Marie Lu Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Marie Lu is a young American author who is best known for the critically acclaimed Legend book series, a set of novels that have been set in a military and dystopian future. These novels formed the basis of the movie which was produced by television powerhouse CBS. Marie Lu was born in the year 1984, in the city of Wuxi, China. She, later on, moved to Beijing. In the year 1989, Wuxi and her entire family relocated to the Georgia, US. Marie Lu was admitted to the University of Southern California and later on served as an intern at Disney Interactive Studios. Before penning down her first novel, Lu served as art designer in the gaming industry.

Order of Legend Series

1Legend 2011Description / Buy
2Prodigy 2013Description / Buy
3Champion 2013Description / Buy
4Rebel 2019Description / Buy

Order of Legend Graphic Novels

1Legend 2015Description / Buy
2Prodigy 2016Description / Buy
3Champion 2017Description / Buy

Order of Legend Collections

1Life Before Legend 2012Description / Buy

Order of The Young Elites Series

1The Young Elites 2014Description / Buy
2The Rose Society 2015Description / Buy
3The Midnight Star 2016Description / Buy

Order of Warcross Series

1Warcross 2017Description / Buy
2Wildcard 2018Description / Buy

Order of DC Icons Series

1Wonder Woman: Warbringer ( By: Leigh Bardugo) 2017Description / Buy
2Batman: Nightwalker 2018Description / Buy
3Catwoman: Soulstealer ( By: Sarah J Maas) 2018Description / Buy
4Superman: Dawnbreaker ( By: Matt de la Pena) 2019Description / Buy
5Wonder Woman: Warbringer (The Graphic Novel) ( By: Leigh Bardugo) 2020Description / Buy
6Black Canary: Breaking Silence ( By:) 2020Description / Buy

Order of Skyhunter Series

1Skyhunter 2020Description / Buy
2Steelstriker 2021Description / Buy

Order of Marie Lu Standalone Novels

1The Kingdom of Back 2020Description / Buy

Order of Marie Lu Graphic Novels

1Batman: Nightwalker 2019Description / Buy

Order of Spirit Animals Series

1Hunted ( By: Maggie Stiefvater) 2014Description / Buy
2Fire and Ice ( By: Shannon Hale) 2014Description / Buy
3Against the Tide ( By: Tui T Sutherland) 2014Description / Buy
4Rise and Fall ( By: Eliot Schrefer) 2014Description / Buy
5The Evertree 2015Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Marie Lu Awards

Marie Lu has not been nominated for any major literary award.

Marie Lu Books into Movies

The Legend book is series has been selected by CBS for a screenplay. However, very little information concerning the movies has been released since the movie is still in the developmental stage.

Best Marie Lu Books

Legend: Like a majority of the dystopian books out there, the beginning of this novel is exceedingly interesting. This is mainly because the author introduces the reader to a world together with its problems and the manner in which they rule things. It is evidently clear that most of the dystopian book often look the same, especially in the beginning, since they either include mind controllers or viruses, governments with individuals who may appear to be good people but are bad deep down. The book’s plot has been well developed. The fictional world that Marie Lu has created is brilliant, thus making this book ideal for a movie; apart from the glass breaking, this novel has lots of roof jumping, tranquilizers, and guns. The story follows Day, a boy who is the country’s most wanted criminal.

Due to the situation that his family faces from time to time, he is forced to do things that he would not normally do. On one day, he is forced to break into one of the local hospitals so as to get medicine. Day, the young boy, does everything right, but as he tries to get out, he lands in trouble. With armed police everywhere he still manages to get out. However, just as he has managed to get away from all the junior officers, he comes face to face with the police captain. To get away, he is forced to throw a knife at the captain. The boy does not look back as he ran away. Apart from Day, the author also introduces the readers to June. June is notified that her brother, the police captain was dead and Day is the main suspect in the investigations.

Now, June, a girl with the strongest skills promises to get revenge, even if it will be the last thing that she is going to do. With that said, all the characters in this book have been well described. You will love the two main characters, June and Day. They were equal in all ways, thus, in turn, making the book quite interesting. As a character, June was great and also exceedingly smart. Day, on the other hand, was a great character who had a great sense of humor. He was also exceedingly smart and strong for a fifteen-year-old boy.

Prodigy: If you are a fan of Marie Lu, then you know that she does not disappoint. Prodigy is the second chapter in the Prodigy book series. This is an action-packed dystopian, which is filled with moments which will undoubtedly want to turn the pages. It not only contains feelings but also emotions, action scenes, and smart thoughts. As the book progresses, lots of secrets are uncovered; thus we get to know more about the protagonists. Despite the fact that the beginning was kinda slow, it was still great. Immediately after the assassination attempts, things began to get exceedingly interesting. Some of the great scenes in the novel include the plane, the balcony, and the tunnels.

Prodigy begins right where Legend had left off from. June and Day were trying to get into the Patriots so that they can rescue Eden. The Patriots accept the two characters but only under one condition. To assassinate the new Elector. June and Day agree to execute the Elector; however, they soon discover that the Elector was not whom they had initially thought he was. All the characters in this novel were well developed and were also unique in their ways. Just like the first chapter in the series, this is an excellent read that will keep you entertained throughout.

When Does The Next Marie Lu book come out?

Marie Lu doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Steelstriker and was released on September, 28th 2021. It is the newest book in the Skyhunter Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *