Fredrika Bergman Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Fredrika Bergman refers to a series of suspense thriller novels written by Kristina Ohlsson. The books follow the exploits of an investigative analyst who solves crimes in Sweden.

Get notified when Kristina Ohlsson releases a new book at

Order of Fredrika Bergman Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Unwanted (By: Kristina Ohlsson) 2009 Description / Buy
2 Silenced (By: Kristina Ohlsson) 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Disappeared / Guardian Angels (By: Kristina Ohlsson) 2011 Description / Buy
4 Hostage ( By: Kristina Ohlsson) 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Chosen (By: Kristina Ohlsson) 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Flood ( By: Kristina Ohlsson) 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Kristina Ohlsson knows a little something about security and law enforcement. She has held the position of counterterrorism officer in a European security body, not to mention working for Sweden’s own security services and spending some time in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The Fredrika Bergman books draw upon Kristina Ohlsson’s lifetime of experience to tell stories that are as intriguing as they are disturbing. Standing at the center of the author’s most popular novels is Fredrika Bergman, a distinct female protagonist doing what she can to survive in the crime-filled waters of Sweden.

When she is first introduced to readers in Unwanted, the first of the Fredrika Bergman books, Fredrika is just another investigative analyst. Sure, she’s pretty good at her job, keen of mind and highly detail oriented.

But Fredrika is also a little too comfortable operating behind her table. So when a little girl is abducted from a crowded train and she is found murdered sometime later, Fredrika isn’t particularly pleased when she is pulled away from her desk and thrown into the field, tasked with getting her hands dirty, collecting clues, talking to suspects and unraveling the mystery at play until she finds the nefarious mind behind the horrific crime.

Fredrika is pretty feisty and opinionated when readers meet her. But the stifling nature of her male-dominated department drives her to withdraw. The fact that her colleagues are averse to the idea of having a civilian in the field only makes Fredrika’s hostile reaction all the starker; hostility that attracts a certain amount of resentment from the heroine’s fellow officers.

Fredrika Bergman spends this series struggling to find her place in the workplace. This is as she attempts to make sense of the decade-long affair she’s been having with a married man.

The heroine is joined on her journey by Alex, her boss and a sexist officer with an annoying attitude; there’s also Peder who works more closely with Fredrika. Each new installment in the series pits Fredrika and her people against a dastardly criminal.

The Fredrika Bergman books have been criticized for being a little slow in their pacing. The characters are also not particularly likable.

Best Fredrika Bergman Books

The Fredrika Bergman books came onto the publishing scene just as Scandinavian authors were making a big splash in Europe and the United States, with some of the best titles in the series including:

The Disappeared: Rebecca Trolle went missing two years earlier. Most people had given up on the notion of ever finding her. When she finally does turn up, it takes a little while to identify her because she was carved up rather heavily before someone buried her in a forest.

When Fredrika Bergman was called upon, it was for the purposes of solving a single murder. But then several more bodies were discovered and the name of Fredrika’s lover came into the mix.

Now Fredrika must tread carefully, lest the resolution to the case upends her existence. There’s a killer on the loose and Fredrika must catch him before more bodies drop.

Silenced: Fredrika Bergman has three difficult cases on her hands. There’s the man who died in a hit and run. He had no identification of any sort on him, and yet no one had reported him missing.

Then there was the priest and his wife who had committed suicide, or so the evidence seemed to suggest. If that wasn’t complicated enough, a teenage girl was attacked and raped but the incident happened more than a decade ago.

All these cases are connected. Fredrika must discover that connection before it’s too late.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another great read is the “Inspector Huss” Series by Helene Tursten. Irene Huss is a wife and mother in her forties who loves pizza. She is also a detective with the Violent Crimes Unit in Goteborg, Sweden and expertise in judo. She catches bad guys and solves mysteries.

Be sure to check out the “Olso Detective” Series by Kjell Ola Dahl as well. These books are psychological thrillers that follow the exploits of Frolich and Gunnarstranda, detectives who solve complex crimes and mysteries in Norway.

What Is The Next Book in The Fredrika Bergman Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Fredrika Bergman Series. The newest book is The Flood and was released on October, 31st 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *