Karin Fossum Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Karin Fossum born on 6th November 1954 is a Norwegian best-selling crime fiction author commonly known as the Norwegian queen of crime. Karin was born in Sandefjord a town in Vestfold County in Norway. Her writing career began as a poet with the Kanskje I Morgen, and her very first publications were made in 1974 when she was 20years of age. The publication won Tarjei Vesaas debutantpris.

Get notified when Karin Fossum releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Inspector Sejer Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 In the Darkness / Eva's Eye 1995 Description / Buy
2 Don't Look Back 1996 Description / Buy
3 He Who Fears the Wolf 1997 Description / Buy
4 When the Devil Holds the Candle 1998 Description / Buy
5 Calling Out for You / The Indian Bride 2000 Description / Buy
6 Black Seconds 2002 Description / Buy
7 The Murder of Harriet Krohn 2004 Description / Buy
8 The Water's Edge 2007 Description / Buy
9 Bad Intentions 2008 Description / Buy
10 The Caller 2009 Description / Buy
11 The Drowned Boy 2013 Description / Buy
12 Hell Fire 2014 Description / Buy
13 The Whisperer 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Karin Fossum Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Broken 2006 Description / Buy
2 I Can See in the Dark 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Karin Fossum is popularly known for her Inspector Sejer Series. The series novels began in 1995 with the first book in the series called: In the Darkness. The series has a collection of 12 different books, and all have been translated into the English language. The latest installation in the series is the Hell Fire, which published in 2014 and translated into the English language in 2016.


Karin Fossum has received various awards which include; Glass Key Award of 1997 for the novel Se deg like till bake. Also, on the same year, she won the Bokhandleprisen for the novel Den som frykter ulven. Later in the year 2000, Karin Fossum won the Brage Prize for the novel Elskede Poona. Karin Fossum also won the Martin Beck Award and Cappelen Prize in 2002 and 2003 respectively. Again in 2007, she won The Gumshoe Awards for her novel When the Devil Holds the Candle, and also in the same year she won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for the novel Elskede Poona (The Indian Bride) in the category Thriller/Mystery.


Sejer character was adapted in a Norwegian Television series starring Bjorn Sundquist and Christian Skolmen as the protagonist partner.


Black Seconds: Ida Joner sets off on her brand new bike to buy sweets. She is happy, and a friendly girl and she is about to celebrate her 10th birthday. Some minutes later, Ida fails to return home, and her mother starts to get worried. Ida’s mom and her sister Ruth search the streets in spots where they are likely to find ida but all in vain. They call the police and hope for the best. The moment Inspector Sejer comes to the aid of Helga instincts tells her that he is the man to find ida.

Time passes on, and the inspector begins to get worried as there is no trace left behind nor the bicycle the little girl rode. A search party is organized, and 150 individuals volunteer, with no success. After eight days there is still no clues left behind, and the search has to be called off.

This great book is the 5th book in the Inspector sejer series by Karin Fossum. A careful reader will quickly patch up the clues given by the author in the first few sections. However, these clues will not even diminish the reader’s enjoyment of this great novel. The entire story is rich with characters, scenes, and the explorations of people thoughts and why some choices are made. Overall, the characters are entertaining, and the scenarios are fantastic to keep the reader engaged throughout the entire novel.

The Indian Bride: Everyone thought that Gunder Jomann would never get married. However, his entire hometown is stunned when he comes back home married after two weeks trip to India. Gunder return to his Norwegian town of Elvestad to make preparation for the arrival of his wife- Poona Bai Jomann- a waitress. The day that Gunder bride arrives, Gunder’s sister suffers a fatal car crash and is in hospital in a coma. Gunder sends a taxi driver Kalle Moe to pick up his bride from the airport. Kalle does not find her anywhere- later the media news report of a woman who has been beaten to death some distance from Gunder’s home. No one in the town believes that anyone amongst such good people could be capable of such a brutal murder. However, Inspector Konrad Sejer knows that even the real people are capable of committing such awful deeds and no one is innocent- including the café owner (where Gunder bride used to work), the body builder and the young woman who wants to be a main witness.

This is one of the best and most thrilling novels of the Inspector Konrad Sejer series by Karin Fossum that ensures the reader are engaged from the first to the last sentence.

When Does The Next Karin Fossum book come out?

Karin Fossum doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Whisperer and was released on July, 25th 2018. It is the newest book in the Inspector Sejer Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *