The Maze Runner Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Born in Austell Georgia, James Smith Dashner attended the world-renowned Young University, where he majored in accounting. Being an avid reader, ever since he was young, James Dashner decided to try writing. After numerous attempts, Dashner eventually managed to create an outstanding character, Jimmy Fincher. Eventually, Dashner would eventually expand his narrative into an outline, before eventually producing a four book series. The series were known as Jimmy Fincher Series.

Get notified when James Dashner releases a new book at

Order of Maze Runner Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Maze Runner ( By: James Dashner) 2009 Description / Buy
2 The Scorch Trials ( By: James Dashner) 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Death Cure ( By: James Dashner) 2011 Description / Buy
4 The Kill Order ( By: James Dashner) 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Fever Code ( By: James Dashner) 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Maze Runner Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Crank Palace (By: James Dashner) 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Maze Runner Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Maze Runner Files (Short Story) (By: James Dashner) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

However, after submitting the drafts to various publishers, James Dashner was slapped with multiple rejections. After some time, James Dashner’s manuscript was well received by the Cedar Fort publishers and from this point onwards, his career began taking shape. After completing the Jimmy Fincher book series, James Dashner began working on another three book series, the Maze Runner.

Just like the Jimmy Fincher saga, the Maze Runner would focus on a boy in an extremely perilous situation. The Maze Runner was well-received by many critics and readers comparing the three book series to the critically acclaimed Hunger Games.

The Maze Runner Awards

Despite the fact that the maze Runner did not scoop any major literary award, the novels became New York Times and USA today bestsellers.

The Maze Runner Books into Movies

All the three books in the Maze Runner book series have been adapted into feature films.

Best The Maze Runner Books

The Maze Runner: The first installment in the Maze Runner trilogy penned down by the author, James Dashner. Maze Runner was first published in the year 2009. Readers and critics have pointed out the fact that there have been striking similarities between the Divergent book series, Maze Runner and the huger games.

First, all these three book series have been set in a post-apocalyptic universe that is being controlled by an authoritarian regime. Secondly, a young heroine or hero rises and decides to revolt against the rulers. Finally, all the heroes in these three book series are put on a test where they have to fight to stay alive. The Hunger Games, which is the first installment in the Hunger Games book series, introduces the readers to Katniss Everdeen, the protagonist and the world in which the narrative has been set in Panem. It is towards the center of the Maze Runner that the trials begin.

Furthermore, the Maze Runner begins at the center of the trials, and as the title points out, an unsolved maze has to be done. In the Maze Runner, author James Dashner introduces the readers to Thomas, a 16-year-old hero, who does not remember anything about himself. Thomas’s memory has been completely wiped out, as well as the memories of all the other Gladers. To save himself and the other Gladers, Thomas must be able to solve the maze.

The Gladers are trapped at the center of the maze, inside a farm. Each day, a number of the Gladers leave the farm and head out into the maze, with the hopes of solving it. To make matters worse, the walls of the maze move every day and in the process creating new dead ends each day. Every night, the gates close and shield the boys from the dangerous monsters that live deep within the maze.

More than two-years have passed, ever since the first boy found themselves deep within the maze. Once placed in the Maze, Thomas discovers that he knows a lot about the maze and also the main reason why the boys have been placed in the maze. With Thomas’s assistance, the Gladers end up being much closer to solving the maze than before. With that said, The Maze Runner is action-packed, and by reading the novel, the readers will feel as if they are watching the Maze Runner feature film.

The Scorch Trials: The second installment in the Maze Runner book series. Solving the maze in the first installment was expected to be the end. As expected, there were to be no puzzles, variables or running around. Thomas was more than certain that their escape from the maze meant that they would be able to get the lives that they had lost back. However, no one truly knew the life that they were going to get out of the maze.

Inside the maze, life was extremely easy. Apart from having food and shelter, the maze also provided them with safety as well. Baked by a rather new climate and burned by the scorching sun, most of the earth had been turned into a wasteland. Most of the governments on earth had disintegrated. A majority of the people were covered in festering wounds and also driven to murderous insanity by an infectious disease that is known as the Flare.

The infected residents roam across the cities looking for their next victims. As expected the Gladers are far from reaching the end. As they roam the streets, they find themselves with several other challenges. The Gladers must be able to cross the Scorch, which happens to be the most burned out section in the entire world and two weeks arrive at a haven. Wicked on the other hand has ensured that all the odds are stuck against the Gladers.

Normally, Thomas and the group of Gladers usually have a rather different reaction to the meticulous plan and justifications of Wicked. When the entire group finally wakes up, they eventually find themselves in a sanitized environment with one adult, who has some force field around him. Thomas decides to dub the man, Rat Man. Rat Man informs the boys that the second trials are about to begin; The Scorch Trials.

The rules are extremely simple; the boys are expected to travel more than 100 miles through an extremely harsh and arid landscape in less than two weeks. Each of the Gladers has been infected with the virus flare. The only way that the boys will get the cure is to ensure that they reach the haven on time. Without having an alternative, Thomas and his fellow Gladers embark on yet another impossible challenge, faced with the murderous cranks and the wicked machinations.

However, Theresa happens to be the only person who truly matters to Thomas and has disappeared suddenly without a trace. As it was the case with the Maze Runner, the Scorch trials is a rather action-packed and insanely paced novel. As the second installment, Scorch Trials picks up from where the first installment had left off from. However, this time around the stakes are much higher.

What Is The Next Book in The Maze Runner Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Maze Runner Series. The newest book is The Fever Code and was released on September, 27th 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *