James S A Corey Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

James S. A. Corey is the pen name that authors Ty Franck and Daniel Abraham use when they are writing together. The first and last names are the pairs middle names (Franck’s is Corey, and Abraham’s is James); the S. A. are Abraham’s daughter’s initials. It is meant to emulate some of the writers of space operas that came out in the seventies. The pair both live in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Order of The Expanse Series

1Leviathan Wakes 2011Description / Buy
2Caliban's War 2012Description / Buy
3Abaddon's Gate 2013Description / Buy
4Cibola Burn 2014Description / Buy
5Nemesis Games 2015Description / Buy
6Babylon's Ashes 2016Description / Buy
7Persepolis Rising 2017Description / Buy
8Tiamat's Wrath 2019Description / Buy
9Leviathan Falls 2021Description / Buy

Order of The Expanse Short Stories/Novellas

1The Butcher of Anderson Station (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
2Gods of Risk (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy
3The Churn (Short Story) 2014Description / Buy
4The Vital Abyss (Short Story) 2015Description / Buy
5Strange Dogs (Short Story) 2017Description / Buy
6Auberon (Short Story) 2019Description / Buy

Order of Star Wars: Empire and Rebellion Series

1Razor's Edge ( By: Martha Wells) 2013Description / Buy
2Honor Among Thieves 2014Description / Buy

James S A Corey Anthologies

1 The Year's Best Science Fiction & Fantasy Novellas 20152015Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The pair have written some short stories, stand alone novels, and “The Expanse” series. The first book that they wrote was published in the year 2011, it was called “Leviathan Wakes”. The books James Corey write are from the genre of science fiction.


In the year 2012, “Leviathan Wakes” was nominated for both a Hugo (for best novel) and a Locus award (for best science fiction novel). “Abaddon’s Gate” won the Locus for best science fiction novel in the year 2014.


“The Expanse” television series that airs on Syfy is based off of the book series of the same name.


For those readers looking to get into novels by James S. A. Corey, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Leviathan Wakes”, “Caliban’s War”, and “Abaddon’s Gate”.

Leviathan Wakes: This is the first novel in the “The Expanse” series and was released in the year 2011. Humanity has colonized the entire solar system (including the Moon, Mars, and the Asteroid belt and even beyond that), the stars, however, are still out of the grasp of humanity.

Jim Holden is the executive officer of a ship that mines ice; the ship makes runs from Saturn’s rings to the different mining stations in the Belt. He and his crew come across the Scopuli (which is a derelict ship), and wind up having a secret that they do not want. It is one that someone would like to kill for, and on a large scale, one that is unfathomable to Jim and the crew. War may be coming, unless Jim is able to find out why the ship was left and who left it there.

Detective Miller has been hired, by rich parents, to find one girl in a large system that is made up of billions. The trail leads him to Holden (a rebel sympathizer) and the Scopuli; he finds that the girl might just be the key to the whole thing.

Miller and Holden must work together and get past secretive corporations, Earth’s government, and revolutionaries in the Outer Planets. The cards are stacked against them on this one. In the Belt, the rules are different from anywhere else. One small ship can change the universe’s fate.

Caliban’s War: This is the second novel in the “The Expanse” series and was released in the year 2012. We are not the only ones around. On Ganymede (which is the breadbasket of all the outer planets) a Martian marine looks on as her whole entire platoon is destroyed by a super soldier. Back on Earth, a high-level politician tries to keep an inter-planet war from starting back up. An alien protomolecule overruns Venus; it wreaks havoc that threaten to spread throughout the whole the solar system.

James Holden and his crew on the Rocinante are out in space and keep the peace for the Outer Planets Alliance. They have agreed to help a scientist in their search for a lost child. It means that only one ship will be responsible for a potential alien invasion (that may have already begun) to be prevented.

Abaddon’s Gate: This is the third novel in the “The Expanse” series and was released in the year 2013. Humanity’s greatest frontier has been the Moon, the Asteriod Belt, and Mars; it has been this way for generations now. That ends now. It is due to the alien artifact that has been working through its own program under Venus’ clouds and has gotten into Uranus’ orbit. Here, it has erected a massive gate, one that only leads to a dark without stars.

Jim Holden and his crew on the Rocinante are part of a group of military and scientific ships that are going out to inspect this artifact. But there is also a complex plot that is at play, in the shadows; at the heart of it, is Holden being destroyed. Human emissaries try to determine if the gate is a threat or an opportunity, all the while, the greatest danger they have, is only the one that they have brought with them.

When Does The Next James S A Corey book come out?

The next book by James S A Corey is Leviathan Falls and will be released on November, 16th 2021. It is the newest book in the The Expanse Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *