Jefferson Bass Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jefferson Bass is the pseudonym used by Jon Jefferson, an American author and television documentary maker. He has published over five novels in the Body Farm series using the pen name in consultation with Dr. Bill Bass, a renowned forensic anthropologist. He has also published two non-fictions about the forensic anthropologist life and forensic cases. Bass was born in St. Joseph, Missouri and spent his youth in Guntersville, Alabama. After completing high school education, he joined Birmingham-Southern College where he majored in English. He is also a graduate in English and comparative literature at the University of North Carolina. Prior to writing novels, he worked at Oak Ridge National Laboratory as a staff science writer; as a freelance newspaper and magazine journalist, as an educator at Planned Parenthood of East Tennessee and as a TV documentary writer and producer. Jefferson Bass prolific writings have been published in Popular Science, The New York Times, USA Today and Newsweek. His documentaries consist of programs for The History Channel, A&E Network, and the Oxygen Network. The author also wrote and directed a documentary aired on the National Geographic Channel about the University of Tennessee Anthropological Research Facility widely known as the Body Farm. During the filming of this particular documentary, Bass met the founder of the Body Farm who requested for Bass’s assistance to write a nonfiction memoir which was later published in 2003.

Order of Body Farm Series

1Carved in Bone 2006Description / Buy
2Flesh and Bone 2007Description / Buy
3The Devil's Bones 2008Description / Buy
4Bones of Betrayal 2009Description / Buy
5The Bone Thief 2010Description / Buy
6The Bone Yard 2011Description / Buy
7The Bones of Avignon / The Inquisitor's Key 2012Description / Buy
8Cut to the Bone 2013Description / Buy
9The Breaking Point 2015Description / Buy
10Without Mercy 2016Description / Buy

Order of Body Farm Short Stories/Novellas

1Madonna and Corpse (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy
2Jordan's Stormy Banks (Short Story) 2013Description / Buy

Order of Jefferson Bass Non-Fiction Books

1Death's Acre: Inside the Legendary Body Farm 2003Description / Buy
2Beyond the Body Farm 2007Description / Buy
3Identity Crisis (Short Story) 2015Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The memoir inspired Jon Jefferson to write a series of crime fiction with Dr. Bill Bass the founder of Body Firm using the pseudonym Jefferson Bass. The pair published debut novel.


These are three best books written by Jefferson Bass Carved in Bone (2006) and Flesh, Bone (2007) and The Bone Thief.

Carved in Bone: This is the first novel in the body farm mystery series. A woman body is found in a cave under some mysterious climatic conditions that preserved the body for hundreds of years thus hindering any decay possibility. She appeared to be comparable to war figure. Dr. Bill tasked with examining the body before bringing it out of the cave. Upon a closer examination, he discovers that the woman had been strangled to death.

This shocking discovery takes place in Cooke County, a local rural area where the criminals and the police in charge intermingle. There has been family clashes going on, one that which has been passed from one generation to the other. Could this ongoing war have anything to do with the death of this victim?

Carved in Bone is a sensational debut novel in one of the best series by Jefferson Bass. The writer manages to keep the reader hooked from the first page to the end. The setting is realistic, the characters are well-developed, and the plot in this novel moves in such an excellent manner.

Flesh and Bone: Dr. Bill Brockton is the founder of Tennessee world popular body farm- where dead bodies are left to decompose to gather more crucial forensic information. The discovery of a shocking crime nearby, he is called upon to by the rising star in the state’s medical examiners, Jess Carter to aid her in solving a murder puzzle. However, after recreating the death scene in the body farm, he discovers that his reputation, career and most importantly his life are in great danger after a second body appears in the same spot where the first one was found.

The world turns against him and soon finds himself accused of a murder crime that he did not commit. Therefore to prove his innocence, Bill Brockton will need to gather every skill he ever gained from his forensic work to escape a trap set on him and bring those against him into justice.

The Bone Thief: Dr. Bill is called in to carry out a DNA test from an exhumed body from the bone sample of the dead man. However, when the casket is open, the doctor is stunned to discover that the body has been violated. This leads to a discovery of a lucrative and flouring black market in body parts and at the center of this sinister empire is one daring and a thriving grave robber. Soon Brockton finds himself drawn into this vicious circle when the FBI recruits him for an undercover mission using the corpses from the Body Farm as bait. The Bone Thief is an enjoyable crime thriller novel featuring loveable characters, well-woven plot that will keep you engaged to the last page.

When Does The Next Jefferson Bass book come out?

Jefferson Bass doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Without Mercy and was released on October, 4th 2016. It is the newest book in the Body Farm Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *