A Song of Ice and Fire / Game of Thrones Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

A song of Ice and Fire is an epic fantasy series of novels written by George R.R. Martin. The books are sometimes simply referred to as Game of Thrones because of the television adaptation which made them so popular. The A Song Of Ice and Fire series of books have proved a massive hit with fans of fantasy fiction, as well as the general public, having spawned the TV hit television series Game of Thrones, which takes its title from the first book in the A Song Of Ice and Fire series of books.

Order of Song Of Ice and Fire Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Game of Thrones 1996 Description / Buy
2 A Clash of Kings 1998 Description / Buy
3 A Storm of Swords 2000 Description / Buy
4 A Feast for Crows 2005 Description / Buy
5 A Dance with Dragons 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Game Of Thrones Graphic Novels By: Daniel Abraham, George R.R. Martin

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Game of Thrones, Volume 1 2011 Description / Buy
2 A Game of Thrones, Volume 2 2013 Description / Buy
3 A Game of Thrones, Volume 3 2013 Description / Buy
4 A Game of Thrones, Volume 4 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Game Of Thrones Collection Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Game Of Thrones Non-Fiction Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Art of George R.R. Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire 2005 Description / Buy
2 The Art of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice & Fire, Volume Two 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Lands of Ice and Fire 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Wit & Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister 2013 Description / Buy
5 The World of Ice & Fire 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The books, which began publication in 1991, were intended to be a trilogy. However, the series was eventually expanded to five, and then seven volumes to allow Martin to better flesh out his story.

A Song of Ice and Fire tells stories set on the Continents of Westeros and Essos, both fictional locations. The series follows a wide and varied range characters each of whose stories is explored separately, with each chapter working to add a new piece to the wider whole.

This has been both a boon and a problem for the books which began with a primary cast of just nine characters that eventually expanded to thirty one. It is because of the massive cast that the books have been accused of becoming a little too bloated.

Even with the large cast, though, there are only three major stories being told in A Song of Ice and Fire. Most of the characters in the series are embroiled in a dynastic war for the seat of power in Westeros.

However, even as these men, women and children do battle over the Seven Kingdoms, a supernatural threat blooms in the north, one that seeks to extinguish the world of man. The only thing standing between Westeros and the ancient evil beyond is a massive wall of ice manned by the brave men of the Night’s Watch.

The Song of Ice and Fire series has been praised for the diversity of its characters, not to mention the detail it injects into its portrayal of religion and the heart pumping twists and turns that George R.R. Martin produces.

Along with the seven volumes planned for the series, Martin has written various novellas that expand the world of Game of Thrones. Martin extensively studied European history as well as works like Wars of the Roses and The Accursed Kings in order to produce his acclaimed masterpiece.

Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire Awards

George R.R. Martin has received a number of accolades for his literary masterpiece, this including Premio Ignotus Awards (Best Foreign Novel) and a Locus Award (Best Fantasy Novel).

The author has also been nominated for a Hugo Award and a Nebula Award on a number of occasions, not to mention a Quill Award and British Fantasy Award.

Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire Books into Movies/TV

George R.R. Martin’s hold on fame has more to do with the live action television adaptation of his Song of Ice and Fire series than the novels themselves. While Martin’s epic series had its fair share of fans during its earliest days, it wasn’t until the television show premiered in 2011 and ran for over half a dozen seasons that the Game of Thrones name became a sensation.

The Television adaptation has since become the biggest show in the world, with each new season accruing unprecedented viewership numbers.

Best Game of Thrones/A Throne of Ice and Fire Books

George R.R. Martin has had as many misses as hits in his history of writing the Game of Thrones books; though his series is still quite popular, with some of the best books in Game of Thrones series including:

A Game of Thrones: Anyone else would have rejoiced to be assigned to the office of the Hand. But Lord Eddard Stark curses King Robert for it, knowing full well the dangers that a man of honor like him will face at court.

Little does Lord Stark know that ancient evils have begun to stir; and the heir to a mad and deposed King seems set to reclaim her throne.

The first book in the Game of Thrones series sets the stage for an epic tale, introducing the illustrious Stark clan as they are torn away from one another, facing tragedy at every turn as their honor and mettle is tested.

A Clash of Kings: With the deaths of Lord Stark and King Robert, two men that kept the lands together, the seven kingdoms are once more in disarray as every would-be tyrant and pretender begins a campaign aimed at capturing the throne.

As six factions arise to challenge for ultimate power, none are aware of the trials of the heir to the true king of Westeros, a woman of power and wrath who is determined to march across the seas and conquer the continent.

The second book in the Game of Thrones series is even darker and drearier than the first, bringing a new, young and more ruthless king to the throne. The threat of the walkers in the north is highlighted, not to mention the burgeoning abilities of the mother of dragons across the sea.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Wheel of Time” series stretches across fourteen volumes and tells of the Wheel of Time, an entity that governs the universe and around whose power the conflict between the deities of light and dark do battle, using human players on the ground to try and attain ultimate victory.

The “Lord of the Rings” books tells the story of a hobbit who finds an evil ring. He is then drawn into the ultimate battle between the forces of light and dark, as elves, dragons, dwarves and men rise up to fight for the future of Middle Earth.

A Song Of Fire and Ice FAQ

Q: Who writes the A Song Of Fire and Ice series?

A: George R.R Martin writes the series of books known as A Song Of Fire and Ice.

Q: What is the first book in the A Song Of Fire and Ice series?

A: The first book in the A Song Of Fire and Ice series is A Game of Thrones, which was released in 1996.

Q: How will A Song Of Ice and Fire end?

A: If I told you, I’d have to kill you.

What Is The Next Book in The Song Of Ice And Fire Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Song Of Ice And Fire Series. The newest book is A Dance with Dragons and was released on July, 12th 2011.


3 thoughts on “A Song of Ice and Fire / Game of Thrones”

  1. When is there more of these comings? The show has surpassed the books and I am not a fan of it. I know that George RR Martin worked on this show and probably told the creators how he would end the thing, but it just doesn’t feel the same. I think the books will play out a lot differently. For instance, the Red Lady bringing back Jon Snow? Too obvious! I think Martin would have a different plan and I can’t wait to see how it all plays out… someday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.