Kristina Ohlsson Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Kristina Ohlsson is a Swedish writer born in 1979. The author, who grew up in Kristianstad, spent a substantial amount of her life working as a security policy analyst and adviser for the National Police.

She also fulfilled similar roles for organizations like the Security Police and the National Defense College. She eventually became a Counter Terrorism Officer for the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe before finally transforming into a full-time writer in 2012.

Get notified when Kristina Ohlsson releases a new book at

Order of Fredrika Bergman Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Unwanted 2009 Description / Buy
2 Silenced 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Disappeared / Guardian Angels 2011 Description / Buy
4 Hostage 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Chosen 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Flood 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Glass Children Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Glass Children 2013 Description / Buy
2 The Silver Boy 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Martin Benner Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Buried Lies 2017 Description / Buy
2 The Lies We Tell 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Kristina Ohlsson’s career has had a notable impact on the books she writes. Initially injecting her efforts into producing texts in the non-fiction arena about EU’s foreign policy and the manner in which it related to conflicts in the Middle East, it wasn’t until 2009 that Kristina finally became a fiction writer. It is a dream that she had been harboring for a long time before her debut novel, Cinderellas, finally hit the shelves. The author writes crime novels, the most renowned of which is Piratforlaget which has been translated into more than a dozen languages.

Despite receiving international acclaim for her crime fiction novels, Kristina decided to experiment with Children’s books in 2013 when she wrote ‘Glass Children’, a novel that was widely lauded and awarded for its quality.

Kristina Ohlsson studied political science in Stockholm.

Kristina Ohlsson Awards

The most notable accolade Kristina has received so far is the Children’s Novel Prize which she was awarded in 2013 for Glass Children, her debut novel as a children’s author.

Along with winning the Stabilo Prize (Best Crime Writer of Southern Sweden) in 2010, Kristina’s work has also been shortlisted for the Swedish Academy of Crime Writers’ Award. With her books featuring on many prominent Bestseller lists, it hasn’t taken Kristina long to build a loyal fanbase among children and adults.

Kristina Ohlsson Books into Movies

Three of Kristina’s books, Daisies, Cinderellas and Angelic Guards, have been optioned for a potential movie adaptation. Nice Drama bought the film rights to the acclaimed author’s novels, which follow Fredrika Bergman from the national police and the complex yet believable characters she encounters. Patrick Nebout, Nice Drama’s CEO called the books realistic crime drama the likes of which had never been seen on Television.

Best Kristina Ohlsson Books

Kristina began writing crime fiction in 2009, producing a larger number of quality novels in a relatively short amount of time than one might have expected, with these two books best manifesting what people have come to expect from her work:

Unwanted: A mother loses her child on a crowded train; despite the hundreds of potential witnesses, the little girl’s abduction goes unnoticed in the rainy Swedish summer. It all looks like a coincidence, or at least that is what her distraught mother presumes.

She was left behind at a previous train station, and it doesn’t take long for the crew on the train to receive an alert informing them to keep an eye out for a sleeping child. However, the little girl is nowhere to be found.

Investigative analyst Fredrika Bergman joins Inspector Alex Recht and his team of federal investigators to look into what appears to be a typical custody fight. Things quickly change when the girl is found dead in the far north

The word ‘Unwanted’ has been scribbled into her forehead.

This book, the first in the Fredrika Bergman series starts out as a police procedural. However, it soon transforms into a psychological thriller. Kristina Ohlsson uses a variety of viewpoints to tell her story, this including the perspective of the woman who conspired in the abduction and murder.

That access that Kristina provides into the twisted mind of a criminal adds a spark to this blend of police procedural and psychological thriller.

Silenced: A man is killed in a hit and run. He has no identification of any sort on him. Additionally, no one has reported him missing. Fredrika Bergman and her people are tasked with connecting the crime to the deaths of a priest and his wife who seemingly committed suicide and the assault and rape of a teenage girl fifteen years ago.

Even though it is the second novel in the Fredrika Berman series of books, you do not need to read the first one to understand this one. ‘Silenced’ works as a standalone novel and it brings to the fro Fredrika Bergman, a detective whose recent pregnancy has forced her to tone her feisty attitude down.

Fredrika’s personal life, while highly engaging, doesn’t take away from the odd mystery that Kristina presents, capping the police procedural off with an incredible ending.

When Does The Next Kristina Ohlsson book come out?

Kristina Ohlsson doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Flood and was released on October, 31st 2019. It is the newest book in the Fredrika Bergman Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *