Jay Kristoff Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jay Kristoff is an Australian author that has written a number of fantasy and science Fiction bestsellers. Born in Perth, Australia in 1973, the author has loved Fantasy for as long as he can remember.

Order of The Aurora Cycle Series with Amie Kaufman

1Aurora Rising ( With: Amie Kaufman) 2019Description / Buy
2Aurora Burning ( With: Amie Kaufman) 2020Description / Buy
3Aurora's End ( With: Amie Kaufman) 2021Description / Buy

Order of Empire of the Vampire Series

1Empire of the Vampire 2021Description / Buy

Order of The Illuminae Files Series

1Illuminae ( With: Amie Kaufman) 2015Description / Buy
2Gemina ( With: Amie Kaufman) 2016Description / Buy
3Obsidio ( With: Amie Kaufman) 2018Description / Buy
4Memento (Short Story) ( With: Amie Kaufman) 2020Description / Buy

Order of Lifelike Series

1LIFEL1K3 2018Description / Buy
2DEV1AT3 2019Description / Buy
3TRUEL1F3 2020Description / Buy

Order of The Lotus War Series

1Stormdancer 2012Description / Buy
2The Last Stormdancer 2013Description / Buy
3Kinslayer (Short Story) 2013Description / Buy
4Endsinger 2014Description / Buy

Order of The Nevernight Chronicle Series

1Nevernight 2016Description / Buy
2Godsgrave 2017Description / Buy
3Darkdawn 2018Description / Buy

Order of The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror Series

1The Year's Best Australian Fantasy & Horror 2010 2011Description / Buy
2The Year's Best Australian Fantasy & Horror 2010 2011Description / Buy
3The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2011 2012Description / Buy
4The Year's Best Australian Fantasy & Horror 2011 2012Description / Buy
5The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2012 2013Description / Buy
6The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2013 2014Description / Buy
7The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2014 2015Description / Buy
8The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2015 2017Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

His curiosity goes all the way back to his childhood when he would play tabletop games like Dungeons and Dragons. An Arts degree holder, Jay did not indulge in his love for writing immediately after leaving school.

Rather, he spent a number of years in the business of creative advertisement for television before the call to write became too strong. Jay Kristoff’s first book was StormDancer.

The author admits that the idea for the book came to him in a dream. It marked the beginning of The Lotus War which is Jay’s Japanese Steampunk series. The series has fans both amongst children and adults.

Before attempting another fantasy series, Jay joined forces with fellow Melbourne author Amie Kaufman, with the two producing the Illuminae Files in 2015. The series garnered great success for both writers.

Jay has since refocused his efforts on producing additional solo series in the epic fantasy genre. The author’s books tend to play with themes ofvlove, friendship, and family, not to mention loss and betrayal.

Jay Kristoff Awards

Jay Kristoff doesn’t have any particularly notable awards to his name. However, he has received a few accolades that he technically shares with Amie Kaufman, this including the Aurealis Award for Best Science Fiction novel, the Gold Inky award (Best Teen Fiction) and the Australian Book Industry award (Book of the Year for Older Children).

Jay has also been nominated for a morning star award and a Legend Award for Best Debut Novel and Best Novel respectively.

Jay Kristoff Books into Movies

Jay and Amie’s first book in the Illuminae Files series was released in 2015, doing pretty well financially and scoring a decent position on the New York Times bestseller list. Not long after that, it was revealed that Plan B Entertainment, Brad Pitt’s production company, had bought the film rights to the book.

Best Jay Kristoff Books

Jay is a relatively new player in the fantasy and science fiction field, though his work is already gaining traction, with some of his best books including the following:

Endsinger: The Lotus Guild has let lose the Earthcrusher, the most powerful of their creations. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu dynasty foiled, the Guild has determined that fear is the only way to unite the empire.

The Guild will have dominion over the Isles at all costs.

The fight against the Chi-Mongers continues, with Buruu and Yukiko taking over leadership of the Kage rebellion and working to unite everyone under a single banner. However, because of Kin’s betrayal, there is a definitive lack of trust in the air. And without trust, Yukiko and Buruu will find that keeping their allies together is no easy task.

This book is the concluding chapter of the Lotus War series. One can see the effort Jay injects into making this a worthwhile conclusion for all the readers that have followed him on his journey.

There is a lot going on in the book and it is a testament to Jay’s ability that he is able to maintain so much control over all the moving pieces.

Godsgrave: Mia Corvere is finally a member of the Red Church, though many do not believe that she has done enough to earn her place. Mia is rather preoccupied with her obsession over Consul Scaeva, even though she has been told that the Consul is off limits.

Mia’s struggles to stay in line end when she sells herself to a gladiatorial collegium after learning that Scaeva will make a public appearance at the conclusion of the games in Godsgrave.

Waiting for Mia on the Sands are new allies and rivals. Even with all the questions awaiting her, Mia’s focus remains rooted in killing Scaeva. As the number of the dead rises, though, Mia begins to struggle with her destiny, especially when her desire for revenge begins to conflict with the possibility of love.

Jay Kristoff knows what his audience wants and he has shown that he knows how to press all the right buttons. This book further manifests his ability to weave brutal and complex stories that ask all the right questions and provide very few answers.

When Does The Next Jay Kristoff book come out?

Jay Kristoff doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Empire of the Vampire and was released on September, 14th 2021. It is the newest book in the Empire of the Vampire Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *