Old Man’s War Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Old Man’s War series is a science fiction series of novels by one of the most successful and popular authors John Scalzi. Scalzi wrote the first novel of the series “Old Man’s War” in 2006, a novel that went on to win the 2006 Best Novel at the Hugo Awards..

Get notified when John Scalzi releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Old Man's War Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Old Man's War ( By: John Scalzi) 2005 Description / Buy
2 The Ghost Brigades ( By: John Scalzi) 2006 Description / Buy
3 The Last Colony ( By: John Scalzi) 2007 Description / Buy
4 Zoe's Tale ( By: John Scalzi) 2008 Description / Buy
5 The Human Division ( By: John Scalzi) 2013 Description / Buy
6 The End of All Things ( By: John Scalzi) 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Old Man's War Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Questions for a Soldier (Short Story) ( By: John Scalzi) 2005 Description / Buy
2 The Sagan Diary (Short Story) ( By: John Scalzi) 2007 Description / Buy
3 After the Coup (Short Story) ( By: John Scalzi) 2008 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The “Old Man’s War” series is a military science fiction novel that follows the life and times of John Perry. John Perry is a 75 year old soldier who was once a high ranking officer in the CDF – The Colonial Defense Forces. Like many of his colleagues of the CDF he gets called up for duty when the Galaxy is under attack from alien forces. All of them are given enhanced, young, and rejuvenated bodies that will enable them to survive and fight in the harsh intergalactic war-front.

In the opening Salvo of the series in “Old Man’s War” John Perry rejoins the army and visits his wife’s grave on the day he turns 75. Humanity finally managed to crack interstellar space but there is a dearth of livable planets with alien races willing to fight anyone to keep them to themselves. The fight is not confined to the new planets but soon spreads to Earth in an unyielding, bloody and brutal decades-long war that has no signs of abating. Earth is the backwater of the Galaxy with most of its resources controlled by the CDF. Only those that are of retirement age are allowed to join the CDF for their experience and skills amassed over the years.

For those that take up the offer of joining, what follows is that they are rejuvenated and sent off earth to fight on the war-front. Two years of fighting is enough to gain one a retirement package of hard won colony planet land, and a generous pension. John Perry does not know what to expect but he joins up to find that it is harder and stranger than anything he could have ever imagined. It is an intriguing story of courage and sacrifice that shows the award winning writing talent of John Scalzi.


The “Old Man’s War” series of novels have won several awards over the years. “Old Man’s War” the debut novel of the series won the Best New Writer John W. Campbell Award in 2005, Best novel at the 2006 Hugo Awards, the Geffen Award in 2007, and made the shortlist for Best First Novel for the Locus Award. “The Ghost Brigades” was a Prometheus Award nominee in 2007.


The series is set to be adapted into a film by Netflix and a series on SyFy to be named “Ghost Brigades”.


Old Man’s War: The first novel of the series is undoubtedly one of its best. John Perry just got a chance for a fresh start at 75 years and joins the CDF. The CDF demands total loyalty and two years of service in exchange for giving the recruits back their youth. But Perry needs more than a rejuvenated body if he is going to survive the vagaries of intergalactic wars.

The Ghost Brigades: The second novel of the series is an excellent novel in the series following up to “Old Man’s War”. Humanity is facing up to a confederation of three alien races that will not allow them to expand further into space. Charles Boutin, a traitor is leading the charge against his own people. He had access to some of the most effective of Earth’s secrets, and the only hope for humanity is that his clone Jared Chirac may just have answers to what Boutin is planning.

The Human Division: The fifth novel of the series is an explosive title in the series that is one of the must reads. Lieutenant Harry Wilson is going on an impossible mission to protect the colonies that humanity has gained in the Galaxy. But then he learns of a terrible secret that had been kept from the people of Earth and the Union may lose the support of its people who are incensed with its leadership.


A lot of fans of the “Old Man’s War” series of novels also like the “Secret World Chronicles” series of novels by Mercedes Lackey. The series of novels is a set of superhero sagas pitching a trans-dimensional third Reich against the Earth.

Many fans of the “Old Man’s War” series are also fans of the “Honor Harrington” series of novels by David Weber. Harrington the lead protagonist is a martial artist and officer of the Royal Manticoran Navy who has the knack of beating over the top odds in tactical command.

What Is The Next Book in The Old Man's War Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Old Man's War Series. The newest book is The End of All Things and was released on August, 11th 2015.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *