Jeff Shaara Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jeff Shaara is an American author and the son of the late bestselling author of science fiction, and historical fiction Michael Shaara. He was born New Jersey but spent his childhood in Tallahassee, Florida and later graduated from Florida University with a bachelor’s degree in Criminology in 1974. The author wrote The Last….Measure and Gods…..Generals which are sequel and prequel respectively to this Father Michael Shaara award-winning novel, The Killer Angels. He followed his father’s footsteps narrating the American wars and writing historical fiction with the inclusion of the most relevant characters. Jeff has penned over 10 USA Today bestselling novels. In 2010, he completed his trilogy that narrates about the WW II in the North African and the European theaters, later in 2011 he published book four in the series World War II novel by the title The Final Storm.

Get notified when Jeff Shaara releases a new book at

Order of World War II: 1939-1945 Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Rising Tide 2006 Description / Buy
2 The Steel Wave 2008 Description / Buy
3 No Less Than Victory 2009 Description / Buy
4 The Final Storm 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Civil War: 1861-1865 Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Killer Angels ( By: Michael Shaara) 1974 Description / Buy
2 Gods and Generals 1996 Description / Buy
3 The Last Full Measure 1998 Description / Buy

Chronological Order of Civil War: 1861-1865 Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Gods and Generals 1996 Description / Buy
2 The Killer Angels ( By: Michael Shaara) 1974 Description / Buy
3 The Last Full Measure 1998 Description / Buy

Order of Civil War: 1861-1865, Western Theater Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Blaze of Glory 2012 Description / Buy
2 A Chain of Thunder 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Smoke at Dawn 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Fateful Lightning 2015 Description / Buy

Order of American Revolutionary War: 1770-1783 Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rise to Rebellion 2001 Description / Buy
2 The Glorious Cause 2002 Description / Buy

Order of Jeff Shaara Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Gone for Soldiers 2000 Description / Buy
2 To the Last Man 2004 Description / Buy
3 Jeff Shaara's Civil War Battlefields 2006 Description / Buy
4 The Frozen Hours 2017 Description / Buy
5 To Wake the Giant 2020 Description / Buy
6 The Eagle's Claw 2021 Description / Buy
7 The Old Lion 2023 Description / Buy
8 The Shadow of War 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Jeff Shaara made his debut in the publishing world in 1996, when Gods and Generals was published. It is the first novel in Civil War series and takes place between 1858 and 1863. Book two in the series is The Last…..Measure published in 1998, but the events depicted occurred during 1861 and 1865. Gone for Soldiers published in 2000 narrates the events of the US-Mexican War between 1847 and 1848.


Jeff novels have been nominated and also won several awards. For instance, American Library Association awarded the author W.Y Boyd Literary Award for Excellence in Military Fiction.

Additionally, he was awarded the Richard Nelson Currant Award, Artes Award and Wiley Award. In 2011 he was inducted into FS College of Criminology Hall of Fame and awarded FSU 1st Distinguished Eriter Award.


Gods and General was adapted into a 2003 American period war drama film by the same name by Warner Brothers. The film stars Jack Daniels, Stephen Lang, and Robert Duvall.


These are two of the best books penned by the American bestselling novelist Jeff Shaara, The Last…..Measure ( 1991) and Gods and Generals (1996).

Gods and Generals: Gods and Generals is the first book in The Civil War Trilogy and a prequel to Jeff Shaara father epic book The Killer Angels. In this book, the author explores the lives of Generals Jackson, Lee, Hancock, and Chamberlain as the most famous Battle of Gettysburg approaches.

Jeff captures the disillusionment of both Hancock and Lee in their careers, Jacksons overwhelming Christian ethics, Lee conflict with loyalty and Chamberlain lack of experience while at the same time showcasing how each of the generals compensated for failures and shortcomings when put to the test.

The perspective of these four generals particularly concerning the battles at Chancellorsville and Fredericksburg make vivid realities of the civil war. Gods and Generals is a personalized historical book. Just like The Killer Angels, this novel is character driven narrative based on the detailed facts of the American civil war. The best thing about this book is that it allows the readers to get to know the soldiers, how each of the generals struggled with fear and hoped for a better life after the war knowing well that the battle might be their last. Chamberlain, on the other hand, is a retired school teacher who volunteered for the war, Jackson a brilliant strategist and a devoted Christian, Hancock was a brave leader influenced by the generals above while Lee did not believe in slavery and never wanted the war.

The Last Full Measure: This is the final novel in the civil war trilogy and in this novel several battles are brought to life: the siege of Petersburg, Battle of the Wilderness, and the Slaughter at Cold Harbor. Throughout the battle we can see that Lee is weary but possesses the invincible spirit and devoted to his army even though he is severely outnumbered.

On the other side, we see a gratified Lincoln, who later gives Grant his confidence and full support. On the contrast, we see Jefferson Davis, a selfish and unrealistic person who believes that war would save his capital. Some secondary characters are worth mentioning such as Chamberlain. In this last installment of the trilogy, the author gives the readers a glimpse into the home life of Chamberlain, Grant, and Lee which is fascinating. The plot is well woven fast paced and features interesting characters that you do not want to miss.

When Does The Next Jeff Shaara book come out?

Jeff Shaara doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Shadow of War and was released on May, 14th 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *