Legend Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Legend is a series of dystopian YA novels written by Marie Lu. The books tell the stories of two teenagers that must survive in a harsh landscape ravaged by a plague.

Get notified when Marie Lu releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Legend Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Legend ( By: Marie Lu) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Prodigy ( By: Marie Lu) 2013 Description / Buy
3 Champion ( By: Marie Lu) 2013 Description / Buy
4 Rebel ( By: Marie Lu) 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Legend Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Legend ( By: Marie Lu) 2015 Description / Buy
2 Prodigy ( By: Marie Lu) 2016 Description / Buy
3 Champion ( By: Marie Lu) 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Legend Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Life Before Legend (By: Marie Lu) 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Legend is also the first book in the series. It is within the confines of Legend that readers first meet June and Day. Marie Lu introduces her audience to a world in which something went horribly wrong. Civilization crumbled and what was once the Western United States became the Republic.

June grew up in a world that was perpetually at war. The Republic had an endless line of enemies waiting to bring the nation to its knees. June never gave much thought to the state of things.

Her parents died in a car accident when she was young but June was afforded more luxuries and opportunities than most because she came from a wealthy family. But growing up in the wealthiest district in the country did not ruin June.

If anything, she came out stronger. By the time she was fifteen, June was one of the sharpest fighters out there, a warrior of keen intellect with the ability to see details that eluded other people.

And having attained a perfect score in the Republic’s mandatory tests, June’s bright future was all but guaranteed. But then her brother died and June became consumed with revenge.

Day never meant to kill Metias. He doesn’t even think he committed the horrible deed. At 15, Day was already the most wanted criminal in the Republic. However, rumors of his sins were most exaggerated.

Day was a thief. He spent his days taking things that didn’t belong to him but he had no choice in the matter. Day grew up in the slums. And after living a poverty-stricken existence, he was forced to turn to crime to survive.

When he encountered Metias, Day only struck out to escape and he was fairly certain that the captain had left the encounter unscathed. But then he learned later on that Metias was dead and that his sister, June, was out to get him.

What began as a cat and mouse game of revenge and survival evolved into something stronger. First, June realized that there was so much more to Metias’ death than the evidence suggested.

Then she and Day realized that they had very strong feelings for one another. The Legend series tells the story of their romance and the violence it eventually breeds.

As tends to happen with most dystopian YA novels, the world that Day and June inhabit is corrupt. The people in power have kept vital secrets from them. So the protagonists have to venture out on their own and find new allies that will help them bring the old system down.

Legend Awards

The first novel in the series won the Kentucky Bluegrass Award, the Truman Readers Award, the Golden Sower Award and the Rebecca Caudill Young Readers Book Award, to mention but a few.

Legend Books into Movies

Lionsgate had planned to turn Legend into a series of movies. The Twilight producers were supposed to helm the project. But their plans fell through and the rights to the film and television adaptations ended up in the hands of BCDF Pictures.

Best Legend Books

The Legend novels are normally praised for their fast pace and rapid action scenes, with some of the best books in the series including:

Legend: June had her whole life planned out. She grew up in the wealthiest district of the Republic and her perfect score in the Trials accurately represented her prowess as a skilled operative.

But then her brother Metias died and her plans changed. June decided that nothing would stop her from hunting down and killing Day, the criminal responsible for her brother’s death.

At the time, June didn’t know that Day was just a teenage thief who stole to survive.

Prodigy: June and Day are on the run. They think they’ve escaped but they know that the republic won’t stop hunting them. And with all they’ve lost, they have every intention of retaliating, which is why they are seeking out the Patriots, the Republic’s primary enemy.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Tower of Gates” series by Paul Bellow is another great read. Eric, Josh, and Sarah secretly logged into the most advanced VRMMORPG in the world. But now that they are inside the Tower of Gates, they can’t leave. The trio must use all their gamer wits to survive the trials waiting ahead.

Be sure to check out “The Runes of Issalia” series by Jeffrey L. Kohanek. Brock lives in a world where markings determine one’s future and vocation. To be unmarked is to be worthless. Broke is unmarked but he will defy his fate by attaining powerful magic.

What Is The Next Book in The Legend Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Legend Series. The newest book is Rebel and was released on October, 2nd 2019.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *