John Grisham Books

John Grisham is an American writer born in 1955 and best known for his legal thriller and crime fiction books that have been published worldwide and adapted to make some famous films in the 1990s and early 2000s. He is a graduate of Mississippi State University and University of Mississippi School of Law. He is also the author of the Theodore Boone series and has been writing since 1984, before publishing his first book in 1989.

Some of the famous books by John Grisham include A Time to Kill (published in 1989), The Firm (1991) and The Confession (2010). Grisham is also the author of Sycamore Row (2013), a legal fiction book that won him a lot of accolades worldwide. His series, Theodore Boone continue to amaze readers with the high-suspense content that makes them look forward to the next publication in great anticipation. Quite a number of non-fiction works and short stories are also credited to the storytelling brilliance of John Grisham.

Order of Jake Brigance Series

# Read Title Published
1 A Time to Kill 1989
2 Sycamore Row 2013

Order of John Grisham Non-Fiction Books

Order of John Grisham Standalone Novels

Order of Rogue Lawyer Series

# Read Title Published
1 Rogue Lawyer 2015
2 Partners (Short Story) 2016

Order of Theodore Boone Series

# Read Title Published
1 Kid Lawyer 2010
2 The Abduction 2010
3 The Accused 2012
4 The Activist 2013
5 The Fugitive 2015
6 The Scandal 2016


# Read Title Published
1 Delta Blues 2009
Print: Print PDF


The Firm, by John Grisham became the best selling novel of 1991, a fete that only a few authors get to achieve in their lifetime. In 2005, John Grisham was awarded the Peggy V. Helmerich Distinguished Author Award, an award that is provided annually by the Tulsa Library trust. He was also awarded the 2009 Library of Congress Creative Achievement Award for Fiction.

John Grisham Books Into Movies:

A number of John Grisham books have been adapted into bestselling films that continue to thrill thousands of movie lovers. The Firm, a 1993 film casting Tom Cruise was the first major movie to feature Grisham’s written works. Then followed The Pelican Brief, The Client, A Time to Kill, The Chamber and The Rainmaker, all adapted from Grisham’s novels with the same titles. A television series titled, The Client ran on-air from 1995 to 1996 and featured thrilling suspense action from Grisham’s The Client book. Other films that feature content by this author include Runaway Jury and The Gingerbread Man.


Although there are more than 30 books that are attributed to John Grisham, here are the top 3 best books worth taking note of:

A Time to Kill: This classical novel by John Grisham was first published in 1989 but the actual writing started in 1984. Grisham described this epic book as one that laid a firm foundation to his success in writing thought-provoking fiction novels in legal thriller genre. It took him three years to complete this first book. He came up with the ideas for the book after attending a legal case that involved a girl who was raped and beaten by a gang. The girl was narrating her ordeal to the jury, when Grisham thought about what would happen if the girl’s father had murdered her assailants. He compiled this new scenario into a book, his first and titled it A time to Kill.

The Firm: Grisham’s second book, The Firm is another great writing that is worth reading for legal-thriller fiction lovers. The Firm became the bestselling novel of 1991 and remained on the The New York Times’ best seller list for 47 weeks, a record then. The novel is about a young attorney who is lured to a seemingly perfect law firm that turns out to be the opposite of what he expected. Readers are taken into a journey of personal sacrifices and suspense thriller as the young attorney battles relentless nightmare experiences at the law firm.

Theodore Boone Series: Often overlooked due to it being more for kids but you’d be surprised. While it’s not a patch on a lot of Grisham books it should still be read. The Theodore Boone legal-thriller series features a 13-year old kid who gives legal advice to his classmates that help them tackle a wide-range of legal issues. At one time he helps a classmate with legal advice on how to help prevent their house from being repossessed. The series is a good read for children aged 9 to 12 years and as the author suggests, the content can help them get informed about law in a subtle way. The successive series of Theodore Boone continue to explore the brilliance of the kid in matters pertaining constitutional law. It is a good book series that can help influence kids choose legal profession as their career of choice at a tender age.