Markhat Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Markhat is a series of novels written by Frank Tuttle. Frank Tuttle lives in the North Mississippi region, and he is always complaining about how humid it tends to get. Before his success as a writer of fantasy novels like Markhat, Frank initially dabbled in Southern fiction.

Get notified when Frank Tuttle releases a new book at

Order of Markhat Files Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Mister Trophy ( By: Frank Tuttle) 2008 Description / Buy
2 Dead Man's Rain ( By: Frank Tuttle) 2008 Description / Buy
3 Hold the Dark ( By: Frank Tuttle) 2009 Description / Buy
4 The Cadaver Client ( By: Frank Tuttle) 2009 Description / Buy
5 The Banshee's Walk ( By: Frank Tuttle) 2010 Description / Buy
6 The Broken Bell ( By: Frank Tuttle) 2011 Description / Buy
7 Brown River Queen ( By: Frank Tuttle) 2013 Description / Buy
8 The Five Faces ( By: Frank Tuttle) 2014 Description / Buy
9 The Darker Carnival ( By: Frank Tuttle) 2015 Description / Buy
10 Way Out West ( By: Frank Tuttle) 2016 Description / Buy
11 Three Mean Streets ( By: Frank Tuttle) 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

However, that route didn’t pan out. Every effort Markhat made to pen his story only drew him into a world filled with magic and trolls. It wasn’t long before he began experimenting with the Young Adult genre.

Today, Tuttle has a garnered a niche following of readers who love and appreciate his unique approach to fantasy. The Makhart series of novels is one of his most popular. The books follow a hardboiled detective who lives in a world filled with magic.

As seen in The Mister Trophy, the first book in the series, Markhat, Mama Hog and Eddie live in the fictional town of Rannit. When the head of a troll goes missing, it comes down to Markhat to find it before all hell breaks loose.

Rannit can be a dangerous place, and if Markhat isn’t careful he might just as easily restart the Troll War. Markhat’s own head is on the line if he fails to accomplish his task; a task that was handed to him at Eddie’s where he was simply looking to have a beer in peace.

The Marhkat books have a lot of dark humor. They are also quite adventurous and action oriented, though Tuttle has been known to play with aspects of horror and even romance as the Markhat series progresses.

Many of Tuttle’s books tend to stand alone; in fact, the author tends to sell them on that aspect, the fact that he doesn’t bother teasing readers with cliffhangers and they can always enter the world of the Markhat series from any book.

Frank Tuttle is always expressing his surprise at all the success he has received as an author. He will be the first to complain about how difficult writing can be and all the chunks of hair he has pulled out of his head during his efforts to develop his plot and create his characters.

Tuttle doesn’t think publishing professionals make enough of an effort to tell aspiring writers just how hard writing can be.

Best Markhat Series books

The one think Frank Tuttle has going for him is the loyal following of readers he has attracted over the years, with the best Markhat series books including the following:

The Mister Trophy: Markhat is a finder who only wanted to get a Beer at Eddie’s. Instead, he is forced to face vengeful trolls, crazed vampires and backstreet magic when a dangerous case falls into his lap.

Soon, Markhat’s quiet neighborhood isn’t so quiet anymore. If Markhat doesn’t stay ahead of the oncoming disaster, he could soon lose his own head.

This book is actually a novella instead of a full novel. The book is barely 60 pages long, and it is designed to give readers a taste of the world of the Markhat series. The world introduced in this book is clearly magical.

However, there is very little active magic. Markhat is a finder who takes a task without fully understanding the context. Even though this book is short, there is more than enough character development to drive one to follow Markhat to the next book.

Frank Tuttle also provides hints of a grand history that might soon come into play.

The Darker Carnival: There is a Carnival turning the outskirts of Rannit into a realm of nightmares, which is bad for Markhat who is tasked by Mama Hog to go find the missing daughter of a Rancher.

The Finder is forced to enter the Carnival where he encounters some truly terrifying things. The Carnival has a dark heart and Markhat doesn’t have much time to find and strike it down before he loses his life.

This book begins with a distraught cattle rancher whose child goes missing. The rancher is sure he caught a glimpse of her in the Carnival. Now it is up to Markhat to find her. This book, while humorous, is also tinged with elements of horror.

Other Book Series you May Like

“The Edge” series by Ilona Andrews. The Edge is a place between the Broken and the Weird; a land that lies between the magical and the mundane, where fairies ran wild and aristocrats rule. These books revolve around the Edge and the characters that live within and must fight to overcome their respective demons.

“Devil’s Point” Series by Holly Lisle. A disgruntled individual convinces God to give some of Hell’s Denizens a second chance at life. The Devil is more than happy to release some of the damned souls, but only because he has something nefarious in mind.

What Is The Next Book in The Markhat Files Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Markhat Files Series. The newest book is Three Mean Streets and was released on January, 6th 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *