John Scalzi Books

John Scalzi is an American science fiction author and popular blogger living in Ohio.

Scalzi was already a successful published non-fiction author and movie critic when he launched his career as a novelist by publishing his first book, Old Man’s War, as a series of online chapters on his personal website starting in 2002. The novel was a hit almost immediately and was subsequently picked up by science fiction imprint Tor Books. His second published novel Agent to the Stars was likewise first released on his website on a donation based model before being published by Subterranean Press.

Order of John Scalzi Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rough Guide to Money Online 2000 Description / Buy
2 The Rough Guide to the Universe 2003 Description / Buy
3 Uncle John's Presents 2003 Description / Buy
4 Uncle John's Presents Book of the Dumb 2 2004 Description / Buy

Order of John Scalzi Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 METAtropolis 2008 Description / Buy
2 Miniatures 2016 Description / Buy

Order of John Scalzi Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Agent to the Stars 2004 Description / Buy
2 How I Proposed to My Wife (Short Story) 2006 Description / Buy
3 The Android's Dream 2006 Description / Buy
4 The Tale of the Wicked (Short Story) 2009 Description / Buy
5 The God Engines 2009 Description / Buy
6 Judge Sn Goes Golfing (Short Story) 2009 Description / Buy
7 The President's Brain is Missing (Short Story) 2010 Description / Buy
8 An Election (Short Story) 2010 Description / Buy
9 Shadow War of the Night Dragons (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
10 Fuzzy Nation 2011 Description / Buy
11 Redshirts 2012 Description / Buy
12 Muse of Fire (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
13 Everything but the Squeal (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy
14 The Collapsing Empire 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Lock In Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Unlocked 2014 Description / Buy
2 Lock In 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Old Man's War Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Questions for a Soldier (Short Story) 2005 Description / Buy
2 Old Man's War 2005 Description / Buy
3 The Ghost Brigades 2006 Description / Buy
4 The Last Colony 2007 Description / Buy
5 The Sagan Diary (Short Story) 2007 Description / Buy
6 After the Coup (Short Story) 2008 Description / Buy
7 Zoe's Tale 2008 Description / Buy
8 The Human Division 2013 Description / Buy
9 The End of All Things 2015 Description / Buy

Order of The Human Division Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The B-Team 2013 Description / Buy
2 We Only Need the Heads 2013 Description / Buy
3 Tales From the Clarke 2013 Description / Buy
4 The Observers 2013 Description / Buy
5 This Must Be the Place 2013 Description / Buy
6 A Problem of Proportion 2013 Description / Buy
7 Earth Below, Sky Above 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Whatever Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded 2008 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Since becoming a full time novelist Scalzi has continued to maintain his popular blog, Whatever, where he published his popular 2005 essay “Being Poor” which was later republished in newspapers across the country. He is also active on social media, often being asked to weigh in on controversial topics and using his site as a place to promote other authors and creatives through his Big Idea series of promotional posts as well as for regular blog entries on his life and family, and even cat pictures such as his now infamous “bacon cat” meme.

In 2015 he signed a multi-million dollar deal with Tor Books which will cover his next 13 books, making him one of the best paid authors in the science fiction genre.

John Scalzi Awards

Scalzi’s work has been well received by critics and readers alike. He picked up the John W. Campbell Award for best new writer at the 2005 World Science Fiction convention and since then has also taken home several more Hugos across a range of categories as well as the Nebula, Locus, Seiun, and Kurd Lasswitz awards. He regularly appears as a guest at science fiction conventions and other literary events.

John Scalzi Books Turned Into Movies/TV

Scalzi worked as a consultant for the television series Stargate Atlantis and currently three of his books are under development for the small screen as well.

Legendary Television is working on an adaptation of his thriller Lock In, while FX is adapting the bestselling comic novel Redshirts into a miniseries. Meanwhile Syfy has tapped Wolfgang Petersen to create a series set in the Old Man’s War universe, entitled Ghost Brigades after the second book in that series.

Best John Scalzi Books

Old Man’s War: Scalzi’s first novel launched what is still his most popular series of books, which now includes six novels and multiple short stories. The books consistently tops readers polls of the best science fiction books of the past few decades.

The novel is set in a space-faring future in which wars a fought by volunteers recruited from people past retirement age. These volunteers are given new bodies in exchange for their military service off-planet defending the human Colonial Defense Forces from alien threats.

John Perry is one such volunteer who joins up at the age of 75 after the sudden death of his wife. As he navigates this strange new life he finds the universe is far bigger and scarier than he could have imagined before joining up and he will need every bit of his lifelong experience and wisdom to get him through this second shot at life.

Lock In: This near future thriller follows the aftermath of a new viral epidemic that leaves a small percentage of those exposed with a debilitating condition known as Haden’s Syndrome. Those affected by it are in a state of paralysis and can only interact with the outside world by using sophisticated robotic interfaces. Decades after the epidemic a series of possibly Haden-related murders baffle the FBI and a team of agents, one of whom is a Haden herself, must figure out who the killer really is before it’s too late.

Redshirts: This comic novel follows the misadventures of five new ensigns serving on a disaster prone starship whose crew seems to be dropping life flies. They slowly become aware of a strange pattern; the command staff seem to be immune to the incredibly high death rate among the enlisted crew. As they dig into this strange statistical anomaly they discover the shocking truth, which is that the universe they inhabit is absurd in a way that can only be explained by one thing; they are the fictional creations of bad television writers!

When Does The Next John Scalzi book come out?

John Scalzi doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Collapsing Empire and was released on March, 21st 2017.