The Expanse Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The best selling series called “The Expanse” is penned by two authors (Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck) that use the pen name to publish the books. Throughout the books, it follows around different characters to show different economic, political, and cultural changes that is brought on after the contact with what remains of the powerful but previously thought to be extinct but ancient civilization that is alive and well.

Order of The Expanse Series

1Leviathan Wakes2011Description / Buy
2Caliban's War2012Description / Buy
3Abaddon's Gate2013Description / Buy
4Cibola Burn2014Description / Buy
5Nemesis Games2015Description / Buy
6Babylon's Ashes2016Description / Buy
7Persepolis Rising2017Description / Buy
8Tiamat's Wrath2019Description / Buy
9Leviathan Falls2021Description / Buy

Order of The Expanse Short Stories/Novellas

1The Butcher of Anderson Station (Short Story)2011Description / Buy
2Gods of Risk (Short Story)2012Description / Buy
3The Churn (Short Story)2014Description / Buy
4The Vital Abyss (Short Story)2015Description / Buy
5Strange Dogs (Short Story)2017Description / Buy
6Auberon (Short Story)2019Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

It is set in a future world where humans have colonized a lot of the Solar System, but cannot take advantage of interstellar travel.

The series started with the release of “Leviathan Wakes”, which was released in the year 2011.


The first book of the series, “Leviathan Wakes” was nominated for best novel for a Hugo Award. The entire series was nominated for best series for a Hugo. “Abaddon’s Gate” won a Locus for best science fiction novel.


The series was adapted for television that airs on Syfy, and it premiered in the year 2015. It too is called “The Expanse”.


For those readers looking to get into the “Expanse” series, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Nemesis Games”, “Babylon’s Ashes”, and “Persepolis Rising”.

Nemesis Games: This is the fifth novel in the “Expanse” series and was released in the year 2015. One thousand worlds are now open, and the biggest land rush in the history of humans has started. Wave upon wave of colonists depart, and the old solar system’s structures of power start to collapse upon themselves.

Ships go missing and leave no trace behind. Private armies are being put together. The only protomolecule sample that remains is stolen. Impossible terrorist attacks are carried out and cripple the inner planets. The sins from the past return to get their cut.

A new human order is trying to get born out of blood and fire. All the while, The Rocinante’s crew and Holden have to fight to just survive and return to what remains of their home.

Babylon’s Ashes: This is the sixth book in the “Expanse” series and was released in the year 2016. The Free Navy, a brutal band of Belters in moving military ships on the black market, has just crippled Earth and started a campaign of violence and piracy throughout the outer planets. All of the colony ships that seek out the hundreds of new worlds, which is located on the galaxy’s other side makes them easy pickings. There is no one navy that is still strong enough to keep them safe.

James Holden and crew know the weaknesses and strengths of the new foe more than anyone else can. They are both outnumbered and outgunned, and are called on to take on a mission to get to Medina Station. It is in the gate network’s heart.

The new alliances formed are just as screwed up as the old ones, and the fight to get power has just started up. Chaos grows, and there is an alien mystery that only deepens matters.

Persepolis Rising: This is the seventh novel in the “Expanse” series and was released in the year 2017. The new colony worlds are fighting to find their way in all of the thousand sun network that mankind has made in their expansion. All of the planets live teetering on the brink of wonder and collapse, and the Rocinante’s crew have their hands quite full keeping the brittle peace.

In the huge space that exists between Jupiter and Earth, the belt and the inner planets have started an alliance that is still uncertain and tentative. It is built around a history of prejudices and wars. On Laconia (which is a lost colony world), there is an enemy coming that has a plan for all humanity. They even have the power to enforce it.

Some new tech clashes with old as human conflict’s history reverts to old patterns of subjugation and war. Human nature is far from the only enemy here, and forces unleashed come with a price of their own. It is a price that is going to change humanity’s shape, not to mention the Rocinante, forever, even in unexpected ways.


Be sure to check out the “Red Rising” series by Pierce Brown. This series stars Darrow, who is just a lowborn miner, while he gains access to the Golds’ elite ranks.

You will also like the “Takeshi Kovacs” series by Richard K. Morgan. This stars a former member of the Envoy called Takeshi Kovacs, who is of Slavic and Japanese descent, and a native of a planet called Harlan’s World.

What Is The Next Book in The Expanse Series?

The next book in the The Expanse Series by James S A Corey is Leviathan Falls and will be released on November, 16th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *