James Dashner Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

James Dashner was born on 26 November 1972, in Austell, Georgia. He is a well-known author of young adults’ books as well as some adult novels as well. After graduating from Duluth High School, in the year 1991, James Dashner was then admitted to Bringham Young University, where he graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Accounting. Before becoming an author, James Dashner initially served in the finance sector. Ever since he was young, Dashner always knew that he wanted to become an author.

Get notified when James Dashner releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Maze Runner Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Maze Runner 2009 Description / Buy
2 The Scorch Trials 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Death Cure 2011 Description / Buy
4 The Kill Order 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Fever Code 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Maze Runner Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Crank Palace 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Maze Runner Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Maze Runner Files (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Maze Runner Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Scorch Trials: The Official Graphic Novel Prelude (Short Story) ( With: Jackson Lanzing, Collin P. Kelly) 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Maze Cutter Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Maze Cutter 2022 Description / Buy
2 The Godhead Complex 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Jimmy Fincher Saga Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Door in the Woods 2003 Description / Buy
2 A Gift of Ice 2004 Description / Buy
3 The Tower of Air 2004 Description / Buy
4 War of the Black Curtain 2005 Description / Buy

Order of The 13th Reality Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Journal of Curious Letters 2008 Description / Buy
2 The Hunt for Dark Infinity 2009 Description / Buy
3 The Blade of Shattered Hope 2010 Description / Buy
4 The Void of Mist and Thunder 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Infinity Ring Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Mutiny in Time 2012 Description / Buy
2 Divide and Conquer ( By: Carrie Ryan) 2012 Description / Buy
3 The Trap Door ( By: Lisa McMann) 2013 Description / Buy
4 Curse of the Ancients ( By: Matt de la Pena) 2013 Description / Buy
5 Cave of Wonders ( By: Matthew J. Kirby) 2013 Description / Buy
6 Behind Enemy Lines ( By: Jennifer A. Nielsen) 2013 Description / Buy
7 The Iron Empire 2014 Description / Buy
8 Eternity ( By: Matt de la Pena) 2014 Description / Buy

Order of The Mortality Doctrine Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Eye of Minds 2013 Description / Buy
2 Gunner Skale (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy
3 The Rule of Thoughts 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Game of Lives 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

An obsessive and an avid reader, Dashner would read anything from newspaper articles to the Hardy Boys as well as the Lord of the Rings. Dashner’s inspiration comes from the countless number of books that he had read, Movies and Television programs that he had watched throughout the years. Ender’s Game and the Lord of the Flies had a great influence in his book, The Maze Runner.

A majority of his works received various accolades, with his best performing book, The Maze Runner staying on New York Times bestseller list for more than a year. Some of the other accolades that Dashner has received include the Charlotte Award, Missouri Trueman Award as well as the New Hampshire Isinglass Award. The theme in a majority of these novels is science fiction and fantasy as well. One of his exceedingly popular work is the fantasy series, is the Maze Runner book series and the13th Reality series.

The Maze Runner book series is a four book series, with The Maze Runner being the first book in the series, then followed by the Scorch Trials. The other two books in the series include Kill Order and The Death Cure. In the first book in the Maze Runner book series, The Maze Runner, we are introduced to the Gladers, a group of children, who are trying to retain a sense of normalcy, which they remember.

The children manage to retain normalcy by sticking to the rules of the micro-society. The second book in the series is Scorch Trials, and in this book, we see the Gladers being pushed beyond their comfort levels. The group is forced to fight for their lives while they are looking for answers. The Death Cure is the third book in the Maze Runner book series. As the third book in the series, the Death Cure follows the lives of the Gladers as they make the final decision, which may result in their death or survival.

James Dashner Books into Movies

The first book in the Maze Runner book series, The Maze Runner was adapted into a screenplay. The movie managed to scoop four awards including the International Film Music Critics, the Kids Choice Award, MTV Movie and TV Award as well as the London Circle Critics Award. Due to the popularity of the first book, the other two books in the series were as well adapted for a screenplay.

James Dashner Awards

James Dashner is one of the most decorated authors of this era. He is the recipient of the Missouri Trueman Award, the Charlotte Award and the Hampshire Ingles Award.

Best James Dashner Books

The 13TH Reality book series is one of the best book series that James Dashner has ever penned down.

The Journal of the Curios Letters: The first book in the series follows the life of one Atticus Higginbottom, popularly known as Tick, who is a 13-year-old boy. However, despite living a normal life, Tick finally receives a letter, which informs him of the events that would result in the destruction of reality.

The Hunt for The Dark Infinity Blade: Individuals from all occupations are going insane, and other individuals are disappearing without a trace. Information is already out that there is a new weapon; however, Tick is completely unaware of how to stop the events from happening.

The Blade of the Shattered Hope: The third book in the series. Tick is being schooled in the field of science, and just when he is about to make any progress, a weapon is created. Thus, Sato, Tick Sofia and Paul have an exceedingly dangerous task that they have to complete.

The Void of the Mist: The fourth book in the 13th Reality book series and is expected to be released in the latter stages. With that said, James Dashner is a well-established author, who is exceedingly popular on speaking in the circuit.

When Does The Next James Dashner book come out?

James Dashner doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Godhead Complex and was released on November, 14th 2023. It is the newest book in the Maze Cutter Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *