John Flanagan Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

John Flanagan is an Australian bestseller fantasy author famously known for his prolific children books. His best-recognized work is the Brotherband Chronicles and Rangers Apprentice medieval fantasy novel. Besides writing children books, Flanagan also writes adult novels. He was born and raised up in Sydney and went to Waverley College, Australia anticipating to be a writer. However, this was not the case until the day he wrote a highly negative poem about a senior executive agency where he used to work that his talent was discovered. John ventured in copywriting, writing advertising copy for almost 20 years. He then teamed up with Gary Reilly and co-created at TV series titled Hey Dad and wrote over 250 episodes which were aired for eight years. The author also wrote for My Two Wives and Hampton Court.

Order of Brotherband Chronicles Series

1The Outcasts / Brotherband 2011Description / Buy
2The Invaders 2012Description / Buy
3The Hunters 2012Description / Buy
4Slaves of Socorro 2014Description / Buy
5Scorpion Mountain 2014Description / Buy
6The Ghostfaces 2016Description / Buy
7The Caldera 2017Description / Buy
8Return of the Temujai 2019Description / Buy

Order of Ranger's Apprentice Series

1The Ruins of Gorlan 2004Description / Buy
2The Burning Bridge 2005Description / Buy
3The Icebound Land 2005Description / Buy
4The Battle for Skandia / Oakleaf Bearers 2006Description / Buy
5The Sorcerer of the North / The Sorcerer in the North 2006Description / Buy
6The Siege of Macindaw 2006Description / Buy
7Erak's Ransom 2007Description / Buy
8The Kings of Clonmel 2008Description / Buy
9Halt's Peril 2009Description / Buy
10The Lost Stories 2011Description / Buy
11The Emperor of Nihon-Ja 2011Description / Buy
12Death of a Hero (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy

Order of Ranger’s Apprentice: The Early Years Series

1The Tournament at Gorlan 2015Description / Buy
2The Battle of Hackham Heath 2016Description / Buy

Order of Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger Series

1The Royal Ranger 2013Description / Buy
2The Red Fox Clan 2018Description / Buy
3Duel at Araluen 2018Description / Buy
4The Missing Prince 2020Description / Buy
5Escape from Falaise 2021Description / Buy

Order of Jesse Parker Mystery Series

1Storm Peak 2009Description / Buy
2Avalanche Pass 2010Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

John Flanagan began working on what would later become the Rangers Apprentice in the 1990’s which initially comprised of short stories for his son who at the time was only twelve years. His aim was to encourage his son to read and as well showcase to him that heroes/heroines do not have to be big and strong. His son was a small boy, but all his friends were bigger and stronger. In 2004, the first novel in Rangers Apprentice series, The Ruins of Gorlan was published. The series consists of over eleven books. Besides Rangers Apprentice, John has also published Brotherband series which consists of over five novels. The first book in this series is The Outcasts published in 2011. The Grey Raider is an adult novel which John Flanagan wrote in 2015.


Several of John Flanagan books have been nominated for various awards, and others have appeared in several starred reviews. For instance, The Battle of Skandia was a nominee for the 2011 Golden Archer Award for Middle/Junior High category. The Burning Bridge was listed in 2006 Kirkus Starred Review. The Ruins of Gorlan was a nominee for the 2007 Beehive Award for the best fiction book category. The first and the fourth books in Rangers Apprentice won the Aurealis Awards.


The Rangers Apprentice has been optioned for adaptation in a television series, by the former Walt Disney Studios chairman Dick Cook entertainment company. The film is set to be directed by Paul Haggis and his daughter Alissa Sullivan Haggis.


These are two best books by John Flanagan, The Ruins of Gorlan and The Burning Bride.

The Ruins of Gorlan: For Will, the Rangers and their dark cloaks and their shadowy ways have always scared him in the past. The villagers where Will lives believe that the Rangers practice magic that helps them become invisible to the ordinary people. The 15-year-old Will, small for his age has been chosen to serve as Ranger’s Apprentice. However, the thing that Will does not know is that the Rangers protect the kingdom where he lives. They are highly trained and skilled in battles as well as in surveillance, and they fight battles before the battles reach to the people and what Will is about to discover is a large battle approaching from the horizon. The banished Morgarath, the Lord of Night and Rain, is gathering his forces to attack the kingdom and this time round he will not be denied.

The Burning Bridge: Now preparing for the final battle with the evil warlord Morgarath, the Rangers unite the kingdom allies, and Will is selected alongside with his friend, Horace, as special envoy to proximal Celtica. However the simple mission soon takes one twisted turn- the Celtica have disappeared, and their town appears abandoned. The evidence points the possibilities that the evil hand of Morgarath has struck again. He has somehow found a way of bringing his troops over the once remote eastern mountains and now lay in hiding to attack the King’s army. With the help of allies from far away, Horace and Will are the only people standing in the way of this evil dark lord plans. They have showcased their excellent skills, courage, and determination in their training and now it is the time that they face the real evil and put their shrewdness to the test. With bigger war and increasing stakes, The Burning Bridge epic adventure is one novel that you do not want to miss out. The plot is well woven; the characters are fantastic and likable.

When Does The Next John Flanagan book come out?

The next book by John Flanagan is Escape from Falaise and will be released on November, 2nd 2021. It is the newest book in the Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *