Joel Rosenberg Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Joel Rosenberg was a Canadian-American sci-fi and fantasy author famously known for his Guardians of the Flame series. The author was also a gun rights activist and the oldest brother of Carol Rosenberg, the Miami Herald reporter. In 1978 Rosenberg began publishing with an opposite the editorial page in The New York Times. His stories were featured in Amazing Science Fiction, The Dragon, and in Isaac Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine and his novels have been published by Baen, Avon, Roc and Tor Books.

Order of Guardians of the Flame Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Sleeping Dragon 1983 Description / Buy
2 The Sword and the Chain 1984 Description / Buy
3 The Silver Crown 1985 Description / Buy
4 The Heir Apparent 1987 Description / Buy
5 The Warrior Lives 1988 Description / Buy
6 The Road to Ehvenor 1991 Description / Buy
7 The Road Home 1995 Description / Buy
8 Not Exactly the Three Musketeers 1999 Description / Buy
9 Not Quite Scaramouche 2001 Description / Buy
10 Not Really The Prisoner of Zenda 2003 Description / Buy

Order of Thousand Worlds Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ties of Blood and Silver 1984 Description / Buy
2 Emile and the Dutchman 1985 Description / Buy
3 Not For Glory 1988 Description / Buy
4 Hero 1990 Description / Buy

Order of Keepers of the Hidden Ways Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Fire Duke 1995 Description / Buy
2 The Silver Stone 1996 Description / Buy
3 The Crimson Sky 1998 Description / Buy

Order of D'Shai Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 D'Shai 1991 Description / Buy
2 Hour of the Octopus 1994 Description / Buy

Order of Sparky Hemingway Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Home Front 2003 Description / Buy
2 Family Matters 2004 Description / Buy

Order of Morded's Heirs/Paladins Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Paladins 2004 Description / Buy
2 Knight Moves 2006 Description / Buy

Order of Legends Of The Riftwar Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Honored Enemy ( By: Raymond E. Feist, William R. Forstchen) 2001 Description / Buy
2 Murder in LaMut ( With: Raymond E. Feist) 2003 Description / Buy
3 Jimmy the Hand ( By: S.M. Stirling, Raymond E. Feist) 2005 Description / Buy

Joel Rosenberg Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Perpetual Light 1982 Description / Buy
2 Friends of the Horseclans 1987 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Rosenberg first published fiction novel is Like the Gentle Rains which was featured in Isaac Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine in 1982. In 1983, The Sleeping Dragon the debut novel in his long-running series Guardians of the Flame was published. The series placed a group of college students into a fantasy setting, and throughout the series, he traced these characters as well as their descendants and the impacts they had on the society. He showed no guilt about killing off a famous character.

The author also published Keepers of the Hidden Ways trilogy that made heavy use of the Norse mythology. His third fantasy series consisted of four novels and was set in an Asian fantasy world with strict etiquette and cultural standards. Apart from fantasy, Rosenberg authored some Sci-Fi books such as Emile and the Dutchman and Tie of Blood and Silver which feature different characters but the same setting. Other sci-fi books are Here and Not for Glory. During the early 21st century, Rosenberg developed interests in mysteries and published various books in this genre which include Home Front the debut novel in Sparky Hemingway Mysteries in 2003 and Family Matters, the second book in the series in 2004.


These are two best books by Joel Rosenberg, The Sword and the Chain and The Sleeping Dragon.

The Sleeping Dragon: Book one in Guardians of the Flame series. We are introduced to Andrea, Karl, James and the rest getting ready to assume their roles as warrior, wizard, cleric or thief. However their professor Deighton had something planned secretively for this unsuspecting group of students, what was intended to be a game soon turned out to be a life and death as these adventurers find themselves transported into an alternate world and into the bodies of the actual characters that they had pretended to be.

They are cast into a land where magic was quite well. Where dragons breath fire anyhow and only those quick with their swords and skills survive and the only way that they could ever see Earth is if they find the legendary gates between worlds- a place fortified by the most deadly and terrifying enemy of all- the sleeping dragon.

The Sleeping Dragon is an excellent book, the concept of participating in the game is just the beginning of endless adventures and encounters. The character and the plot development is fantastic and makes you want to know what will change from page to page.

The Sword and the Chain: This is the book second book in Guardians of the Flame series that features wizard, warrior, dwarf, thief, and a master builder. All of these characters had chosen this world as their destiny, the world where dragons were real, and magic was the law of the land and not science. Walter, Karl, Lou, Ahira, and Andrea knew that there was indeed no going back to the 20th century America now but instead were stranded in a place and time where healing spells and their skills stood between them and the deadly sharp edge of a slavers blade. However, they could not dare return home as they were bound by a pledge to bring freedom to this realm. However, marching against them were the entire forces of Slaver guilds and wizards. In this real where a wrong step can ultimately change a friend into a foe, can Karl and the team fulfills their pledge?

The second novel is a compelling read; it picks up where the Sleeping Dragon left off when a group of college students chose to remain in a realm they were transported to by their Dungeon Master. This book contains everything that you would expect from a sci-fi novel. The characters are well crafted and continue to grow as compared to the book one in the series.

When Does The Next Joel Rosenberg book come out?

Joel Rosenberg doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Knight Moves and was released on December, 1st 2006. It is the newest book in the Morded's Heirs/Paladins Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *