, that it would allow him to avoid doing honest, real work. He did not know how wrong he would be about that.

Get notified when Frank Tuttle releases a new book at

Order of Markhat Files Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Mister Trophy 2008 Description / Buy
2 Dead Man's Rain 2008 Description / Buy
3 Hold the Dark 2009 Description / Buy
4 The Cadaver Client 2009 Description / Buy
5 The Banshee's Walk 2010 Description / Buy
6 The Broken Bell 2011 Description / Buy
7 Brown River Queen 2013 Description / Buy
8 The Five Faces 2014 Description / Buy
9 The Darker Carnival 2015 Description / Buy
10 Way Out West 2016 Description / Buy
11 Three Mean Streets 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Paths of Shadow Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 All the Paths of Shadow 2011 Description / Buy
2 Saving the Sammi (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
3 All the Turns of Light 2014 Description / Buy
4 Every Wind of Change 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Frank Tuttle Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Knob Hill Haunt (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Frank Tuttle Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Passing the Narrows (Short Story) 2010 Description / Buy

Order of Frank Tuttle Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wistril Compleat 2001 Description / Buy
2 Socialists, Socialites, and Sociopaths 2007 Description / Buy
3 Mallara and Burn: On the Road (Short Story) 2009 Description / Buy
4 The Far Corners 2010 Description / Buy

Order of Frank Tuttle Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The New Author's Guide to Writing 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

In the nineties, Frank Tuttle’s early work has appeared in Marion Zimmer Bradley’s Fantasy Magazine and Weird Tales. Since then, he has written the “Markhat” series and the young adult series called “Paths of Shadow” series, as well as some short fiction collections. He even wrote a book where he gives young writers tips and tricks about how to write stories.


For those readers out there looking to get into Frank Tuttle’s works, here are a couple of the best books of his to look at starting out.

The Mister Trophy: Released in 2008. The first book in the “Markhat” series, this novel introduces finder (private investigator) Markhat. Markhat is a wise-cracking, and hard-boiled detective in a magical world. When we first meet Marhat, he only wants to get a beer at his favorite watering hole, Eddie’s. Someone brings him a case that will bring him up against three vengeful Troll warriors. The trolls have hired Markhat to recover an artifact from vampires. There is also the possible return of the Troll War and Mama Hog’s magic. It was supposed to be a simple case, but it gets the vampires involved and all of a sudden, all hell breaks loose and Markhat tries to stay a step ahead of everything falling apart.

The Banshee’s Walk: Released in 2010. The fifth book in the “Markhat” series. In this novel, someone is mapping out Lady Erlorne Werewilk’s property at night, and hires Markhat to look into it. He expects yet another simple case ahead of him that involves someone planning a land grab. Markhat is working with his new partner on this case, named Gertriss. The first night of his taking the case, there is murder, a wail that haunts all who hear it (it may have even come from an actual banshee), and mayhem. Markhat must move fast and make a deal with an old enemy to make sure he can figure out what the hell is going on here and unlock the mystery of what is so important about Lady Werewilk’s lands.

The Broken Bell: Released in 2011. The sixth book in the “Markhat” series. The woman Markhat loves, named Darla, has bribed him with breakfast to take a case for her. Actually for Darla’s friend Tamar Fields, who wants her fiance found after vanished just before their wedding day. His family, who is very wealthy, insists repeatedly that he is simply away on important business. Tamar believes that it is a lie. He is also in the middle, due to Mama Hog saying something that she should not have said, of a Pot Luckery clan feud. There is war on the horizon, says some. As if that was not enough, Because of Tamar, Darla is now hearing wedding bells of her own, for her and Markhat. Markhat, through all of this, finds himself torn between many different things, and no matter how he turns, he thinks it will all come crashing down around him.

All the Paths of Shadow: Released in 2013. The first book in Frank Tuttle’s young adult series starring Meralda Ovis, newly appointed Mage to the Crown of Tirlin. The first thing she is supposed to do is to remove the shadow that is over the tower so that the king can give his commencement speech in the light. She is the first female as well as the youngest to ever hold the title of mage, Meralda sets out to prove that she is worthy of the title. There are secrets that go along with holding this title. Meralda will have to unravel a curse that is ancient and will spell Tirlin’s destruction. It has been laid by a villain seven thousand years before Meralda was even born.

When Does The Next Frank Tuttle book come out?

Frank Tuttle doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Every Wind of Change and was released on June, 22nd 2018. It is the newest book in the Paths of Shadow Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *