J.J. Marric Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

J.J. Marric is a renowned English author who wrote more than 600 hundred novels using 28 different pseudonyms. He was born John Creasy on September 17, 1908 and died on June 13, 1973. He was born to a working class family in the Southfields, Surrey. He was the seventh son of Ruth and Joseph Creasey. He went to Fulham Elementary School and Sloane School in London and worked various sales, factory and clerical jobs after he left school. At the same time, he was trying to establish himself as a writer. His success did not come easily because he received a number of rejections before he was able to publish his first book successfully in 1930.

Get notified when J.J. Marric releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Gideon Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Gideon's Day / Gideon of Scotland Yard 1955 Description / Buy
2 Gideon's Week / Seven Days to Death / Gideon's Fear 1956 Description / Buy
3 Gideon's Night 1957 Description / Buy
4 Gideon's Month / A Backwards Jump (Short Story) 1958 Description / Buy
5 Gideon's Staff / Thugs and Economies (Short Story) 1959 Description / Buy
6 Gideon's Risk / Gideon Combats Influence 1960 Description / Buy
7 Gideon's Fire 1961 Description / Buy
8 Gideon's March / A Conference for Assassins (Short Story) 1962 Description / Buy
9 Gideon's Ride / Traveling Crimes 1962 Description / Buy
10 Gideon's Vote / An Uncivilized Election 1963 Description / Buy
11 Gideon's Lot / Criminal Imports 1964 Description / Buy
12 Gideon's Badge / To Nail a Serial Killer 1966 Description / Buy
13 Gideon's Wrath / From Murder to a Cathedral 1967 Description / Buy
14 Gideon's River 1968 Description / Buy
15 Gideon's Power / Darkness and Confusion 1969 Description / Buy
16 Gideon's Sport / Sport, Heat and Scotland Yard 1970 Description / Buy
17 Gideon's Art 1971 Description / Buy
18 Gideon's Men / No Relaxation at Scotland Yard (Short Story) 1972 Description / Buy
19 Gideon's Press / Impartiality Against the Mob 1973 Description / Buy
20 Gideon's Fog / Not Hidden by the Fog 1974 Description / Buy
21 Gideon's Drive / Good and Justice (Short Story) 1976 Description / Buy
22 Gideon's Force / Vigilantes & Biscuits 1978 Description / Buy
23 Gideon's Law 1982 Description / Buy
24 Gideon's Way 1983 Description / Buy
25 Gideon's Raid 1986 Description / Buy
26 Gideon's Fear 1990 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The books that Marric wrote were mostly about English crime and fiction. He created a number of famous characters, including Commander George Gideon of Scotland Yard, The Toff, The Baron, and Inspector Roger West. More than six hundred million copies of his books have been sold worldwide. The Gideon of Scotland Yard was one of his popular works because it made its way to television. The Baron character also garnered a lot of attention and received very positive reviews.

JJ Marric Awards

J.J. Marric won many awards throughout his career as a writer. In 1962, he won an Edgar Award for best novel from the Mystery Writers of America for this work in Gideon’s Fire. He received the Mystery Writers of America’s greatest honor in 1969, which is the Edgar Grand Master Award. He was also awarded the Member of the Order of the British Empire for his services in the United Kingdom’s National Savings during the Second World War.

J.J. Marric Books Into Movies/TV

One of Marric’s books that were turned into films is the Gideon of Scotland Yard. It was the basis of the television series known as the Gideon’s Way. The book was also adapted into a movie called the Gideon’s Day by John Ford. Another J.J. Marric’s Book that was turned into a television series is The Baron. It starred Steve Forest and was aired in the 1960s.

Best JJ Marric Books

J.J. Marric has written a lot of books, but the three of the most appreciated ones that he has ever written include:

Gideon’s River (Gideon of Scotland Yard): In this book, Marric allows the plot to unwrap with a randomness and complexity that is very close to real life. It will remind you why the Scotland Yard remains to be one of the world’s best police force to date. The Thames is inhabited by the underworld but Scotland’s Yard reputable detective is never far behind them. He is put in the trail of an international diamond operation by a dropped package. He uses the port of London as his entry point. During a fantastic display of jewels and furs on the river, further complications arise. Danger originates from an unexpected quarter. This book remains compelling as ever as of now. One of the reasons behind its success is the ability of Marric to portray the characters in the book as living. It is an excellent read and eye opener in the work done by the River Police.

Gideon’s Day: This book chronicles a day in the life of the Scotland Yard. The protagonist is Superintendent George Gideon. You are going to read about him in the story and see how he handles various crimes that make their away around the Scotland Yard’s desk. The main focus of the book is an ongoing operation that is targeted against people that are committing mail van robberies. It is a great choice of book for kickback relaxation. It is really intriguing and educational at the same time.

Gideon’s Week: You will get to know what a week in the life of a detective is like when you read this book. Commander Gideon can tell that he is going to have a very long week when Ruby Benson sets up her killer husband. He has to make sure that she is well protected from her bloodthirsty husband’s vendetta or die trying. The general setting and plot of the book is interesting. It is a well-crafted tale that you will want to keep reading on because you will be curious to know what happens next. It is very enjoyable and relaxing to read.

When Does The Next J.J. Marric book come out?

J.J. Marric doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Gideon's Night and was released on January, 11th 2008. It is the newest book in the Gideon Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *