Wars of the Roses Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Wars of the Roses is a series of historical fiction novels by award-winning author Conn Iggulden. The first novel in the series was “Stormbird”, which was first published in 2013. The series of novels tells the story of the machinations and betrayals that plagued the two royal families jostling for the English throne during one of the most brutal and bloody eras of British history.

Get notified when Conn Iggulden releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Wars of the Roses Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Stormbird ( By: Conn Iggulden) 2013 Description / Buy
2 Trinity / Margaret of Anjou ( By: Conn Iggulden) 2014 Description / Buy
3 Bloodline ( By: Conn Iggulden) 2015 Description / Buy
4 Ravenspur ( By: Conn Iggulden) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The novels, which are set between 1450 and 1495, tell the stories of how the Tudors came to power in England. It involves the struggle between the house of York and Lancaster with the Lancasters starting out supreme before surrendering the throne to the Yorks at the end of it all. The one thing that can be summed up about the shift in power is the weakness of King Henry VI, who made it impossible for his house to continue holding the throne.

“Stormbird” the first novels of the Wars of the Roses series is set in 1437, where the Lamb, the gentle and pious Henry VI has ascended to the throne of his grandfather, the great Lion of England King Henry V. He has a frail mind and even poorer health, which make him a weak king that leans on the Duke of Suffolk William de la Pole and Derry Brewer the spymaster to run the kingdom.

But his kingdoms full of malcontents such as the Duke of York, the Plantagenet Richard who believes that England can only be strong and stand against her enemies if she has a strong king. With rumors of an uprising at home rife and Brittany in France under threat from the French, many malcontents see Henry as too weak to do anything to protect their country. Henry complicates things when he marries Margaret of Anjou a French noblewoman, which heightens the tension with the Plantagenets at home, and confirms him a weak king to the French across the channel.


Ravenspur: Rise of the Tudors: This book is generally considered one of the best novels of the War of Roses series of novels. With the kingdom more divided than it has ever been , Edward IV the king from the house of York is driven out of his country and his family forced to seek refuge from the Lancasters. Though he has been dealt a major blow, he refuses to bow out and uses his humiliation and rage to mount a comeback landing in Ravenspur with his brother and half of an army that had drowned.

Even as every man, noble, and city is hostile to them, they refuse to go into exile, preferring to attack. But neither of them has reckoned with Henry Tudor, the so called Red Dragon who is determined to end the Wars of the Roses. It all ends at the Battle of Bosworth Field where terrible betrayals and self-sacrifice at last bring peace to England after a royal execution.

Trinity: The second novel in the series is another brilliant and one of its most beloved. King Henry VI is all but a prisoner in his Windsor castle with his mind blank and his eyes lifeless. Margaret of Anjou his loyal wife safeguards his interests and takes care of his son whom she hopes can take the reins as soon as possible.

But as Henry slumbers, the Protector of the Real the self-styled Richard Duke of York is becoming more powerful. The earls of Warwick and Salisbury have joined forces with Richard to wage war on the Henry camp. However, Henry throws a spanner into the works when he suddenly comes back to his senses and goes back to London, leaving his enemies scrambling to understand his actions.

Stormbird: The first novel in the series is definitely among the most popular novels of the Wars of the Roses series. Introducing the famous protagonists of the House of York, the House of Lancaster and their supporting cast, it has a “Game of Thrones” feeling that is an explosive mix of love, betrayal, conspiracy, and all out intrigue.


Many Wars of the Roses fans also loved the “Kingmaker” series of novels by Tony Clement. The novels are historical fiction novels set in the same period of the Wars of the roses and more or less feature similar protagonists.

Fans of the Wars of the Roses also enjoy “The Insurrection Trilogy” series by Robyn Young. These novels are historical fiction following the life and times of Robert the Bruce, as he fought King Edward I for the independence of Scotland.

What Is The Next Book in The Wars Of The Roses Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Wars Of The Roses Series. The newest book is Ravenspur and was released on January, 1st 2016.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *