Gone Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Gone is a series of YA urban fantasy novels written by Michael Grant. The books take readers to a town where certain teenagers have begun to develop superhuman abilities.

Get notified when Michael Grant releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Gone Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Gone ( By: Michael Grant) 2008 Description / Buy
2 Hunger ( By: Michael Grant) 2009 Description / Buy
3 Lies ( By: Michael Grant) 2010 Description / Buy
4 Plague ( By: Michael Grant) 2011 Description / Buy
5 Fear ( By: Michael Grant) 2012 Description / Buy
6 Light ( By: Michael Grant) 2013 Description / Buy
7 Monster ( By: Michael Grant) 2017 Description / Buy
8 Villain ( By: Michael Grant) 2018 Description / Buy
9 Hero ( By: Michael Grant) 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Gone, the first novel in the series, throws the spotlight on Southern California where the town of Perdido Beach has just undergone a dramatic shift.

One day, all the kids woke up to find that every single person older than fifteen had disappeared. If that wasn’t jarring enough, an energy barrier had materialized, sealing the town off from the rest of the world.

Suffice it to say, the kids that remained were at a loss. Sam Temple just wanted to keep his friends safe. Things were spiraling out of control very quickly and there were no adults to maintain order.

The fact that he had suddenly developed special powers did little to prepare Sam for what came next. At first, everyone just wanted to survive. But then the kids from Coates Academy came to town and the war began.

No one trusted the mutants, kids like Sam who had special powers. At first, he was alone. But then others began to manifest similar abilities and they turned to him for guidance.

Sam was more than happy to use his powers for good. But some of the kids from Coates Academy had other ideas. They thought that their new powers gave them the right to rule the town as they wished.

If fighting their tyranny wasn’t enough, Sam found that he also had to fend off the normal kids, children who feared the mutants and wanted them gone. And then there was the darkness, a nefarious entity with dangerous plans for the kids and their town.

Sam never expected the future of Perdido Beach to rest on his shoulders. But when push came to shove, he was the only natural choice to save the day and bring hope back to his home.

The Gone series has been praised for its rapid pace, well-crafted teenage drama and great action.

The books are definitely aimed towards younger readers. However, they don’t place nearly as much emphasis on the romance as most YA novels.

Additionally, Michael Grant isn’t afraid to put his young characters through dark and demented situations.

The central focus of the novels is Sam Temple and his conflict with Caine Soren from Coates Academy.

Gone Awards

The first novel in this series received Delaware Diamond Award and Nevada Young Reader’s Award nominations in 2010 and 2012 respectively.

Gone Books into Movies

In 2013, Sony Pictures bought the rights to the Gone series. They expressed interest in producing a TV series based on the books.

Best Gone Books

This series has been commended for its strong, kind, courageous hero and engrossing plot, with some of the best books in the series including:

Hunger: Three months ago, Perdido Beach was changed. Every person 15-years or older disappeared. Then an energy barrier fell over the town.

Now the kids that were left behind are making a futile attempt to survive without adult supervision. A food crisis is fast approaching and no one has bothered to tackle it because they’ve all been too busy coming to terms with their burgeoning superpowers.

As tensions begin to rise, with the stressful situation turning mutants against non-mutants, a sinister creature makes its presence known.

Fear: One year ago, everyone in Perdido Beach 15-years and older disappeared. The remnants thought they could survive.

But things kept escalating. They couldn’t deal with the hunger and the paranoia and the manifestation of supernatural powers among a select few.

Now the darkness has come. The creature began by turning their domed world black. Now it is bringing their worst fears to life. If they can’t put their differences aside and band together, Perdido Beach will fall into an endless nightmare from which its inhabitants will never recover.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Lorien Legacies” Series by Pittacus Lore is another good read. An alien race called the Loric perished in a war with the Mogadorians, their deadliest enemy. The nine teenagers who survived thought they could start over on earth. But the Mogadorians are back and this time, they are determined to finish the job.

You may also like the Maze Runner Series by James Dashner. Various teenagers woke up in a giant maze with no memory of who they were or where they came from. Now they must fight for survival against a mechanical enemy even as they solve the mystery of their origins.

What Is The Next Book in The Gone Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Gone Series. The newest book is Hero and was released on October, 1st 2019.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *