G.A. McKevett Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

G.A. McKevett is an American author who writes historical romance and cozy mysteries. Her fans have praised the author for her earthy humor. Readers can’t get enough of her fast-paced plots and quirky characters.

Get notified when G.A. McKevett releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Savannah Reid Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Just Desserts 1995 Description / Buy
2 Bitter Sweets 1996 Description / Buy
3 Killer Calories 1997 Description / Buy
4 Cooked Goose 1998 Description / Buy
5 Sugar and Spite 2000 Description / Buy
6 Sour Grapes 2001 Description / Buy
7 Peaches and Screams 2002 Description / Buy
8 Death by Chocolate 2003 Description / Buy
9 Cereal Killer 2004 Description / Buy
10 Murder à la Mode 2005 Description / Buy
11 Corpse Suzette 2006 Description / Buy
12 Fat Free and Fatal 2007 Description / Buy
13 Poisoned Tarts 2008 Description / Buy
14 A Body To Die For 2009 Description / Buy
15 Wicked Craving 2010 Description / Buy
16 A Decadent Way To Die 2011 Description / Buy
17 Buried In Buttercream 2012 Description / Buy
18 Killer Honeymoon 2013 Description / Buy
19 Killer Physique 2014 Description / Buy
20 Killer Gourmet 2015 Description / Buy
21 Killer Reunion 2016 Description / Buy
22 Every Body on Deck 2017 Description / Buy
23 Hide and Sneak 2018 Description / Buy
24 Bitter Brew 2019 Description / Buy
25 And the Killer Is . . . 2020 Description / Buy
26 A Few Drops of Bitters 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Dream Carver Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dream Carver (Short Story) 1989 Description / Buy
2 Carousel 1990 Description / Buy

Order of A Granny Reid Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Murder in Her Stocking 2018 Description / Buy
2 Murder in the Corn Maze 2019 Description / Buy
3 Murder at Mabel’s Motel 2021 Description / Buy
4 Murder Most Grave 2022 Description / Buy

Order of G.A. McKevett Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Legacy of the Wolf 1986 Description / Buy
2 Moon Song 1990 Description / Buy
3 Far and Away 1992 Description / Buy
4 The Dark Mirror 1996 Description / Buy
5 Betrayal 1996 Description / Buy
6 A Friend in Need (Short Story) 1997 Description / Buy

Order of G.A. Mckevett Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Janet Dailey Companion 1996 Description / Buy
2 The Complete Idiot's Guide to Irish History and Culture 1999 Description / Buy
3 Irish Pride 2000 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

McKevett is always making interesting observations about human nature. The author comes from a small town. But her upbringing was not as stable as people think. Her father was always dabbling in shady schemes.

He drew the ire of several attorney generals in various states. As such, the family was constantly moving. By the time she left her teenage years, the author was well-acquainted with small towns in the north, east, and west.

McKevett remembers returning home from school on more than one occasion to find that her parents had already packed the car with everything she owned. Despite the drawbacks of their nomadic lifestyle, the author enjoyed the adventurous aspects. She also appreciated the education.

By the time she entered adulthood, McKevett had a better understanding of human beings than many of her readers. This understanding informs the characters she creates. Interestingly, publishing was not the career McKevett wanted to pursue when she was young.

Like most children, the author had a wild imagination. She was more interested in becoming a go-go dancer, stewardess, and rock star before finally securing an oscar winning role in a Hollywood movie.

But she eventually succumbed to her passion for storytelling. The author still remembers the day she got the call from Silhouette Books. McKevett was living in California. Caller ID was not a thing at that time. But she knew it was a long-distance call because of the distinctive buzzing.

The author did quite a bit of screaming and shrieking when she got the news. The caller made her day when she referred to her as a first-time author. It was a dream come true. She enjoys her status as a full-time writer because McKevett is essentially self-employed.

That doesn’t mean she can slack off. Her writing sessions usually end at 3:00 am. Her mornings start with a strong cup of coffee. Then she tackles the business aspects of her career. In the afternoon, the only people that have access to McKevett are her children, grandchildren, and agent. Otherwise, she turns all electronic communications off and writes.

She will stop to watch BBC productions with her husband. But that is only during her breaks. Some days are difficult. But that doesn’t stop the author from showing up.

McKevett won’t permit her writing sessions to eat into her family time. Her grandchildren have hectic schedules. But they still come over for dinner when the situation allows. They will also spend the night.

The author loves traveling and socializing. But she’s happiest at home, celebrating holidays with her family, feeding the dogs, making jewelry, listening to music, doing needlework, and more.

Where her reading habits are concerned, McKevett doesn’t restrict herself to the cozy mystery genre. Her favorite writers include names like Stephen King, Morgan Llywelyn, and George R.R. Martin.

Best G.A. McKevett Books

‘G.A. McKevett’ is a pen name that belongs to Sonja Massie. McKevett’s best books include:

Just Desserts: Savannah Reid was a little too good at her job. She was investigating the murder of a victim with strong political connections when she made discoveries that cost the Southern woman her job.

But rather than sinking into despair, Savannah bounced back and opened a detective agency. Now, she must navigate a bevy of clues and suspects to find a killer.

Bitter Sweets: Savannah Reid would not stay down. When she was fired for asking the right questions, the former cop started Moonlight Magnolia Detective Agency. Savannah had a strong start. The big, sexy southerner had found a real estate broker’s long-lost sister.

But it would take more than a single victory to pay her rent. Savannah needed a juicy case. But when it finally came, the case placed the detective in a compromised position. Someone double-crossed Savannah, framing her for a crime she did not commit.

Now, she must find the real culprit before it’s too late. Fortunately, the police have a long list of prime suspects from the victim’s past, and none of them have alibis. Savannah will sift through the names until she finds the killer. Hopefully, she can clear her name before the killer strikes again.

When Does The Next G.A. McKevett book come out?

G.A. McKevett doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Murder Most Grave and was released on May, 31st 2022. It is the newest book in the A Granny Reid Mystery Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *