Joe Hill Books

Joe Hill is the pen name of the American author Joseph Hillstrom King who was born on 4th June 1972, to authors Tabitha King and Stephen King. When Joe started writing, he kept his identity as a secret and that the reason why he also kept a pseudo name. Though now when Joe has finally established himself on his personal merits, a large number of people know about his celebrity connection.

The author has written novelss such as The Fireman, NOS4A2, Horns, and Heart-shaped Box. Joe Hill is also a comic book writer and has written the comic book Locke & Key. Hill has also authored the short story series titled 20th-century Ghosts.

Order of Gunpowder Series

# Read Title Published
1 Gunpowder 2008

Order of Joe Hill Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published
1 20th Century Ghosts 2005
2 Road Rage 2012

Order of Joe Hill Graphic Novels

Order of Joe Hill Short Stories

Order of Joe Hill Standalone Novels

Order of Locke & Key Series

# Read Title Published
1 Welcome to Lovecraft 2008
2 Head Games 2009
3 Crown of Shadows 2010
4 The Guide To Known Keys 2011
5 Keys to the Kingdom 2011
6 Grindhouse 2012
7 Clockworks 2013
8 Alpha & Omega 2014

Order of Tales From the Darkside Series

# Read Title Published
1 Tales from the Darkside 2017

Order of The Cape Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Cape 2007
2 The Cape: 1969 2013


Print: Print PDF

Joe Hill Awards:

An author who calls New England his home, Joe-hill is also the recipient of the Ray Bradbury fellowship. ” The 20th-Century Ghosts”, was his first book and won the Bram Stoker Award for ‘Best Fiction Collection’, and the (BFA) British-Fantasy Award for ‘Best Collection’ and the Best Horror story for his story “Best New Horror’. Joe-Hill also won the William L. Crawford award for the best Fantasy writer in 2006. In 1999, he was given the World-Fantasy Award(WFA) for Best Novella for “Voluntary Committal” in 2006 and the Coppard A. E. Long-Fiction Prize for “Better Than Home”. His stories have featured in reputed magazines like “Postscripts”, “The High-Plains Literary Review” and “Subterranean Magazine”. NOS4A2, his 3rd book, stood at no. 5 in the “New York Times” bestseller list. His books “Heart-shaped box” and “20th-century Ghosts” are highly acclaimed by the critics and have received numerous awards.

Joe Hill Books into Movies:

Joe’s latest novel “The Fireman” is under production into a movie. It’s the fourth Hollywood project based on a novel by Joe Hill. His novel “NOS4A2,” is under development as a television series for the AMC channel. His book “Horns,” was made into a 2014 movie which starred Daniel Radcliffe. “Heart Shaped Box,” is under production by Langley Park Productions.

Best Joe Hill Books:

Three of the most appreciated Joe hill novels are:-

NOS4A2: Joe Hill has followed his father’s footsteps and emerged as a master of the supernatural suspense thriller novels. NOS4A2 revolves around Victoria MC Queen, and Charles Talent Manx, the good and the bad. Victoria has been bestowed with the supernatural gift of finding hidden things. She heads in her Raleigh Tuff Burner bike to a rickety bridge which takes her to her desired expeditions. Manx us a wicked man of evil intentions and takes kids on his Rolls-Royce, number plated- NOS4A2, to unmitigated and astonishing ‘Christmasland. The two cross paths on their hidden journeys and the story takes an unprecedented twist when Manx picks Victoria’s own son.

Heart-Shaped Box: Jude Coyne is retiring rock star who buys a dead man’s suit online. Though he was warned that the man’s ghost will accompany the suit, he refused to believe the seller. The ghost, however, is truly present in the suit. The ghost plays a villain to Jude and wants to kill him. Jude has had an erroneous past and has harmed many in his glorifying days. The story unfolds Jude’s tryst with the ghost, making him a kind and considerate man.

Horns: After the highly acclaimed Heart-Shaped Box, Joe hill came out with Horns, reestablishing himself as the master of supernatural suspense and drama. The story is divided into 5 sections and is like a sequel to his previous novel “The Surrealist’s Glass”. “Horns” is the second book by Joe and was published in 2010. It is a nonlinear narrative of Ig Perrish who finds himself growing horns on waking up one morning. He is now equipped with diabolical powers and people come to him to express their animal desires and urges to him. He also can figure out things about people by just making skin contact. These powers will help him to unleash the mystery of the rape and murder of his girlfriend whose corpse was found in the woods. The whole town accused Ig of the murder as he hailed from a well-connected background. The story moves at a superb pace and has dramatic twists as Ig takes on his journey to find the culprits.