George R R Martin Books

George R.R. Martin mostly referred as GRRM is American author and a story writer in the horror, fantasy and science fiction genres, television producer and a screenwriter. He is famously known for his famous epic fantasy books, A Song of Ice and Fire which was adapted into the famous series Game of Thrones. George RR Martin actually assists the television series in his capacity of co-executive producer, allowing him to give advice and instruction, when required, on plotting and characterisation.

Order of A Song of Ice and Fire Series

# Read Title Published
1 A Game of Thrones 1996
2 A Clash of Kings 1998
3 A Storm of Swords 2000
4 A Feast for Crows 2005
5 A Dance with Dragons 2011

Order of A Song of Ice and Fire Companion Series

Order of George R.R. Martin Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published
1 A Song for Lya 1976
2 Songs of Stars and Shadows 1977
3 Portraits of His Children 1985
4 Quartet 1996
5 Old Venus 2015

Order of A Song of Ice and Fire Graphic Novels Series

Order of Game of Thrones Collection Series

# Read Title Published
1 A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms 2013

Order of Hedge Knight Graphic Novel Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Hedge Knight 1998
2 The Hedge Knight II: Sworn Sword 2008

Order of Dreamsongs Series

# Read Title Published
1 GRRM 2003
2 Dreamsongs, Volume I 2003
3 Dreamsongs, Volume II 2003

Order of Wild Cards Series

# Read Title Published
1 Wild Cards 1986
2 Aces High 1987
3 Jokers Wild 1987
4 Aces Abroad 1988
5 Down and Dirty 1988
6 Ace in the Hole 1990
7 Dead Man's Hand 1990
8 One-Eyed Jacks 1991
9 Jokertown Shuffle 1991
10 Double Solitaire 1992
11 Dealer's Choice 1992
12 Turn of the Cards 1993
13 Card Sharks 1993
14 Marked Cards 1994
15 Black Trump 1995
16 Deuces Down 2002
17 Death Draws Five 2006
18 Busted Flush 2008
19 Inside Straight 2008
20 Suicide Kings 2009
21 Fort Freak 2011
22 Lowball 2014
23 High Stakes 2016

Order of George R.R. Martin Standalone Novels

Order of New Voices in Science Fiction Series

Order of Night Visions Series

# Read Title Published
1 Night Visions 1986

Order of Warriors Series

# Read Title Published
1 Warriors 2 2010
2 Warriors 1 2010
3 Warriors 2010
4 Warriors 3 2011

Order of Dangerous Women Series

# Read Title Published
1 Dangerous Women 2013
2 Dangerous Women 1 2014
3 Dangerous Women 2 2014
4 Dangerous Women 3 2014

Order of George R.R. Martin Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Sandkings 1987
2 Wild Cards 1990

Order of Science Fiction Megapack Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Eighth Science Fiction Megapack 2013

Order of The Dying Earth Series

# Read Title Published
1 Songs of the Dying Earth 2009
2 Songs of the Dying Earth 2009

Order of Le trône de fer Series

# Read Title Published
1 Le bûcher d’un roi 2012


Print: Print PDF

Martin was born on 20th September 1948 in Bayonne, New Jersey. He is the son of Stevedore Raymond Collins Martin and Margaret Brady Martin. He is the elder brother to his two sisters, Janet and Darleen. His mother was half Irish while his father was of Italian descent. The author also possesses English, German, French and Welsh roots. Martin went to Mary Jane Donohoe School and later joined Marist High School. While at Marist, he became a diehard fan of comic books and developed a strong interest in the superheroes published by Marvel Comics. The author graduated from Northwestern University, Illinois in 1970, and completed his M.S in Journalism in 1971 from the same university. After university, George R.R Martin wrote science-fiction short stories to be published in magazines, and he picked up some success in the industry, albeit on a smaller scale than he is used to now. However, in 1983, things changed, and Martin’s failure to hit the big time with his fourth novel caused him to change tack and move into the world of television writing, and he stayed in the television industry for several years. The Hero his first single sale was purchased by Galaxy Magazine and was published in 1971 magazine issue. While in an East Coast Sci-Fi convention he met Gale Burnick and married her in 1975, however, they divorced in 1979. Martin married his long-term partner Paris McBride on 15th Feb 2011.


Martin’s has won and also been nominated for several of his prolific writings. Here are some notable awards by the author.

The Armageddon Rag was a nominee for the World Fantasy Award in 1984. A Clash of Kings won the 1999 Locus Award, nominee for the 1999 Nebula Awards and appeared on Publishers Weekly Starred Review in 1999. A Dance with Dragons won the 2011 Goodreads Choice Award and the 2012 Locus Award for best fantasy novel. The same novel was the nominee for 2012 Hugo Award and 2012 World Fantasy Award. A Game of Thrones won the 1997 Locus Award for Fantasy Novel category. The same book appeared in 1996 Kirkus and Publishers Weekly Starred Review. Portraits of His Children won the 1986 Nebula Award.


The popular television series Game of Thrones is an adaptation of A Song of Ice and Fire. The series was written and produced by David Benioff & D.B Weiss and stars Peter Dinklage and Sean Bean. Game of Thrones series premiered on 17th April 2011, to a critical and commercial success.


These are two best books by the author George, A Game of Thrones (1996) and A Storm of Swords (2000).

A Game of Thrones: This is the first book in A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin.

Very long time ago, a preternatural event threw seasons out of balance such that summers can last for decades and winters even for a lifetime. The winter is returning, and beyond the frozen wastes all the way to the north of Winterfell evil forces are forming beyond the kingdom wall. On the other hand to the south, the king’s authority is failing, and enemies are emerging from the shadows of the throne. In the midst of the conflict lies the Starks of Winterfell. Lord Eddard Stark is called in to serve as the king’s new Hand, but this appointment not only puts Eddard at risk but the whole kingdom at large.

A Game of Thrones narrates a tale of lords, soldiers, ladies, assassins, sorcerers, and bastards, who come together during a time of grim omens.

A Storm of Swords: A Storm of Swords is the third book in A Song of Ice and Fire Series, a series that forms a genuine masterpiece of the modern fantasy, fated to stand as one of the greatest achievement of imaginative fiction.

Of the five contestants for power, the other is in disfavor, but still, the war rages on as alliances are made and broken. Joffrey, the ruler of the seven kingdoms, sits on the Iron Throne. His rival Lord Stannis stood disgraced and defeated a victim of the sorceress who holds him in her grip.

Young Robb is still the ruler of the North starting from the fortress of Riverrun. Daenerys is the exiled queen and the mistress of the remaining three dragons in the world. While the opposing forces maneuver for a showdown, an army of wildlings arrive accompanied by a supernatural army of the dead who are unstoppable, and no one will rest until the 7 Kingdoms are shattered.

George R.R Martin FAQ

Q: What does R.R stand for in George R.R Martin?

A: It stands for Raymond Richard. George R.R Martin was born George Raymond Martin, and took the name Richard at the age of 13 for his confirmation. So, his full name is George Raymond Richard Martin, it’s not a pen name!

Q: Does George R.R Martin write the TV show Game of Thrones?

A: No, there are a lot of talented script writers out there who have adapted George R.R Martin’s books in the A Song Of Fire and Ice series to get the story onto your television screen. However, George R.R Martin does offer his thoughts and consultancy in his role as co-executive producer on Game of Thrones.