John Gilstrap Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Born in 1957, John Gilstrap is a native-American and a New York bestselling author of the Jonathan Graves series. He has befittingly been praised as one of the finest thriller and mystery writers on the planet, an adept master of action and drama who pushes every thriller button. Other than writing, he is an expert in explosives and has worked as volunteer firefighter and engineer.

Get notified when John Gilstrap releases a new book at

Order of Jonathan Grave Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 No Mercy 2009 Description / Buy
2 Hostage Zero 2010 Description / Buy
3 Threat Warning 2011 Description / Buy
4 Damage Control 2012 Description / Buy
5 Soft Targets 2013 Description / Buy
6 High Treason 2013 Description / Buy
7 End Game 2014 Description / Buy
8 Against All Enemies 2015 Description / Buy
9 Friendly Fire 2016 Description / Buy
10 Final Target 2017 Description / Buy
11 Scorpion Strike 2018 Description / Buy
12 Total Mayhem 2019 Description / Buy
13 Hellfire 2020 Description / Buy
14 Stealth Attack 2021 Description / Buy
15 Lethal Game / Lethal Prey 2022 Description / Buy
16 Harm’s Way 2023 Description / Buy
17 Zero Sum 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Nick Of Time Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Time to Run 2016 Description / Buy
2 Time to Hide 2016 Description / Buy
3 Time to Steal 2016 Description / Buy
4 Time to Die 2016 Description / Buy
5 Time to Live 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Victoria Emerson Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Crimson Phoenix 2021 Description / Buy
2 Blue Fire 2022 Description / Buy
3 White Smoke 2023 Description / Buy

Order of John Gilstrap Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Nathan's Run 1996 Description / Buy
2 At All Costs 1998 Description / Buy
3 Even Steven 2000 Description / Buy
4 Scott Free 2003 Description / Buy

Order of John Gilstrap Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Six Minutes to Freedom 2006 Description / Buy

John Gilstrap Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fresh Kills, Tales from the Kill Zone 2010 Description / Buy
2 Hotel California 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Although he has authored several standalone fiction novels, he is famously known for the best-selling Jonathan Grave series of rocket-paced suspense thriller novels, among them being the award-winning Against All Enemies (2015). Some of his notable standalone novels include his first debut Nathan’s Run (1996), and his latest Nick of Time (2016). Also found among his vast collection is the intriguing non-fictional Six Minutes to Freedom (2006).

John Gilstrap Awards

John Gilstrap has received a number of prestigious awards for his outstanding pieces of work. To begin with the latest, he was crowned the winner of the 2016 Thriller Award for the best Original Paperback for Against All Enemies. Earlier on, the then bestselling At All Costs won the 1999 Alex Award for the best adult book with special appeal for adolescents, It’s also worth noting that his other novel, Threat Warning, received nomination for both the Shamus and Thriller Awards in 2012 for the best Paperback.

John Gilstrap Books Turned Into Movies

In 2015, Marc Butan’s MadRiver Pictures tasked Drew Dowdle and John Erick Dowdle to both write and the latter to direct a Six Minutes to Freedom movie, based on the non-fictional novel by John Gilstrap. The movies is in the works and will soon be on the screens.

Best John Gilstrap Books

These are three of the most cherished novels by John Gilstrap: Against All Enemies, Threat Warning and Six Minutes to Freedom.

Against All Enemies: This award-winning thriller novel of the Jonathan Graves series is one of John Gilstrap’s highest rated novels by readers.

In the novel, Jonathan Graves finds it difficult coming to terms with a college combat going rogue, not only killing American agents but also leaking sensitive information to hostile foreign parties. Graves first sets out to rescue his old friend who is being trailed by black ops assassins. He ends up discovering much more than he had known. On top of the wily operative, he discovers evidence of an extremely dangerous conspiracy, pointing out to an unimaginable tragedy looming. Together with his elite team of specialists, Graves has to bring to light a deadly and top-guarded secret. Time is of utmost essence to evade a possible historic catastrophe.

Threat Warning: Having been nominated for both the Shamus and Thriller Awards, there’s no doubt this is one of Gilstrap’s best books.

In the novel, John Gilstrap exposes the greatest threat to the freedom of America. Behind the threat is a secret society of gruesome killers waiting to strike by surprise. Ordinary citizens are bound to become the first victims, randomly being sprayed with bullets at rush hour by unidentified assassins. Caught in the midst of one of the attacks, Graves, a hostage rescue specialist secretly follows gunman making away with a helpless mother and her son. Getting to the core of the nationwide conspiracy is the only way He and his team can stand a chance of saving the hostages. Their search goes beyond the frenzied schemes of a madman’s lethal aspirations, leading them all the way to the top most ranks of power.

Six Minutes to Freedom: In this non fictional novel, John Gilstrip features the immersing true story of a real-life hero at the helm of an international crisis, and of the elite Delta force team of the United States’ Army who saved his life. Together with his band of Heroes, in defiance of the merciless Panama dictator, Kurt Muse goes on air with an underground radio station calling for civil resistance. Six Minute to Freedom retells the intriguing story of Kurt Muse, from his ultimate arrest and months of his imprisonment, to the sordid conditions he persevered in Modelo Prison, from his one-on-one accounts of his fellow inmates’ afflictions to the his family’s plight as they fled for their lives. It uncovers the shocking details the day Kurt became the sole civilian ever rescued by the elite Delta force of the United States’ Army. Overall, Six Minutes to Freedom is a highly personal narrative of a brave American on foreign land, who put his life on the line for his country and people.

When Does The Next John Gilstrap book come out?

The next book by John Gilstrap is Zero Sum and will be released on August, 20th 2024. It is the newest book in the Jonathan Grave Series.

2 thoughts on “John Gilstrap”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *